We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
Ranked #21 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Beautifully located by the river, room was on the ground floor - small with no balcony - but compensated by the view of the river. Though i would have felt the need for more space/fresh air if i had stayed much longer. The staff are great - responsive and remember previous communications/arrangements which I've noticed never goes smoothly at most other places. Just a couple of minutes from restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mys_terry78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked this online and did not disappoint . Was offered the upgrade at no charge and was blown away by the room and the view with it. Very helpful staff, lots of restaurants, within minutes, and what can you say about the scenery. Just ...WOW!.. I would not hesitate to come back here again.

Room Tip: Take the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Bow View Lodge is situated in a corner of Banff, next to the river. It’s location is the major plus as it’s quiet at night but still close enough to Banff Avenue to join the crowd in just a couple of minutes. The hotel is easily reachable from the highway and parking is free of charge which is also a big advantage.
Compared with the outside look of the hotel, the inside is a bit disappointing. It could use a make-over. Rooms are spacious and equipped with everything you would need. There’s a balcony to sit on but as said, the overall look of the room is a little bit outdated.
And during such a renovation, I would move the reception to a more central place in the hotel. It’s now a bit ‘of the beaten track’, just next to the entrance. Nevertheless, staff is very helpful and friendly.
It’s a pity you cannot have breakfast in the hotel. Many places in Banff do fill in that gap however.
In summary, this hotel is a very good choice when staying in Banff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our favorite place to stay in Banff is the only place we have stayed in Banff! We stayed at the Bow View Lodge for 4 nights while attending the Canada Volksmarch Convention held at the major lodge next door. We liked it so much we extended for an additional night, at an even lower price! Desk staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful. The room was small, but had a refrigerator and table with chairs. Only negatives: no microwave and no complimentary breakfast. Restaurants, as well as a Tim Horton's donut shop, are available within about 2-3 blocks. Lodge next door also had a restaurant but we did not try it. Best thing about the room was the small balcony that opened up to a view of the river beyond a pleasant lawn with a totem pole. Without the river view, the room would not have been so great. Also great was the hotel swimming pool in the adjacent property that we were permitted to use. The water was exceptionally clean and blue...the pool area had a gas fireplace. A steam room was also available. As mentioned, you can easily walk to the downtown with a variety of restaurants. We especially enjoyed the Irish and Indian restaurants, and an icecream place called, the Cow. Free parking was available in a small lot next to the building.

Room Tip: Get a room on the river side. 310 on third floor had lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mfsinmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Our room was a little dated but was clean. Liked having a fridge in the room and table and chairs which enabled us to shop at the supermarket and eat in the room - a nice relaxing change when you've been on the go all day. We had the buffet breakfast at the sister hotel and it was lovely. The highlight was seeing a grizzly bear just a couple of minutes walk from the hotel by the riverside path

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruttle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Two day visit (fourth visit in last three year.) Everything was good, as expected. Front desk service is unusually competent and friendly. Location is within two blocks of downtown Banff, which eliminates the need to drive and find a parking spot when you go out on the town. Excellent value for money - quiet, beautiful views, handy. We will certainly use this hotel again!

Room Tip: Book a river view room - it might cost a little more, but the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rflleisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This hotel was slightly dated but very clean :-) Very friendly staff, and lake across the street was nice too.We saw Elk at the lake from our big window. Enjoyed our stay very much :-)Parking was free and wifi was offered to us for free too

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoutheastOntarioDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,015 reviews
1.2 mi away
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
869 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,190 reviews
1 mi away
Inns Of Banff
Inns Of Banff
#31 of 33 in Banff
1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £47 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing