We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is right on Banff Ave really close to all of the shops and restaurants. The parking garage was handy and the staff even let us stash our bikes behind the front desk for easy access. We didn't have problems with the wifi and the fridge was a great perk. The only complaint I have is that the service in the hotel Ricky's restaurant was horrific. They kept getting my order wrong and most of the servers didn't come around to refill coffee very often.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Christy W

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments about your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience with us and that we could be so helpful to you with your bikes.

However we do apologize for the service quality you received in Ricky’s, your comments have been passed on to the restaurant management in order to address these issues.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again when your future travels bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    449
    237
    79
    35
See reviews for
300
429
50
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
196 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

From a location standpoint, this property is centrally located and they have a private parking garage below the building. While the exterior and lobby looked great, the rooms were somewhat dated with stains on the furniture and free but fairly useless WiFi that was glacially slow. Overall though, a pleasant stay and decent value considering the summer crowds.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear markbyrn24

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for issues you may have had with our Wi-Fi, we are currently exploring several possible options to update our aging infrastructure and we also agree that our rooms are dated, which is why we will be embarking on extensive renovations this year to address this particular issue.

We are glad however that you found good value in our property and enjoyed our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope you would consider our hotel for your next visit to the area and hope to welcome you back very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
109 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed there with my girfriend first week in July for 2 nights. Location is great, right on Banff ave, parking was easy to find right on the back street behind the hotel underground and free. The rooms have everything you need, refridge, coffee maker, nice TV. Yes, the rooms are dated and carpet had some stains, but I had no complaints, we paid 175 a night in peak season, but that seemed like less than the going rate peak season anywhere, I was fine with that. Safeway grocery store is right accross the street, prices are same as Edmonton, we had a cooler and got drinks and food for our excursions and used a cooler with ice from the hotel.
People have complained about no AC in the rooms, but as soon as night hits the hotel cools down fast, I can see if you hit it during a heat wave, maybe issue, but rooms all have a huge ceiling fan and also a fan in the closet, but in Alberta there are only a few days a year you would ever need air. We will stay again.
I give the hotel a thumbs up, the lobby is very Banff, and gives a nice feel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear David K

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience during your stay with us and we do thank you for pointing out our fantastic location and the facilities and amenities we offer our guests including our underground parking and location.

As you mentioned heat can sometimes be an issue and although it wasn’t for you on this occasion we would like to say our planned extensive renovations will include the addition of AC to relieve the issue in totality.

We are glad you will be staying with us again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you again.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel is in a good location. Room was clean and spacious and bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The only small drawback is that, if arriving at the same time as a lot of other people and your room is on a higher floor, it can prove difficult to get past the guests waiting with their luggage for the elevator going to the lower floors. Some guests too ignorant to move the slightest bit even when asked nicely. Would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarionAnne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear MarionAnne64

Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments about your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and we thank you for your kind words about our staff, it is always great to hear we are achieving that which we set out to do and we are extremely happy to hear that you will stay with us again in the future.

We hope to welcome you back with very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

clean, great area to walk around, breakfast is included, your choice of full breakfast. Comfy bed.
Relax a night with a nice brew or drink in the bar or walk down the street to your choice of many other places.

Room Tip: great place to stay for Banff marathon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Ron Lynn W

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to hear you found such great value in our property and that you had a great time in Banff.

We would like to briefly clarify that not all our reservations come with breakfast included, but you may have booked our Alberta Residents Special that includes breakfast within the room rate.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel was the last stop on our tour of the Vancouver and the Rockies. Stained carpets. furniture, toilet etc gave this supposedly 4 star hotel a grubby feel. No kettles were available and our one bar of soap disappeared after one night. We had plated service for breakfast - an hour to get just an omelette and hash browns! Again incredibly slow service for our included meal, which we had selected over a week before. Boring salad, main course served cold and cold dessert served warm. Cheap chocolate ice cream had melted. Some helpful staff but all overworked. Despite complaints from our party no manager was available. All our other Canadian hotels provided us with the service we expected and more.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank pat575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear pat575

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay with us, we have taken your comments on board and they have been shared with the relevant department heads in order to improve our services and facilities going into the future and we once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Banff international Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Used this has a base for a 2 week stay June 2013. Furniture & decor in rooms a bit dated & stains on carpet & some of the furniture.
Reception staff helpful & helped us book some golf. Although beware of prices for a round at Banff Springs course & Silvertip.
Bar service ok but tended to close early if no customers.
Restaurant ok for breakfast but evening meals leave a lot to be desired.
The jacuzzi really good but the steam room & the sauna not working the whole 2 weeks we were there.
The coffee shop within the gift shop was just starting up so was not fully operational when we were there.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bron317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Dear bron317,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We are thankful that you stayed for a long time with us. Your comments have been passed to each individual department for their review and we appreciate the insight.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Property: Elk + Avenue Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing