We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Elk + Avenue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms are dated and very basic. No air conditioning which was not pleasant on a hot august night. Tried to call the front desk late at night and no one answered. Rooms were over priced for what you get. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't stay again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Seanwbrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Seanwbrg

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to our lack of air conditioning, a situation faced by the vast majority of properties in Banff (2/3rds do not feature air conditioning) but it is something we are addressing in our extensive renovations in the coming year as we do also agree our rooms are a bit dated.

We also do apologize that our staff did not answer the phone on the night in question; we are looking into why that occurred.

We regret we were not able to provide you with a pleasant stay on this occasion as our goal is 100% guest satisfaction.

We thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts, we take all our guest comments seriously, positive and negative in an effort to improve ourselves and provide the best experience possible.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    275
    446
    237
    79
    35
See reviews for
298
427
50
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
southampton
Level Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked in here for only one night on our Canada roadtrip. Loved Banff, was my favourite place i visited in Canada. Hotel itself is smart looking, friendly staff who were happy to advise a couple of things to do whilst we stayed. Rooms were more than comfortable and well maintained. Wifi was awful, couldn't get good signals on either of the log ins they gave me. Had a brilliant time in Banff and would certainly return to this hotel without a second thought.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear nicSouthamton

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost I would like to apologize for issues you experienced with our Wi-Fi, we are currently in the process of upgrading our entire network in order to resolve this issue.

We are very happy to hear however that the other aspects of your stay were much better and that you found our staff so friendly and helpful.

We are happy to hear you had a fantastic time in Banff as well and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the International Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

When we called the Banff International Hotel to directly book 3 rooms for 3 nites, we were told all they had left were their most expensive rooms @ $145 CD per nite. Well this was a blatant lie bec we checked out several other websites specializing in hotel rooms who all had availability at a much lower rate of $105 CD per nite. So we booked with Booking.com 3 rooms 3 nites at $105 CD per nite. If we did not check out the other websites, the hotel could have taken us for hundreds of dollars. Shame on them!!! Grace

Room Tip: Their rooms are basically the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Grace A,

I am glad that you were able to book for the best available rate. I am sorry that your experience in calling the hotel directly for a reservation did not meet your expectations. There are times in the year when we make available special rates for online booking engines such as stay 3 nights and save 30% off. The front desk and reservations staff can match rates with anything available online as long as they can see the same availability of room types. Again, I am sorry that this did not occur in your case but can assure you that it was not motivated by dishonesty on the part of the staff but perhaps confusion or a difference in information.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Brewster Hospitality
Banff International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borthwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a great place to visit. Thanks to Brewsters. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. Good room size, comfortable and clean and centrally located.

Brewsters excursions - fantastic loved the gondola and walk along to the weather station. The lake boat not too special IMO.

The town - busy holiday town but lots of facilities in an amazing setting. Meal in Tooloulous fantastic.

Has to score 9/10 as an overall score. Will expect to revisit in the future.

Room Tip: The best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WightWake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear WightWake

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we thank you for your kind words about our property and we are glad that you enjoyed our location and had such a great visit to Banff.

We hope to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel located relatively central in Banff. We had a large, clean but somewhat uncharitable room towards the main road. No air condition, and window would open just a tiny bit so that air could not circulate. It was an ok experience, not more.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear TJMichel

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay with us, as you did point out we do not have air conditioning, but it is something we will be adding during our extensive renovations scheduled for this year.

We do regret that your stay was only satisfactory, our goal is to exceed guest expectations and we clearly have not done so on this occasion.

We hope you will give us another chance to improve upon this experience especially after our rooms have been renovated should your journeys bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front desk supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosetown, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Just finished staying here July 31while we have stayed at this property many times this might be our last .because we have stayed many times were always givin a discount not this time they did upgrade us to there newest restored room not sure about it to modern of a look for banff new showers let water out all over the floor you step out and step into 4inches of water no air in new rooms either have to leave the blinds wide open or they bang all night in breeze time to rethink this new room design no room in bathroom for any make up or shaving kits we wanted to stay one more night the price went up 80 dollars a night we went to another place for lot less thought as valued return customers we would be looked after but not the case and yes we have booked over 50 nights at this hotel thanks international but prob not stay again have always gave you a great rating but not this time and I have to say the staff are some of the best there is no complaints there just seems the almighty dollar has came to this hotel since brewsters have taken over

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank golferfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear golferfarmer:

Thank you for your valuable feedback on your stay. With our upcoming renovations of our rooms, we learn a great deal from guests staying in the first “concept” room and you have provided us with new insights.

Brewster Hospitality does tremendously value return customers and seeks to offer them an advantage on rates such as those offered by the Alberta Explorer card. Unfortunately, the night for which you wished to extend was the Saturday of the busiest long weekend of the summer and we were sold out days in advance. When a couple of rooms came available at the last minute through cancellations, the rates were naturally high for a peak summer weekend. However, as a frequent return guest, I agree that you should have received a preferred rate to extend and as you say been “looked after”. I am sorry that you were not so accommodated in this instance and would like to send you a preferred offer for future stays.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
175 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I always recommend this hotel to friends and family travelling through the area, it is in a great location very close to town and ski stop at hotel next door. Rooms are clean and well appointed. Wifi can be a bit intermittent but works well in the lobby area. The staff are always very helpful and friendly especially Tess and Ben!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Muimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Miumu

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost we want to extend our gratitude to you not only for leaving us this glowing review but for recommending us to your friends and family, we look forward to welcoming them in the future.

We also thank you for your kind words about our staff, particularly Ben and Tess, we’ve passed your comments on to them and they are very happy they were able to affect your stay in such a positive way.

However we do apologize for any issues you had with our Wi-Fi, we are in the process of completely upgrading our entire network to rectify the issue in totality.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk + Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk + Avenue Hotel

Property: Elk + Avenue Hotel
Address: 333 Banff Avenue | Box 1040, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk + Avenue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a few steps from the quaint streets and ample restaurants, shopping and nightlife of downtown Banff, Elk + Avenue Hotel brings an upscale twist to the classic mountain escape. Whether you're looking for a relaxing après-ski sanctuary or a big night on the town, our contemporary designed rooms pair clean, minimalist design with cozy Rocky Mountain-inspired elements to create the ideal accommodation for exploring the best of Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elk + Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff International Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing