We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Near Town, Comfy Bed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Near Town, Comfy Bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

We had a room with a balcany facing the front courtyard, The noice echoed into our room. The bed was nice, but the hotel was old and not updated. The only highlight of the free breakfest was the omlettes. Very small selection. I never thought you can cut bread so thin for the toast. Staff was nice, Spa room was okay with two hot tubs, sauna and steam room. We used this alot, with the exception of the sauna that didn't work. I was happy I got a deal on the room, to pay full price is tooooooooo much.

Room Tip: Room that isn't facing the court yard
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Grant – welcome home and thank you for sharing your comments. We are truly sorry that the sauna was out of order this past weekend, however the part is en route and it should be back up and running in the next few days. Hopefully you will come and visit us again, and request a Superior room, so you have that all important outside window.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    367
    272
    119
    64
See reviews for
248
472
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Beds were absolutely fantastically comfortable... but... the first room we were in had no heat, and even after asking for maintenance 3 times nothing was done. We were finally moved to another room, which had an excessive amount of heat... and the smallest bathroom ever. The remote didn't work, curtains and blankets had tears in them.
The location of this hotel is good, easy to walk everywhere, and has underground heated parking, and the breakfast is good.
Staff very average, no extra effort from anyone to ensure that we were satisfied.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank uprivercamaleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Welcome home and thank you for the review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our beds; all of our rooms have our Mountain feather bedding, truly luxurious. However I am troubled to hear that you did not receive the superior service we strive to deliver. We will do our best to remedy this to ensure that every guest is treated with welcoming and responsive service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BERKSHIRE
Level Contributor
63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

excellent smaller hotel - but get an outside room for a window. Right smack in the middle of town. Bed extremely comfy and staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast included. Banff has lots of good restaurants. Staff a little slow but get there in the end.

Room Tip: get a room with a good window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TILLYFARLAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2011

My husband and I had an executive suite the first weekend in November. It was perfect! Right downtown, very convenient. The fireplace was awesome beacuse it was starting to get chilly by this time. Every detail was thought of: a hair dryer, a clothes iron, water glasses, mini fridge, lots of extra towels, and a big comfy duvet. The bed was also one of the most comfy we have slept in at a hotel. We would definitely go back!

Room Tip: We liked having the fireplace :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaux M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you so much for the review – and we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our Premium Suite. They are so cozy, especially in the winter months after a day of playing in the snow, between the fireplace and the jetted Jacuzzi tub it is hard to leave. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

We just spent two nights at this hotel, and because I had read previous warnings, I did all we could to prevent certain pitfalls. We upgraded to an outside room in order to have a window, that we could open during the night when the room got too hot (We did sleep with the window open). We booked the top floor to avoid all the noise of the plumbing, and let me say that whenever someone uses their plumbing, you are woken up, it is extemely loud !! We did not get our wake up call. The beds are so comfortable, yet we did not get a quality sleep. Breakfast was good. Supper at the Meatball was Excellent. Highly recomend the Spaghetti and meatballs and the Lasagne. We were three of only a handful of people at the hotel, so the buffet was not put out, Instead we ordered off a room service paper......good food, and service for breakfast. Did not appreciate having a pillow put on our bed without a pillow case or having the dirty cases left in our room. The guy that checked us out, was so incompetent, he had to get someone else to help. Overall, would choose somewhere else to stay, but would come to eat at the Meatball Restaurant.

Room Tip: Upgrade to an outside room because there is no air conditioning and you WILL be too hot and the insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littleworld, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 14 November 2011
Thank you so much for sharing your experience with your fellow travelers. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your dining with us, but I apologize that your hotel experience was not as enjoyable. I have followed up with the housekeeping department regarding the improper linen service and we will strive to ensure that this does not occur for our future guests. We do have a number of new employees working at our front desk and are doing our best to bring them up to speed. Again thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Revelstoke, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel is very clean with knowledgeable, friendly staff. Our room had a super comfy bed and was well stocked including little Rocky Mountain soap bars! Complimentary breakfast was included with our stay and the menu had lots to offer. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: As this hotel is on a busy part of Banff Avenue, I would recommend staying on the second or third fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canmore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

I stayed at this Inn recently and had a bad experience. First I checked into their smaller Inn called the Driftwood Inn and there was a group of rowdy students near my room carrying on and beer cans left in the lobby. I asked the front desk at Ptarmigan Inn to move me to the 2nd floor. They did and when I checked the room it looked like a warehouse with no furniture and mattresses propped up against the wall. Back I went to the front desk and told them about this room and the guy decided to move me into the Ptarmigan Inn at no extra charge with a compimentary breakfast. Later that night, I turned the heater on ( it was cold outside and getting cool in the room) and only cold air came out of it. I was fed up with running to the front desk and changing rooms so I put on a jacket and slept in it overnight to keep warm. Also, there was a coffeemaker in the room with real cream containers that were rancid. Cream needs to be refrigerated. Don't these people know that?
In the morning, I went to their restaurant downstairs for the breakfast and the server poured me a cup of coffee into which I poured some cream. The coffee had a weird taste and I noticed that there were white pieces of curd around the sides of the cup. More rancid cream! The hash brown potatoes I ordered were kind of cold and hard like they had been out for a few hours. And the cooks looked stoned, one guy just standing there and staring into space.

The service and breakfast were horrible and I mentionned the problems to the clerk in the morning but all she did was say sorry. Nothing else was offered.

I don't recommend this place to anyone. It is associated with a company called Best of Banff ironically. What a joke! If that is the best, I would sure hate to see the worst.

Room Tip: Shop around the town for a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank potatosalad64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing