We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$167
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$200
US$95
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$340
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$197
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Inn(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$148
US$138
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Brewster's Mountain Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$143
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$384
US$248
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,655)
Filter reviews
1,656 results
Traveller rating
513
672
308
113
50
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
672
308
113
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbanff international hotelgreat locationceiling fanunderground parkingloft roomthe main streetshops and restaurantsski busfront desk staffhot tubcentre of townclose to downtownmini fridgebeds were comfortablemountain viewlake louisesafeway
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,211 - 1,216 of 1,656 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel rooms are dated and very basic. No air conditioning which was not pleasant on a hot august night. Tried to call the front desk late at night and no one answered. Rooms were over priced for what you get. Wouldn't recommend and wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Seanwbrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Seanwbrg

First and foremost we would like to apologize for any discomfort you may have experienced due to our lack of air conditioning, a situation faced by the vast majority of properties in Banff (2/3rds do not feature air conditioning) but it is something we are addressing in our extensive renovations in the coming year as we do also agree our rooms are a bit dated.

We also do apologize that our staff did not answer the phone on the night in question; we are looking into why that occurred.

We regret we were not able to provide you with a pleasant stay on this occasion as our goal is 100% guest satisfaction.

We thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts, we take all our guest comments seriously, positive and negative in an effort to improve ourselves and provide the best experience possible.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Booked in here for only one night on our Canada roadtrip. Loved Banff, was my favourite place i visited in Canada. Hotel itself is smart looking, friendly staff who were happy to advise a couple of things to do whilst we stayed. Rooms were more than comfortable and well maintained. Wifi was awful, couldn't get good signals on either of the log ins they gave me. Had a brilliant time in Banff and would certainly return to this hotel without a second thought.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nicSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear nicSouthamton

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

First and foremost I would like to apologize for issues you experienced with our Wi-Fi, we are currently in the process of upgrading our entire network in order to resolve this issue.

We are very happy to hear however that the other aspects of your stay were much better and that you found our staff so friendly and helpful.

We are happy to hear you had a fantastic time in Banff as well and are looking forward to welcoming you back to the International Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

When we called the Banff International Hotel to directly book 3 rooms for 3 nites, we were told all they had left were their most expensive rooms @ $145 CD per nite. Well this was a blatant lie bec we checked out several other websites specializing in hotel rooms who all had availability at a much lower rate of $105 CD per nite. So we booked with Booking.com 3 rooms 3 nites at $105 CD per nite. If we did not check out the other websites, the hotel could have taken us for hundreds of dollars. Shame on them!!! Grace

Room Tip: Their rooms are basically the same.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bihmanagement, Front Office Manager at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear Grace A,

I am glad that you were able to book for the best available rate. I am sorry that your experience in calling the hotel directly for a reservation did not meet your expectations. There are times in the year when we make available special rates for online booking engines such as stay 3 nights and save 30% off. The front desk and reservations staff can match rates with anything available online as long as they can see the same availability of room types. Again, I am sorry that this did not occur in your case but can assure you that it was not motivated by dishonesty on the part of the staff but perhaps confusion or a difference in information.

Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Brewster Hospitality
Banff International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

What a great place to visit. Thanks to Brewsters. The hotel was a pleasant surprise. Good room size, comfortable and clean and centrally located.

Brewsters excursions - fantastic loved the gondola and walk along to the weather station. The lake boat not too special IMO.

The town - busy holiday town but lots of facilities in an amazing setting. Meal in Tooloulous fantastic.

Has to score 9/10 as an overall score. Will expect to revisit in the future.

Room Tip: The best you can afford
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WightWake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear WightWake

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to leave us your review and we thank you for your kind words about our property and we are glad that you enjoyed our location and had such a great visit to Banff.

We hope to welcome you back to the Banff International Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Hotel located relatively central in Banff. We had a large, clean but somewhat uncharitable room towards the main road. No air condition, and window would open just a tiny bit so that air could not circulate. It was an ok experience, not more.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank TJMichel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Elk + Avenue Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear TJMichel

Thank you for your recent review of the Banff International Hotel

Please accept our sincerest apologies for any discomfort you may have experienced during your stay with us, as you did point out we do not have air conditioning, but it is something we will be adding during our extensive renovations scheduled for this year.

We do regret that your stay was only satisfactory, our goal is to exceed guest expectations and we clearly have not done so on this occasion.

We hope you will give us another chance to improve upon this experience especially after our rooms have been renovated should your journeys bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front desk supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews