We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$281
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$324/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$447
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$710
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Hidden Ridge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$623
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$528
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$612/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$327
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$302
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$357/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Tunnel Mountain Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$442
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$422
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$322/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,740)
Filter reviews
1,740 results
Traveller rating
550
703
321
115
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
550
703
321
115
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanff international hotelgreat locationceiling fanricky's restaurantunderground parkingloft roomthe main streetshops and restaurantsgood sizeski busfront desk staffhot tubcentre of townclose to downtownmini fridgebeds were comfortablemountain view
Filter
Updating list...
1,304 - 1,309 of 1,740 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

From a location standpoint, this property is centrally located and they have a private parking garage below the building. While the exterior and lobby looked great, the rooms were somewhat dated with stains on the furniture and free but fairly useless WiFi that was glacially slow. Overall though, a pleasant stay and decent value considering the summer crowds.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear markbyrn24

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for issues you may have had with our Wi-Fi, we are currently exploring several possible options to update our aging infrastructure and we also agree that our rooms are dated, which is why we will be embarking on extensive renovations this year to address this particular issue.

We are glad however that you found good value in our property and enjoyed our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope you would consider our hotel for your next visit to the area and hope to welcome you back very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed there with my girfriend first week in July for 2 nights. Location is great, right on Banff ave, parking was easy to find right on the back street behind the hotel underground and free. The rooms have everything you need, refridge, coffee maker, nice TV. Yes, the rooms are dated and carpet had some stains, but I had no complaints, we paid 175 a night in peak season, but that seemed like less than the going rate peak season anywhere, I was fine with that. Safeway grocery store is right accross the street, prices are same as Edmonton, we had a cooler and got drinks and food for our excursions and used a cooler with ice from the hotel.
People have complained about no AC in the rooms, but as soon as night hits the hotel cools down fast, I can see if you hit it during a heat wave, maybe issue, but rooms all have a huge ceiling fan and also a fan in the closet, but in Alberta there are only a few days a year you would ever need air. We will stay again.
I give the hotel a thumbs up, the lobby is very Banff, and gives a nice feel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear David K

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to hear that you had an overall positive experience during your stay with us and we do thank you for pointing out our fantastic location and the facilities and amenities we offer our guests including our underground parking and location.

As you mentioned heat can sometimes be an issue and although it wasn’t for you on this occasion we would like to say our planned extensive renovations will include the addition of AC to relieve the issue in totality.

We are glad you will be staying with us again in the future and we look forward to welcoming you again.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel is in a good location. Room was clean and spacious and bed was comfortable. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The only small drawback is that, if arriving at the same time as a lot of other people and your room is on a higher floor, it can prove difficult to get past the guests waiting with their luggage for the elevator going to the lower floors. Some guests too ignorant to move the slightest bit even when asked nicely. Would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarionAnne64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear MarionAnne64

Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments about your recent stay at the Banff International Hotel

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and we thank you for your kind words about our staff, it is always great to hear we are achieving that which we set out to do and we are extremely happy to hear that you will stay with us again in the future.

We hope to welcome you back with very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

clean, great area to walk around, breakfast is included, your choice of full breakfast. Comfy bed.
Relax a night with a nice brew or drink in the bar or walk down the street to your choice of many other places.

Room Tip: great place to stay for Banff marathon
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Ron Lynn W

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

We are very happy to hear you found such great value in our property and that you had a great time in Banff.

We would like to briefly clarify that not all our reservations come with breakfast included, but you may have booked our Alberta Residents Special that includes breakfast within the room rate.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel was the last stop on our tour of the Vancouver and the Rockies. Stained carpets. furniture, toilet etc gave this supposedly 4 star hotel a grubby feel. No kettles were available and our one bar of soap disappeared after one night. We had plated service for breakfast - an hour to get just an omelette and hash browns! Again incredibly slow service for our included meal, which we had selected over a week before. Boring salad, main course served cold and cold dessert served warm. Cheap chocolate ice cream had melted. Some helpful staff but all overworked. Despite complaints from our party no manager was available. All our other Canadian hotels provided us with the service we expected and more.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pat575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear pat575

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay with us, we have taken your comments on board and they have been shared with the relevant department heads in order to improve our services and facilities going into the future and we once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Banff international Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews