We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming hotel, but needs to check on room maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
salisbury
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming hotel, but needs to check on room maintenance”
Reviewed 29 April 2011

I stayed here for one night with my husband and daughter.
Westayed in a split room with a partition between us. This was very suitable for our situation of just one night en route to Calgary airport.
The hotel staff were really friendly an dgenerally everything was OK.
How ever, there was a light bulb missing from a bedside lamp, a plug from the wash hand basin, and i had a sheet with a small hole in it.
I did report these defficiencies on check out, but it was a disappointment to an otherwise pleasant stay in Banff.
The food was quite good in the restaurant, and the place was warm and welcoming.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirbykx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 3 May 2011
So glad to hear that you enjoyed your split room type; they are perfect for families, and also that you enjoyed interacting with our friendly staff. We do try our best to meet all of your expectations and will be sure to pay better attention in the future about details such as light bulbs and sink plugs as mentioned in your review. Again thank you for bringing this to our attention and I hope we will see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    386
    279
    123
    66
See reviews for
262
493
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2011

I am a ski trip leader from Tampa, Florida. We visited Banff in March 2011 and enjoyed our stay. The staff at the Ptarmigan is very friendly & helpful. The location is great and price is just right. No complaints!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjvzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We stayed here on a special coupon offer for a couple of nights. Hotel is conveniently located at the beginning of the main strip, walkable to all the Banff restaurants and shops. Check in and check out was fast. The room was spacious and comfortable although the hotel overall could use some updating. There was no safety deposit box or mini-fridge in the room which would have been handy. The beds were average with a feather topper on top of an older mattress. Flat screen TV was a nice touch as was the free wireless internet. for the most part it was easy to use and trouble free although it was slower at night when traffic was higher. Free underground parking was nice, when it was available. Unfortunately, the weekend we were there, they were very busy and there were people parkedi n the fire lane up against the wall and pretty much any possible space. For the price we paid, it was comfortable enough and if you are not looking for anything fancy, then definitely this will suit your needs.All in all, a nice weekend get away in Banff.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CelineCeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us at the Banff Ptarmigan Inn. Although we do not have safes in the room, we do have complimentary safety deposits boxes available with 24 hour access at the front desk, for those wishing to keep valuables secure. Underground parking does occasionally become sparse on the weekend, and we are implementing some new measures to try and better maximize our underground parking. We do also have ample above parking lots available as well. Again glad to hear you enjoyed your weekend and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
413 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Aging but well maintained, the Ptarmigan Inn still rates as a good place to stay in Banff. Breakfast buffer is a bit pricey ($14), but excellent service and great food selection. Free parking is a bit cramped, especially when "lot lizards" sprawl across the limited spaces available. Two hot tubs are cozy. Excellent location for a stroll down Banff Avenue. Quiet rooms for a relaxing sleep.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDave47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyoto, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed the hotel for 6 nights and enjoyed skiing. Staffs helped us many times. Location is convenient to access to Ski area, Banff downtown and rental car services. We also enjoyed jaggzy bath and steam sauna in the hotel. Underparking lot is convenient, not suffering by snow, but has not enough slots to park for all guests. Ski locker room is secured and easy to access.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palma_Japan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

The room was pretty standard and we got good service at the front desk. The restaurants were only open during peak hours, which is a bit of a pain when its freezing cold out and you arrive at 9pm. There was a DVD player in the room, which you don't see too often. The hot tub area wasn't very clean, but I think there was a teenaged hockey team staying there at the same time.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 1 April 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. Unfortunately we do only have the restaurant open for breakfast and dinner during the quieter months however we are striving to increase these hours when possible. Fortunately Banff also has a wide range of restaurants that will deliver right to your hotel room at all hours, everything from French cuisine to pizzas, even beer or wine if needed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oshawa
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2011

Staff is very friendly, room was very clean and comfortable, food was great. I'd definatley stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtdoshawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,251 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing