We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the price of the stay….”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Chicago
Level Contributor
352 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Worth the price of the stay….”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for seven nights. The rooms could use a little bit of a face lift but overall they were well worth the price. The two bedroom condo, provided a good night of sleep after a day of hiking. The flat screen TV came with a DVD player if you asked for it. The kitchen is adequate for breakfast and the rooms were clean. The fireplace was nice, but you had to pay for the un-seasoned wood. The location was minutes from town and a though we didn't use it, a free shuttle is provided. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for writing a review. Glad to see that you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park and the time you spent with us at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    370
    198
    82
    49
See reviews for
325
346
16
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've stayed at this resort about a half dozen times and won't be staying there again. It's a shame how badly it's deteriorated over the years service wise. We planned this romantic getaway in advance and wanted to stay at this resort because of the quiet location away from the town and knew what the accommodations were like in advance so we weren't disappointed there. What was disappointing was the service, because of the Canada day long weekend the resort was full but that doesn't excuse not cleaning a room, the front desk told us that they had 170 plus rooms to clean ???? At almost $300 per night I expect to come to back to a cleaned room, period. The noise from the adjoining rooms went until after 1 am and the front desk did nothing to address it so we had to ask the guests to please keep the noise down. Again when your paying these kinds of rates you'd expect a good nights sleep and unfortunately that's not what we got on our weekend getaway. Very disappointed. The resort did give us a free movie for our troubles. If you are staying at. This resort don't take a bottom unit.
Banff is a beautiful place to spend a weekend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $50 and stay somewhere better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank remorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
This is truly disappointing. Yes, Banff is a busy place over long weekends and during the summer months. I am so sorry that we did not meet your needs with the service we provided. Our staff did call security to deal with the noise issue but they did not respond in a timely manner. We also could have provided more help to you upon checkout. I was glad to see that you liked the accommodation you booked. I hope that you will return to the resort in the future and would like to discuss your visit. Please contact me directly at 403-762-7456 or send me an email with your contact information and I will call you. Please accept my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice "cabin type" accommodations ... very good shower ... very good cable tv .... good kitchen with fridge and stove .... small bedroom ..... the restaurant was very poor in food quality and selection but the restaurant staff was polite and efficient .. front desk staff fair .... they were however able to find my folio and email me a copy immediately upon request a couple of weeks after the visit ... close to downtown .... fair choice given the price .. very good value

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letrips66
Level Contributor
175 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were a group of 4 and saw a two bedroom condo option when looking at lodging choices. Reviews are all over the board, so our expectations weren't overly high; however, we were only planning to sleep in the room, not spend much time there. The cost was $230 CAD per night, or only $115 per room, which we could never have found for a decent hotel. When we arrived, we were upgraded to the "Wolf Building" since they weren't fully booked. Except for carrying our 50 pound suitcases up to the second floor, it was nice. Not fancy, but fit our needs perfectly. We liked the wolf motif and they had some beautiful pictures on the walls. There were two bathrooms, both with showers, to help us get ready quickly. The only criticism was the king room didn't have enough room to open up both our suitcases and had to put one outside the room in the hall. And as many others have pointed out, it's a little removed from the downtown area, just a mile from the TransCanada Highway and a few minutes drive to downtown Banff.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letrips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Yes, it is always hard to pick a place to stay...especially when you are paying almost $300CAD/night. We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived at our 2 bedroom Wolf Condo. There were five of us, so the room worked out great. My girls (16, 13, 10) were able to fit comfortably in the king size bed, so no one had to fight for the sofa bed, although there was that option, and then my husband and I were in the queen bed room. It was also helpful to have 2 full bathrooms (one had a tub and the other a shower) because with 4 girls, it made getting ready a little easier. Since we stayed in the Wolf Condo, everything was beautifully updated. The kitchen was perfect to prepare meals, and with so many picky eaters, it was easier to go grocery (and cheaper) and make meals at home. After a long day of hiking, all we wanted to do, was just relax and unwind. The location of our room was great, as we were close to the hot tub/pool/ laundry. Staff was wonderful, always checking up on us. No major issues except for the stuck shower door, but we were still able to use it, we just couldn't close the door all the way, but we managed. They did offer another room, but it was halfway into our stay and I liked the location, so we just stayed. The location of the hotel is perfect. Close to the highway and just outside the town of Banff (but not too far). It was nice to be away from town, but close enough drive to be part of it all. Also, after driving around and finding other hotels I looked at on-line, I was very happy that I picked this resort. Banff is a beautiful place to visit and even though, we paid more that we usually do for hotel, it was definitely worth it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScrappingMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a loft style room which was spacious and clean. It did have a peculiar smell about it. We enjoyed the porch. The bathrooms and kitchen were updated. The staff at front desk were super friendly, however staff in the sports department were not friendly or helpful. The pool and hot tub were a bit dingy. Overall a decent stay.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelingstaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southwest ontario
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

After reading the reviews of this hotel, I was expecting it to be very small and cramped. We stayed for a week in a two bedroom, two bath condo and i was pleasantly surprised with how much room we had with four adults. THe unit is a little dated, but they have tried to update things with granite counter tops and a glass shower on the main floor of these units. The furniture is in need of updating, but the condo was clean and the beds were very comfy.

The location was great. A five minute drive from town. We drove in, but the shuttle is available if needed. The location out of Banff a little way allows you to be a little closer with nature and we had a bear run through the back open space while we were there.

The staff were helpful and polite.

My son used the pool and hot tubs, and said it was fine.

I would definately stay here again. it was good value for the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welove2travel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.2 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Property: Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. Indoor 15m swimming pool • Indoor and Outdoor hot tub • 171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone • Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym, sauna and massage therapy • Tennis and squash courts • Onsite Laundry Facilities • Free parking and wired or wireless internet access • Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing