We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not too impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not too impressed”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

So maybe it's expensive everywhere in Banff. I chose this one because it is close in town, the price was fair, and it has free breakfast...but I was not impressed. First night we checked in late (11pm) due to being stuck on the highway for over 5 hours because of an accident. The front desk clerk looked like he was drunk or half asleep and was not very friendly. Our room was on the top floor (4th?) but had a balcony that overlooked the INSIDE rotunda. Who designs a hotel room with an INSIDE BALCONY??? The room was tidy but small and had a tiny bathroom, you'd have to stand sideways in order to close the door - not suitable for our family of 4! The room was also extremely hot, there was no A/C, only a couple of floor fans. You could get some air flow by opening the door to the INSIDE BALCONY but you'll just be hearing the traffic of people in the lobby (during the day) or you'll be hearing the staff vacuuming the carpets at night....I probably should have slept in the hallway because the airflow was much better there. Stay there for 2 nights and couldn't stand it anymore so I asked to be moved. Manager on duty was friendly and apologetic and we got moved to another room with an open balcony (but overlooked the parking lot...sigh). This hotel brags about the free "hot breakfast" but it isn't anything to write home about: hot cakes, sausages, greasy bacon. The omlette station was decent. I'd rather have a continental breakfast where they give you at least some fruit to balance off the grease. Overall, not impressed. Poorly designed hotel. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YD01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    371
    275
    120
    64
See reviews for
251
477
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Stayed here this summer on a double date over a long weekend before heading to Jasper. Going to the mountains is an ideal road trip from Edmonton. We booked VERY last minute, taking 2 of the remaining three rooms available for our trip. Even though the hotel was packed, the room was always cleaned before we got back, the buffet breakfast was fully stocked, and the Free wifi was a nice touch. It seems less and less hotels are offering free wifi to customers now. Check in and out was easy. Be aware that the underground parking is VERY low. Our Land Rover had to be parked outside at the read of the building, don't try to drive into the underground parking until you've confirmed that you're the correct height. Buffet breakfast was really good quality. Really centrally located, it's very easy to find this hotel. For only $100ish a night this place was great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Stayed here for two nights 4th and 5 th october. Nice hotel tidy clean rooms, although lighting bit dark in rooms. Good breakfast. Nice little bar but on last night arrived back at hotel for nightcap around 10.30 told by the 'bit scruffy' long haired barman that they had closed, even though the bar was full, said couldn't serve us a drink!! Decided to go elsewhere but as we were leaving saw him serving a young guy a beer!! Obviously our face didn't fit. Not the best service for a hotel bar!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up we were on a low floor so room bit dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigmac04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Booked via TripAdvisor and Booking.com. Booked for just one night but decided to stay an extra night as we liked it.

The young guy on the reception was very well mannered and welcoming he explained everything very well.

Room had two double bed and bathroom with view of the mountains.

The hotel provided parking below the ground floor and breakfast was included.

Location is great for driving round and looking at all the local lakes and mountains.

Banff is great for everything, shopping, eating, looking round and sightseeing

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRussell1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in Banff many times and this is by far the most overpriced dive I stayed in. As I'm typing this, kids are playing hockey with actual nets in the hallway. We were moved as the standard rooms have non-functioning windows and no a/c. After cooking our selfs the first night we asked to be moved, after much complaining we were. Now on the top floor (3), the kids are loud and there is no wifi (the front desk will dispute that). Chipped bath tubs, bathroom tank cover from a different toilet, and mold behind the toilet to name a few imperfections. I had black long hair on my bed with mascara and other suspicious stains on my pillows. In closing, I'm angry with myself that I thought I would get something little more special for the high price I paid in the shoulder season. At least the other places are rightly matched to their asking price.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
I'm sorry to hear your stay was less than satisfactory and would welcome the opportunity to speak with you further to ensure your concerns are addressed. I have discussed your stay, which is not representative of our high service and quality standards, with our Front Office Manager who will contact you directly. I am sorry we failed to meet your expectations and hope we can regain your trust. Again, I apologize for our shortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn Banff on 26th September 2013 for three nights. The room was big very clean lovely mountain views. Good breakfast & evening meal. Very good location in town. 5 minutes walk to Rocky Mountain train station. Helpful staff for arranging day trips.
Most important their staff are very Honest. We left Banff on Rocky Mountain Train two days later in Vancouver we discovered we had left money and credit cards in the hotel room. We contacted Ptarmigan, their housekeeper had found them and kept them safe. Lewis on the desk sent it back to us in Australia, how good is that. Well done Ptarmigan and Canada.

Room Tip: room No 334 overlooked the mountains, quiet room at the side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelgmBanff, General Manager at Banff Ptarmigan Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the Ptarmigan Inn and that we were able to help return your lost belongings. I have shared your comments with my team and hope you have the chance to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 October 2013

This was our 5th year running in Melissa's and the first time we have stayed at the Ptarmigan Inn! It was a wonderful experience and will definitely book again next time we are in Banff. The staff was very helpful and the complimentary breakfast included was wonderful!! The rooms were clean and the hot tub and sitting area was well used by all of us.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing