We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$420
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$447
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$280
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$325/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$341/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$719
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tunnel Mountain Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$442
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$422
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$364/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$598
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$529
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,738)
Filter reviews
1,740 results
Traveller rating
550
703
321
115
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
703
321
115
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanff international hotelgreat locationceiling fanricky's restaurantunderground parkingloft roomthe main streetshops and restaurantsgood sizeski busfront desk staffhot tubcentre of townclose to downtownmini fridgebeds were comfortablemountain view
Filter
Updating list...
1,306 - 1,311 of 1,740 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel is in a good location. Room was clean and spacious and bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The only small drawback is that, if arriving at the same time as a lot of other people and your room is on a higher floor, it can prove difficult to get past the guests waiting with their luggage for the elevator going to the lower floors. Some guests too ignorant to move the slightest bit even when asked nicely. Would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionAnne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear MarionAnne64

Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments about your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and we thank you for your kind words about our staff, it is always great to hear we are achieving that which we set out to do and we are extremely happy to hear that you will stay with us again in the future.

We hope to welcome you back with very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

clean, great area to walk around, breakfast is included, your choice of full breakfast. Comfy bed.
Relax a night with a nice brew or drink in the bar or walk down the street to your choice of many other places.

Room Tip: great place to stay for Banff marathon
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Ron Lynn W

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to hear you found such great value in our property and that you had a great time in Banff.

We would like to briefly clarify that not all our reservations come with breakfast included, but you may have booked our Alberta Residents Special that includes breakfast within the room rate.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel was the last stop on our tour of the Vancouver and the Rockies. Stained carpets. furniture, toilet etc gave this supposedly 4 star hotel a grubby feel. No kettles were available and our one bar of soap disappeared after one night. We had plated service for breakfast - an hour to get just an omelette and hash browns! Again incredibly slow service for our included meal, which we had selected over a week before. Boring salad, main course served cold and cold dessert served warm. Cheap chocolate ice cream had melted. Some helpful staff but all overworked. Despite complaints from our party no manager was available. All our other Canadian hotels provided us with the service we expected and more.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pat575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear pat575

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay with us, we have taken your comments on board and they have been shared with the relevant department heads in order to improve our services and facilities going into the future and we once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Banff international Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Used this has a base for a 2 week stay June 2013. Furniture & decor in rooms a bit dated & stains on carpet & some of the furniture.
Reception staff helpful & helped us book some golf. Although beware of prices for a round at Banff Springs course & Silvertip.
Bar service ok but tended to close early if no customers.
Restaurant ok for breakfast but evening meals leave a lot to be desired.
The jacuzzi really good but the steam room & the sauna not working the whole 2 weeks we were there.
The coffee shop within the gift shop was just starting up so was not fully operational when we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bron317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Dear bron317,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thankful that you stayed for a long time with us. Your comments have been passed to each individual department for their review and we appreciate the insight.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Our first time to Canada and our first stop Banff. Hotel in good location, grill good food although only one waitress on doing everything ! Apart from cooking. Rooms are a little dated but overall still good , would stay here again.cannot comment on the sauna as we did not have time to use the facility.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear jan j

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to have been your hotel of choice on your first trip to Canada, we thank you for your comments and since you do mention our rooms being a little dated, we would be proud to welcome you back to one of our renovated rooms in the future as we will be embarking on extensive renovations for our property.

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews