We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A small good hotel in a beautiful town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 19 July 2014

As part of the Rocky Mountaineer Train trip, after second day's journey, we were put up in this small hotel in the small but very beautiful town of Banff in Canada. Although small, the hotel provides all normal amenities including free wi fi for its guests. However, the computer in the lobby level which is free for use by guests, was not properly working. Such things need to be kept in order to enable guests to use when needed.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BPB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

443 - 449 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

Well what's to say, situated in more or less on the main street of Banff 10 min walk to centre of town. Breakfast buffet very good, rooms clean, excellent bar, 2 large Jacuzzi's, great safe ski storage and the bus service for Lake Louise, Sunshine and Norquay ski slopes pick up out side front door. Out there 2011 with my family also 2009 and heading back Feb 15. Booked with Canadian Affair but if you search on line may get flights, hotel etc slightly cheaper. All in all The Ptarmigan a great place to stay.

Richard

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank SnowPlough5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

For the price paid at this hotel, it should have a/c. We were supplied with a table fan which did little to alleviate the discomfort. I noted a small space heater, so I'd be a little suspicious if there's heat in the room during the colder months. Both the room and bathroom were very small and the bare minimum amount of towels were supplied. The room and the entire hotel needs updating and feels shabby. It's obviously an older hotel since the hallways are very narrow. The only upside is the hotel's location in town which is very central and close to bars, restaurants, etc. If you have another hotel option, take it.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Gail D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This place looks great from far. But it is far from good. The beds are literary falling apart. They sag in the center and before I left I stripped the bed to discover the bed all torn up. The tiles in the bathroom were moldy and the icing on the cake was that there is NO AC in the rooms. I had to wait 30 min for a fan cause the only other employee working that night was scrubbing the floors.

The positive is the breakfast that was included.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank J-n29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Got a good deal on a 2 night stay before high season and with free breakfast, parking, and bus passes we couldn't pass it up. Had stayed here before about 20 years ago (ouch, that long!) and knew what to expect. Had a room overlooking an inside atrium (not the front lobby one) and it was surprisingly quiet. Room was small but we managed to fit family luggage creatively in the room. Did not like the lack of fresh air circulation in the room. I guess we could have left the atrium door open, but chain lock was broken.
Breakfast was bland on the buffet side, but the custom omelettes were very good.
Parking garage is very tight and does not leave much room around for full size cars. Easier to just go down one more level where we found almost no one else.
Bathroom was small with thin wall to room.
Only would stay here if you get a good deal or if you really just plan on sleeping in the room and can accept all its shortcomings.

Room Tip: Overlooking inside atrium (not lobby one) are quiet. Just leave balcony door open for some air circ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Dudes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with family in June, 2014.

The hotel looks pretty run down and kind of average for the rates they charge and the rooms and bathrooms are extremely small. The washbasin was outside the bathroom, which was pretty awkward and uncomfortable. Location though is very nice, right in the heart of the town.

The bed too soft and caused a bad backache for the next few days.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shreyance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed at The Ptarmigan Inn in Banff for three nights. Overall it wasn't a bad stay but we really thought the inn could do with a good clean up.
Our room was a very good size and had a balcony. The beds were comfortable and there were adequate facilities in the room for our stay. A good sized TV, not that we had time to watch it. Plenty of tea and coffee and good toiletries in the bathroom.
The room itself was a little shabby in places as was the bathroom. The room appeared quite clean but on closer inspection not so good. For example there were hairs stuck in a corner of the bathroom floor which I know were not ours.
Moving on to the public areas of the inn the cleaning had really not hit the spot. The lifts were quite dirty with loads of dirt, hair etc in the door runners. I went to use the computer to email home and it was covered with dust as were the desk it sat on and the surrounding areas. The shelf where a public phone sat looked as if it hadn't seen a duster for some while either.
We had breakfast at the inn which was buffet. It was average really. There was generally a shortage of glasses for juice and by the look of the tea an equal shortage of tea bags. There was a choice of a hot breakfast and continental whichever we preferred but to be honest there was not much choice in the pastries department. If the breakfast hadn't been included in our stay I don't think we would have paid for more than one day for the meal and would have found an alternative.
On the good side the inn was very central to the whole of Banff. Like all the other hotels/inns we stayed in there was free Internet available. Staff were friendly enough and provided all local information either verbally or in leaflet form. Another plus was the free bus pass for the local bus that takes passengers all round Banff on two different routes and we found this to be very handy.
Would we go back to the inn ? Probably not unless they gave it a good clean.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue Rat.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 34 in Banff
1,452 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,486 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £69 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing