We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Revisited!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We returned to the Ptarmigan to celebrate our 40th anniversary, since we had spent our honeymoon here! A large addition and front façade had been added since the last trip, so it didn't look the same, but it is a nice 'lodge' look from the street. We were delighted with our champagne and choc-covered strawberries, a special welcome from the management. Our room was lovely, well-appointed, and spacious, with fireplace and jacuzzi tub. (This type of room overlooks Banff Ave., so sometimes there was pedestrian noise until late into the night.) The breakfast buffet was more than adequate. The front desk staff were very congenial, eager to answer our questions and give suggestions. The location is ideal for walking but Roam bus passes were also included in the room package. Great memories!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Memory-maker40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,129)
There are newer reviews for Banff Ptarmigan Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Banff Ptarmigan Inn is a great place to stay. Fantastic location, clean rooms, friendly staff and a complimentary breakfast. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Banff. This hotel is great value for money. The rooms are slightly outdated (as are most in Banff), but Banff is about the outdoors anyway!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is like a labyrinth, with rooms in all directions and unfortunately for us ours was in one corner at the end of a million corridors. We had a lot of luggage and it was a task getting it to the room and then fitting it in. The room was tiny!
The guy at the reception is rude and bored, couldn't care less about the guests checking in as they have a lot of tie ups with tour operators and schools too. The hotel seemed full and buzzing with groups and school kids. Breakfast was a huge line up and waiting with milk getting over and the waitresses hating being told about it. The guy behind the egg station was extremely sweet and tried to serve everyone according to their specifications. Can't say the same about the waitresses!
Not a beautiful place to stay in beautiful banf.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller_infty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for two nights in this hotel. The location was the best part of staying at this hotel. It was a few minutes walk to downtown, shopping and restaurants. The room had one queen and two twin beds. It was nice for the kids to have their own bed. The room was pretty clean, except for the coffee stains running down the bathroom door. Bed was ok. I think they used a feather bed to cover up the dips in the mattress. Wifi was ok too. The room had a coffee maker, kettle, blow dryer and iron with ironing board. The hallways had a weird smell. The hotel has underground parking.

Breakfast was good. There was cereal, toast, pastries, croissants, muffins, yogurt, cottage cheese, fruit salad, hashbrowns, pancakes, eggs, sausage, bacon and an omelet station. Service at the restaurant was not great. It took a long time to get refills on our coffee and tea.

I think the best reason to stay here is the location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cf_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

So you want to go to Banff, but you don't want to pay that Banff Springs Fairmont price tag, where do you go? The Ptarmigan is a fine choice, however, as with most hotels in the town of Banff prepare for a higher than average room rate and a very average hotel experience - basically you pay the price for a W, and get a Best Western. But hey, your in Banff and you're not suppose to spend time at the hotel, you're suppose to spend time out in the mountains and rivers and lakes etc. Breakfast was included when we stayed here, and it was, you guessed it, pretty average - I recommend getting an omelet made in the kitchen over the buffet scrambled eggs. The location is good, on the main street and easy walking to any of the shops/restaurants as well as the Banff Info Centre to get your park passes, trail info etc. One highlight of the Ptarmigan was the "spa" centre, which included two large hot tubs with different temperatures of water, a steam room and a sauna, a welcome respite after a long day of hiking in the mountains. The spa seemed under utilized, and when I went I had the place to myself. Its located on the bottom level, ask the front desk for the keycode.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have balconies, which are great for hanging sweaty hiking cloths and dirty/wet boo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLandrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Recent Banff World Media conference required a financial gut check. Prices at the Banff Springs have just gone sky-high, for very little value other than the location. The Ptarmigan is a good alternative providing a number of valuable perks, such as breakfast and on site parking. The rooms themselves and the surrounding view leave whats most to be desired. Flanked by a parking lot on either side, your best room request is the internal courtyard. Rooms are clean, but very tired. They showed some signs of renovations (literally excuse our appearance signs) but I did not see any improvements myself. I was on the second floor. If you don't care about your room and only care about the out-doors, the Ptarmigan is a suitable place to sleep. You can always walk up to the Springs to see their view down the bow valley, and don't have to pay $300 per night premium. Plus the walk will do you good!

Room Tip: Looked like the courtyard rooms were the better view, unless parking lot is a "view"
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here many years ago and had a bit of a disappointing stay as they had problems with their heating being on too high and all the rooms were far too hot. But since this trip was in June we guessed the heating would be off so no problems. We were partly right. The heating was off. But as for no problems? Well. A bad start when we tried to check in and it appeared reception was expecting us next month instead! The receptionist said she was unsure whether it was the hotels mistake or our booking agent, so made us wait in the lobby with our luggage while she waited for someone to ring her back. Now my issue with this is that since this should be a customer service led operation, we should have been checked in anyway and it should be left to the hotel & booking agent to decide fault later. Whatever the outcome, we needed a room. But after what seemed an age although could have been only 15 minutes, she came back to us to check us in. It was the hotels mistake. No apology or explanation. Not a good start.
Room 301 was ok, but right beside the lift doors which seemed a focal point all day and a lot of the night. Very annoying and very loud. But since we were only there 4 nights we thought we'd cope. Room had light bulbs missing, blocked sink and broken chair but they were fixed/replaced within hours of us reporting them.
Breakfast was a very poor selection and a complete bun fight with the many coach trips fighting to get fed before their day trips. We were never offered tea or coffee refills. And the toasting facilities were 2 domestic toasters! For a restaurant that must have seated at least 70 and always full! Seriously, spend some money Ptarmigan!
All in all I'm very sorry I gave it a second chance and when we return in October it will be to the Aspen!

Room Tip: Stay clear of the lifts.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppyland3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,300 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £93 - £256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing