We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value family accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Banff Rocky Mountain Resort
Ranked #26 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a really good value hotel with great room layout, friendly staff and good amenities. It's also only a short drive to Banff town centre.
We are a large family so find their room layouts excellent for fitting the maximum number of people in a room comfortably whilst still allowing each person o have some privacy!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannineBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and that our room size suited your needs as a family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,026)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 1,026 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
62
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

The receptionist was really helpful and welcoming. We stayed in a standard room 1001. It was clean and spacious. The bed was really comfortable. They provide free shuttle to and from Banff downtown. Very happy with my stay here. The scenery is beautiful.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your time in Banff. Yes, the scenery is beautiful. We were happy to see that the Front Desk staff made you feel welcome at the resort and that you were pleased with our junior suite. We hope you have the opportunity to visit Banff again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Went to the hotel to see what it was like absolutely beautiful must see. Full of things to look at and stores to shop at plus u can stay there. A bit expensive for me. But if I was staying in banff for a few nights id stay there just for the view

Stayed: July 2014
Thank mome2boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for seven nights. The rooms could use a little bit of a face lift but overall they were well worth the price. The two bedroom condo, provided a good night of sleep after a day of hiking. The flat screen TV came with a DVD player if you asked for it. The kitchen is adequate for breakfast and the rooms were clean. The fireplace was nice, but you had to pay for the un-seasoned wood. The location was minutes from town and a though we didn't use it, a free shuttle is provided. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Traderjoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for writing a review. Glad to see that you enjoyed your time in Banff National Park and the time you spent with us at the resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I've stayed at this resort about a half dozen times and won't be staying there again. It's a shame how badly it's deteriorated over the years service wise. We planned this romantic getaway in advance and wanted to stay at this resort because of the quiet location away from the town and knew what the accommodations were like in advance so we weren't disappointed there. What was disappointing was the service, because of the Canada day long weekend the resort was full but that doesn't excuse not cleaning a room, the front desk told us that they had 170 plus rooms to clean ???? At almost $300 per night I expect to come to back to a cleaned room, period. The noise from the adjoining rooms went until after 1 am and the front desk did nothing to address it so we had to ask the guests to please keep the noise down. Again when your paying these kinds of rates you'd expect a good nights sleep and unfortunately that's not what we got on our weekend getaway. Very disappointed. The resort did give us a free movie for our troubles. If you are staying at. This resort don't take a bottom unit.
Banff is a beautiful place to spend a weekend.

Room Tip: Pay the extra $50 and stay somewhere better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank remorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vickilynn_10, General Manager at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

This is truly disappointing. Yes, Banff is a busy place over long weekends and during the summer months. I am so sorry that we did not meet your needs with the service we provided. Our staff did call security to deal with the noise issue but they did not respond in a timely manner. We also could have provided more help to you upon checkout. I was glad to see that you liked the accommodation you booked. I hope that you will return to the resort in the future and would like to discuss your visit. Please contact me directly at 403-762-7456 or send me an email with your contact information and I will call you. Please accept my sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Nice "cabin type" accommodations ... very good shower ... very good cable tv .... good kitchen with fridge and stove .... small bedroom ..... the restaurant was very poor in food quality and selection but the restaurant staff was polite and efficient .. front desk staff fair .... they were however able to find my folio and email me a copy immediately upon request a couple of weeks after the visit ... close to downtown .... fair choice given the price .. very good value

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brad R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We were a group of 4 and saw a two bedroom condo option when looking at lodging choices. Reviews are all over the board, so our expectations weren't overly high; however, we were only planning to sleep in the room, not spend much time there. The cost was $230 CAD per night, or only $115 per room, which we could never have found for a decent hotel. When we arrived, we were upgraded to the "Wolf Building" since they weren't fully booked. Except for carrying our 50 pound suitcases up to the second floor, it was nice. Not fancy, but fit our needs perfectly. We liked the wolf motif and they had some beautiful pictures on the walls. There were two bathrooms, both with showers, to help us get ready quickly. The only criticism was the king room didn't have enough room to open up both our suitcases and had to put one outside the room in the hall. And as many others have pointed out, it's a little removed from the downtown area, just a mile from the TransCanada Highway and a few minutes drive to downtown Banff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank letrips66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.9 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 34 in Banff
1,176 reviews
1.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 34 in Banff
2,212 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,005 reviews
1.8 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 34 in Banff
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Rocky Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Rocky Mountain Resort

Address: 1029 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £61 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Rocky Mountain Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the meaning of a mountain getaway at Banff Rocky Mountain Resort, a relaxing retreat in the heart of Banff National Park. Ideally set amid eight acres of private parkland and surrounded by the glorious scenery of Canada’s oldest national park, while just minutes from downtown Banff, the Banff Rocky Mountain Resort’s breathtaking location and extensive amenities are certain to provide a casual and memorable stay in the Canadian Rockies. Indoor 15m swimming pool • Indoor and Outdoor hot tub • 171 well appointed rooms with configurations to suit everyone • Mountain Health and Fitness Club with full gym • Tennis and squash courts • Onsite Laundry Facilities • Free parking and wireless internet access • Complimentary shuttle to downtown Banff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Banff Rocky Mountain Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing