We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Fort McMurray, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend away!”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We had an excellent stay in the Wolf condo. Very spacious, a king and queen bed, fireplace, kitchen and conveniently located on your way into Banff. Would definitely recommend staying here if you were in town for a while or travelling with family as it's a great value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    395
    209
    86
    53
See reviews for
348
360
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

although clean and comfortable, there is No sound proofing at all. we could hear every word of conversation next door and every step above us. Really hard to enjoy a romantic weekend alone with your husband( if you know what i mean) when you KNOW the neighbours will hear every minute sound. If i can hear a pop can open...and the discussion of where to eat dinner, you kNOW they are going to hear what your doing!

Room Tip: as others have said - stay in upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommabear-min
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lechlade, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

The resort is just outside Banff and not quite within walking distance of the town. They offer a free shuttle bus which was good and reliable.
The units are quite basic and a little worn, nothing special but also not too bad.
It is the sort of resort you stay at to use as a base rather than being a holiday type resort. It is also quite typical of the accommodation in the area.
As long as you don't have high expectations (not upto the same standard or size as a lot of the resorts in the US) you will be fine here.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garrytev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Forks, ND
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We are staying for five nights and we booked because of location and the fact that the buses to the ski areas stop here. The value for the price paid is very good.
The staff is very accommodating and really wants to make things right if there are issues. We stayed in a one bedroom, which, although small were workable for three people.
What would be better would be individual temperature controls for the bedroom and living room kitchen, but it is a minor point.
The rooms are well furnished and comfortable, but the small size precludes any additional chairs other than the kitchen.
Having free wi fi and free parking is a definite plus.
They do have daily cleaning and housekeeping services, which is something that is not normally provided at condo type resort.
It is in a very quiet area but the scenery is breathtaking. All in all a great stay. We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: All the one bedroom units are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GFK01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in the Wolf condo and it was perfect for our needs. The condo had 1 bedroom, new kitchen, bathroom and fireplace in the living room. It;s very nicely appointed with slate tile, granit and wood. A decent space to spread out. The hotel is not in Banff townsite, but has a free shuttle bus to and from Banff (or you can walk about 2.5 km to Banff along a paved trail) and there is a Bus that goes to the ski hills as well. You can purchase lift tickets and bus tickets at the front desk- very convenient.
The outdoor hot tub is nice too. Staff were very helpful and provided everything we asked and answered all our questions. It is also pet friendly in most rooms.

Room Tip: Book one of the newly redesigned Wolf rooms. They are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nprytuluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The rooms are indeed small but quaint and clean. Our issues began at check-in. We are timeshare holders and exchanged our amazing accommodations in Florida for a getaway here. We have a 2 bedroom unit and were only able to get a one bedroom unit here. Yes, we asked about an upgrade but were told they were "too busy" to look into it (we checked in on a Wednesday evening). I checked online and there definitely were 2 bedrooms available. So the five of us crammed into a very small one bedroom on the ground level. Our next issue came with the noise level. We could hear the people speaking, I don't think they were yelling, above us. And every time they moved a chair about, it was grating. Nothing to complain about as it seemed they were just going about their regular business. The next biggest issue was some sort of banging noise we were woken up to multiple times each of our 3 nights there. I don't even know how to explain that noise (kind of like a big sheet of metal that's bent and then sound it makes when it pops back into shape????) I can explain one noise I heard a few times though - a creaking door sound. It was loud enough to wake me and make me think it was my bedroom door but then I realized my door was wide open. When I heard it next, I realized it was something outside. Maybe both sounds had to do with the age of the facility???? No clue but they woke my husband and I on several occasions. Since staff was too busy to deal with a room upgrade we didn't bother complaining about a noise we would hear in the overnight. I didn't have faith there could be much done about it though I guess now they're hearing my complaint. Anyway, twice we swam in the pool and it is fine but in sore need of a good scrub down and updating as does the indoor hot tub. Overall, this place was straight up disappointing. I would recommend staying elsewhere if you're visiting Banff. A basic hotel room offers the same size as a one bedroom unit here and even my hotel experiences in Banff were much quieter and more pleasant to deal with staff.

Room Tip: Always important to read reviews and make your choice based on all that you read (good and bad) and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,046 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,159 reviews
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#32 of 33 in Banff
1,173 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
947 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tunnel Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. Indoor 15m swimming pool • Indoor and Outdoor hot tub • 171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone • Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy • Tennis and squash courts • Onsite Laundry Facilities • Free parking and wired or wireless internet access • Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, TravelUp, Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing