We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Banff Hotel Experience in 10 Years!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 31 August 2013

First and foremost the staff, other than house keeping should take a few courses on hospitality! When asked for simple things such as a new key or some advice the same elder man would only give the response "yup"! Another condescending staff member who was rude, fake, non helpful and made everything possible a hair pulling experience. We had a complain because our room was +30 all night with two kids and three fans made no difference. We later find that our room was ontop of a boiler in the kitchen underneath us. When asked to switch rooms the "aussie" said well you cant till one cause someone had a late check out.

All in all poor poor hospitality, non welcoming staff and non helpful or cooperative staff will make this family NEVER STAY HERR AGAIN!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bslywka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2013

I am sorry to be reading your feedback this morning. The experience you shared is certainly not representative of the quality we strive to provide each guest and for this I apologize. Even the best hotels can make a mistake but it is the service and solutions that set the best hotels apart. I would welcome you to contact me directly to ensure your concerns are voiced. Again, I am truly sorry your experience was less than exceptional.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

538 - 544 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2013

A well run hotel that is very well serviced by the staff. The hotel is on the busy road through Banff but aside from big trucks moving through in the early morning the traffic noise is of little consequence. The 'complimentary' breakfast offers a wide range of both cold and hot food to cater for the international clientele. Try especially the spinach and cheese omelette. Young people, often in the midst of 'world tours' appear frequently as waiters in the restaurant and their comradeship adds to the feeling of warmth. The evening restaurant is a trifle disappointing and perhaps takes advantage of the regular and frequent coach trips from the UK and the USA meaning the clientele changes rather than the unadventurous although well cooked menu. The hotel also offers a hot tub, massage and beauty therapy for clients. The below stairs parking is small although generally large enough because many clients arrive by coach. The free wi-fi has limited reach and there's often a need to relocate elsewhere in the hotel for a better signal. The hotel also provides free renewable three day passes for the local bus service. All in all we were very pleased, comfortable and welcomed. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We were travelling with a Titan tour, with this as our last scheduled stop. We had however extended our Canadian trip by a few days to meet up with cousins. when we returned from Lake Louise with the tour, our relatives were already there, but to their credit reception would not divulge their room number, they however rang through, and guess what - they were right next door, planned by the hotel. We had met them before, but it was a wonderful meeting. They had travelled from Medicine Hat specially for the family reunion, on the following day we were shown sights, not on the Titan itinery, which included the Olympic village of Kananaskis. As for the hotel, it was great, central, breakfasts first class, and service extremely good. All in all the service was very Canadian, always friendly. Will stay again if we return to Banff. Of the resort itself, there is nowhere more beautiful that I ave yet seen.

Stayed: September 2012
Thank ke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We traveled as a couple for our one year anniversary it was an awesome experience we will keep coming back. We did have a couple of problems like there was guys coming from golfing and were puking in front of us and we couldnt sleep at night cause people dont understand the quiet time i understand it was saturday but still Also there was another problem that the hot tub in the ptarmigan inn was way too hot and the other hot tub was really cold. The reason i say this is because it burned mine and my husbands skin. We also didnt have any A/C. There was no other problem the room was great, the food was great and i would stay again.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klovstad2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

When we arrived at the Ptarmigan Inn, we were greeted by the friendly front desk staff. We had had a long drive and were exceptionally tired, which made it especially nice that we were treated so well upon our arrival. The staff took the time to explain all of the amenities the hotel had to offer. We stayed in a premium room with a balcony and a view of Banff Ave. and the mountains. The room was large, well maintained and clean. The bed was also very comfortable. I had read some other reviews that said that the rooms were hot because they didn't have air conditioning. I didn't have this experience as the fan that was provided did the job just fine, even though the weather was warm. We also dined at the Meatball restaurant in the hotel. Both my wife and I had the lasagna. It was very good and the prices were reasonable. The server was friendly and we struck up a great conversation with her. The room price also included a hot breakfast that really hit the spot and saved us money as well. The location was perfect and downtown was just a couple minutes walk away. I do a lot of travelling for a living and I am quite picky when it comes to finding a decent hotel. I will definitely stay here again and I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bigbee1858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Nothing spectacular, but the room was decent and not expensive. Just stayed the night in Banff out of necessity and didn't stay there for a holiday. It seems that many families were staying there and many tourists from out of country.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brianbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

A change of plans required my wife and I to make a last-minute booking at a hotel in Banff during the summer high season. We were pleasantly surprised with the Ptarmigan Inn. It offered a spacious and well furnish room and included a full buffet breakfast at a quite competitive rate. The location really can't be beat if you want to stay in town. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable about what is going on in the town. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £84 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing