We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely some issues.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edson, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Definitely some issues.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I spent two nights here. We really liked the location of the hotel, and most of the staff were outstanding; however, the two cooks that worked the omelet stations for themorning breakfasts were both the rudest people we have ever come across in any business establishment EVER. It was appalling - especially the one cook. He actually said to a customer, "Are you STILL eating?" and was just unbelievably confrontational to pretty much everyone. The next issues were in the room itself, which had all sorts of repairs needed - towel bar falling off, toilet seat falling off, makeup mirror hanging on by a thread, loose bathroom faucet, and a huge water stain on the ceiling, to name a few. I don't know what the manager of the hotel is doing, but he/she needs to pay attention.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2mckays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    252
    374
    276
    121
    65
See reviews for
252
482
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
101 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Ptarmigan is located very close to the market area in Banff and that is a major plus point. The rooms are well furnished and clean but do not have ACs'. We went in the summer and the temperature was soaring. We were given fans but they were not adequate. The breakfast was very repetitive. The hotel staff at the restaurant were not very courteous and prompt.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorerspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Booked this room directly through the hotel. No issues with the booking process or reservations upon arrival. We arrived at 249pm.. check in was not officially until 4pm.. our room was not available until 4pm but they did give us our parking pass, so we went for a walk and came back at 4. The folks at the check in desk were very pleasant and polite.. check in was easy.

First impression.. it was hotter in the room than the hallway and lobby AND outside. really really hot. So, we opened the window but because we were on the first floor it only opened from the top about 6 inches. We plugged in the fan provided ... the front of it kept falling off.. and attempted to cool down the room. It never really did cool down. In the hotels defense there isn't many places with AC in Banff but surely a floor with a window that actually opens and a fan in front of it would cool down the room.

The rooms were adequate and clean, the bed was comfortable, and there were the usual hotel room amenities (Coffee, tea, Shampoo, conditioner, soap etc. No in room fridge and no closet but there is a small wardrobe and 3 drawers to store your things. Even though we were beside an outdoor parking lot, the room was quiet from both the outside and the hallway.

Hot buffet breakfast was included in our rate and we enjoyed it. Typical buffet things, cereals, scrambled eggs, hash browns, sausages, bacon, omelet bar, fruit salad, yogurts and bread items. Coffee and juice were also available.

On the first evening we arrived at the lounge at 1030pm but it was already past last call so we went to a local pub instead. There were two other couples also being turned away.

Although available we didn't make use of the restaurant for dinner, room service, the spa/hottub area or the lounge.

I can't really say much about the hotel, it was distinctly average. The location was definitely convenient to the shops and restaurants in town. Would I stay again?.. possibly, but on an upper floor if we came in summer.

Just as an add on; although not affiliated with the hotel.. make reservations and eat dinner at the Grizzly house for an awesome fondue experience. We also found a great steakhouse called Saltlik... located one street back (on Bear) near the cinema.

Room Tip: Try for something above the first floor so the windows open up
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Great Location in a beautiful town but not great hotel for the price you pay. Had small room with 2 queen beds. No A/C so had to leave windows ( no screens ) and drapes open all night. Fortunately no bats or other creatures flew in but privacy was gone due to other hotel right next door. In addition you get the traffic & train noise all night. Carpet stained and soft beds. Shower with face plate loose sprayed into small tub with only a foot of flat space so stepping on the slippery sides all during the shower. No fridge or microwave. Hot tubs and steam room were good but no pool. Facility needs updating if charging that kind of money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lloyd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser Valley, British Columbia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We booked through Hotwire, so the price was right. Not sure I'd pay the regular rate, though. It's a nice place in a great location. Very comfortable room (except for no A/C, but the fan and open window in August do the trick). Nothing fancy, more like a nice motel. But in Banff, the last thing you want to do is hang out in a room, there is so much to do around town. Nice restaurant, good breakfast included. Two hot tubs, one had two lovers in it, so opted for the other and the jets didn't work. Inside parking is a plus and no extra charge. You can pay a lot more and get more, but for the Hotwire price, it's a great deal. Oh, and there is a coupon for a free hop on, hop off city transit that lets you explore the village at your leisure. I recommend it because parking in town is impossible because so many people come to Banff.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TooSlim55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermosa Beach, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I stayed here on a recent long weekend holiday. The location was great, an easy walk to all the restaurants and shops in the city. The hotel itself was just OK. We had a first floor room with a "mountain view", which meant the parking lot. But it seemed better than the interior rooms that looked out on the lobby or a strange atrium. If I were to go again I'd ask for a upper floor, exterior room. The rooms could use an update for the price we paid. They were motel-quality. It has a little bit of an odd smell we never identified, but it was clean and no bugs. There is no air conditioning, but with the fan and opening the window it was fine (in July). The breakfast was edible, the omelet station was pretty good, and at least it was free. Basically if you aren't planning to spend much time in the room and just want a clean place to sleep and eat, this place will do the job.

Room Tip: Upper level, exterior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Appreciated the convenience of this hotel in middle of Banff. Room was functional and clean. Really appreciated the free breakfast - delicious fresh omelettes and good choice. Next door to Brewsters Transport Booking Office for booking Rockies trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 32 in Banff
1,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing