We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come for the pancakes, don't stay for the hot tubs ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Come for the pancakes, don't stay for the hot tubs ”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We chose this place as a pet friendly option for two nights in Banff. For 179 a night it is a great deal for summer rates in Banff. The hotel room was small but clean and mostly quiet. They provided a nice dog bed, bowl, treats and a you. The staff was very friendly. Parking is free but crowded. And breakfast is included, with options like omelettes, cereal, toast, fruit, yogurt, bacon and the best little baby pancakes! My biggest complaint is that the hot tubs weren't great. The steam room smelled funky and had ants in it, also it got steamy but not hot. And the sauna was sub par. The whole hot tub area was dingy. This is really my only complaint. When we stay here again we will just go to the hot springs. I think a reno of the hot tub area is well overdue. But a definite safe choice if you want a bargain that is close to town.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shaunessy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    385
    279
    123
    66
See reviews for
262
493
49
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitecourt, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with the value in this hotel. The rooms could use renovating ( mainly the washrooms) but are very comfortable and clean. The bedding is especially nice and beds are better than average.
The location, included breakfast and comfort in rooms makes this hotel a great find for the price.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank snowgirl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We traveled all over Alberta and decided to have a nice quiet night's stay in Banff. The Ptarmigan Inn was quiet, cool, and clean...along with well priced. There was free wifi in our room and a free breakfast buffet. I did not care for the restaurant "The Meatball" in the hotel. The food was way over priced, the service was very slow and the food was not very good (and burnt). But the hotel itself was great.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies, but you may have an inside view vs outside view. We chose an inside view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM3777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waterloogrrl
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Was actually meant to stay at The Driftwood Inn, but got upgraded to the Ptarmigan at check-in. Beds were a good size and comfortable, but the bathroom was tiny and toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc.) were very low quality. The free parking and the scrumptious buffet breakfast, however, made up for anything else the hotel lacked. Restaurant staff were cheery, but seemed to play favorites when seating their guests. Turn up the professionalism!

Overall, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waterloogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bothell, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This hotel seems to be set up more for winter travelers than summer. There isn't any air conditioning, but our room did include a fan, and the rooms weren't uncomfortably warm. We had a small deck, so we could keep the door cracked to help cool it down if needed. We were hoping the deck would overlook a view, but it faced the building next door so it wasn't very enticing to sit out there. The location is great, within very easy walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The Banff Fairmont Hotel was a bit longer walk than we expected, but still very manageable. The hotel includes free access to the bus system, which we though was great but then never used since the buses weren't frequent enough. We were only here for one night, so we may have planned better for the buses if we had a longer stay. We chose to go out to another restaurant for breakfast.

Room Tip: Get a room with a deck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb18560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edson, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

My husband and I spent two nights here. We really liked the location of the hotel, and most of the staff were outstanding; however, the two cooks that worked the omelet stations for themorning breakfasts were both the rudest people we have ever come across in any business establishment EVER. It was appalling - especially the one cook. He actually said to a customer, "Are you STILL eating?" and was just unbelievably confrontational to pretty much everyone. The next issues were in the room itself, which had all sorts of repairs needed - towel bar falling off, toilet seat falling off, makeup mirror hanging on by a thread, loose bathroom faucet, and a huge water stain on the ceiling, to name a few. I don't know what the manager of the hotel is doing, but he/she needs to pay attention.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2mckays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The Ptarmigan is located very close to the market area in Banff and that is a major plus point. The rooms are well furnished and clean but do not have ACs'. We went in the summer and the temperature was soaring. We were given fans but they were not adequate. The breakfast was very repetitive. The hotel staff at the restaurant were not very courteous and prompt.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank explorerspirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.0 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,430 reviews
0.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Ptarmigan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Ptarmigan Inn

Property: Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Address: 337 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Ptarmigan Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- Located on Banff Avenue, one short block from downtown Banff- Includes Full buffet breakfast with a made to order omelette station- Indoor hot tubs, sauna, steam and fitness equipment- The Meatball Pizza and Pasta- 134 cozy hotel rooms- The Sundance and Atrium function rooms for small to mid-size - meetings/receptions- Complimentary wireless internet access in all guest rooms- Heated underground parkade with free parking (first come basis)- Complimentary Roam Bus passes for the Banff transit system. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Banff Ptarmigan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Ptarmigan Hotel Banff
Ptarmigan Inn Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing