We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location & Front Desk”
Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I chose this hotel for its location four blocks from the Banff Rocky Mountaineer station. Location couldn't have been better as the train station, restaurants, shopping, etc were within easy walking distance. The Front Desk personnel were very nice and helpful as well. Our king premium room was comfortable and clean. My husband found a fan in the closet and the ceiling fan switch was on the outside wall behind the entertainment center. We also opened the windows which helped the room temperature. The bathroom was also a nice size compared to some of the other hotels we reserved. On the negative side, we wanted to eat at Ricky's Grill when it opened for breakfast, but we were told one cook hadn't come to work, and the other one was busy with a large tour group. We were told we could wait or eat next door at the Ptarmigan Inn which was what we did. Also, the fire alarm went off our second evening there. No fire, but it was a very different experience for us and no one told us what had happened. The Banff International is an okay place to stay because it is clean & comfortable, but I may choose to stay somewhere else if I ever return to Banff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TXTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear TxTripper

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at the Banff International Hotel. We appreciate your positive comments about our location, the Front Desk staff, and the comfort and size of our rooms. We are sorry that your experience with the on-site restaurant was not better and we are seeking to make sure such experiences do not occur. Please do consider us again when in town and feel free to book directly with me.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

936 - 942 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Banff International for 3 nights as part of a tour of Western Canada. We were not impressed. However, to be fair, let me state first what was good: the situation of the hotel was fine, sitting as it does on the main street and close to shops, restaurants and a large supermarket; our bedroom and bathroom were spacious and clean, though the view from the window was of a brick wall a couple of yards away; the staff were friendly and obliging, but woefully too few for the number of guests.
Now, the not so good and the downright bad: the wi-fi we were promised only seemed to operate in the lobby. When I’m checking my bank accounts and making bank transfers online I do not want to do it when surrounded by a constant stream of guests milling around. Like many other people posting on here we got stuck in the lift one day when it arrived on the ground floor and refused to open its doors. I used the telephone in the lift and the receptionist told me that someone would be there shortly. Luckily the technician arrived quickly, as my wife is slightly claustrophobic and I could see that she was beginning to hyperventilate. In addition, when the lift jammed, the air conditioning went off and the temperature in the lift began to climb like a rocket. Since this appears to be a regular occurrence it would surely be wise to get this problem fixed once and for all.
On the first evening I wanted to give my credit card details to reception so I could charge drinks and meals. There was only one young lady on duty and she was occupied with a phone call from one of those people who want to make a reservation but want to know everything from the type of pillows to the manufacturer of the mattress. After standing there for 5 minutes I went back into the restaurant where my wife was waiting to order. At least two people are needed at reception in a hotel which has a rapid turnover of guests staying for two or three nights.
In the restaurant the food was okay without being exceptional, apart from our first breakfast which was appalling. Once again understaffing was a problem as there were only two waitresses to serve a pretty large restaurant. There was only one young lady serving at the bar and she was also responsible for serving drinks ordered in the restaurant. She was very, very busy, and one evening our wine arrived after we had finished our meal. In the bar you can wait for 10 minutes while the poor young lady rushes into the restaurant with a tray of drinks and bottles of wine.
Our first breakfast was described as a “plated breakfast”. This is another way of saying rubbish on a plate – take it or leave it. I took one look – a smear of scrambled egg, a couple of rashers of bacon fried so hard that it was impossible to chew and a mass of grated potato that was half burnt and half raw – and sent it back. This is what your tour company contracted for, I was told. The waitress tried to tell me that these potatoes were hash browns. I disputed that. “These are known as hash browns throughout North America,” she insisted. I told her that having travelled extensively throughout the US, I could tell her that hash browns are not that pile of half-cooked rubbish on my plate. Our tour manager quickly got on to our tour company and breakfast the next two mornings was at least edible.
It’s clear that the management of the Banff International are trying to run it on a shoestring, one person on reception and two waitresses in the restaurant are hopelessly inadequate, even though they keep smiling despite being run off their feet.
My recommendation – try another hotel. I wouldn’t recommend this place to my worst enemy. And avoid the plated breakfast at any cost.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BillBDalheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear BillBDalheim:

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel. We take your comments seriously and are committed to ensuring that our guests have a memorable visit. Your comments help us in achieving this goal.

I was concerned to read that your experience with our service did not meet your expectations. We are committed to continuous improvement and delivering the best experience possible and I sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered.

We truly appreciate knowing that our guests have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future. We look forward to your return when you are in the area again.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Please read the whole review for the best parts of why I am recommending this Hotel in Banff. The constructive is that the Hotel needs renovation. No A/C in the rooms, a bit rough around the edges as far as decor. They did not have my room that I reserved. However, if I come back to Banff, I would stay here again!

Now the very good. The staff bent over backwards to make my stay enjoyable. Daren Hill the Front Office Manager personally came to my room. He upgraded my wife and I to a Loft for our whole stay, while honoring my original Hotwire rate. I have traveled a lot and he has been, by far, the most solution oriented Manager that I have encountered. Besides the upgrade, he switched my loft room to a less sunny side of the building so it would be cooler.

Also, the entire front desk team was incredibly hospitable and friendly. At first I was going to switch hotels. Daren and the staff turned me around. So, give this hotel a chance if you are going to Banff. Great location on the main road in town, convenient to everything.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back of the Hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpmtge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear jprntge,

Thank you very much for your kind and positive feedback on your experience with us in Banff! Your recognition of the efforts of the front desk team is very valuable to us and it is greatly appreciated. I too am very grateful for the praise. Ideally, we are here to assist in making our guest experience in Banff a memorable one. When we hear that we have been able to achieve this, we all smile.

Starting in Fall, we will be renovating and putting A/C in our rooms.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again!

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Having been to a couple of hotels in Banff, this hotel has great service, big rooms and is in an awesome location - only minutes from the heart of Banff.

A little outdated, but great value for money with large rooms and comfortable beds.

If you're looking for somewhere comfortable to stay, the Banff International is a great hotel.


Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank BecMchugh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear BecMcHugh17,

Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay and the great value for money it was for you. All of the staff strive to provide excellent service so your praise of their service is widely appreciated. I also thank you for pointing out our excellent location and our big rooms.


Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Banff is expensive. At $110 this is one of the cheaper hotels. Service was very friendly. Breakfast is not included although you can pay an extra amount in advance to be able to pick from their menu. Rooms are average size, good beds with 4 pillows of varying heights which was great. Flat screen tv, fridge. Our room was on the first floor, facing a wall. It smelled a bit musty so you might want one on a higher floor. It was quiet though since it didn't overlook the street.

Room Tip: Choose higher floors if you want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1Worldwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear 1WorldWalker.

Thank you for posting a review of our property. We are happy that you enjoyed the location, the cleanliness, and the very friendly service. We would be happy to welcome you again.

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for four nights. The greeting was friendly and very helpful. The room was on the ground floor but very quiet. A bit of plumbing noise from adjacent bathrooms, but nothing to worry us. The room was very comfortable. Ricky's Restuarant provided a good choice of well present food. The staff were always polite and keen to help
A most enjoyable stay and would recommend this centrally located hotel to all.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Mikeyboy South UK,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel in Banff. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend us to all. Our staff work hard to help each guest and they will be happy to learn of your comments. I am particularly glad that you enjoyed the food and service in Ricky's and that you found the room to be so comfortable.

Hope to welcome you again.

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This hotel provides satisfactory accommodation, though the fabric is a little faded. There are, however, two problems. One is the in-house restaurant, which is, frankly, hopeless, with poorly trained staff unable to provide anything like a decent service. The food, when it arrives, is lukewarm at best. There are, however, lots of alternatives within easy walking distance. The second problem is with the wifi, which may be free but which is worse than useless, being either unobtainable or erratic. Other guests in the hotel had the same problem, so the issue lay with the hotel rather than with our devices. Also, the lifts need to be serviced. In addition to a guest the previous week, I was also stuck in a lift, for about 5 minutes.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaxterNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear BaxterNottingham,

Thank you for posting your commnets regarding your recent stay. We take your commnets very seriously and act upon them to improve our level of services. Our goal is 100% guest satisfaction.

Regarding the two issues you have brought forward, we are working as a team to find solutions that will provide our guests with a more memorable experience that matches the beauty that Banff National Park offers. We have undergone a recnt change in restaurant management and our IT department is actively seeking the best solution to upgrade our Wi-Fi.

Again, we appreciate your taking the time to review us and hope that you will visit us again should you be back in Banff.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,161 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £86 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing