We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Bow View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bow View Lodge
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Zeeland, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed one night in July and our room was clean and comfortable. The price was manageable considering how expensive lodging is in Banff. The staff was helpful and we especially enjoyed the location just a couple blocks from the main street but in a quiet spot on the river.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AZB12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    314
    197
    47
    14
See reviews for
174
364
49
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Banff accommodation was really costly when I was trying to book a room for a night in July. I came across this hotel, and the rates and reviews were pleasant. I booked a family room and it was lovely. Perfect for 1 night stay, location was excellent, right in town and you can walk everywhere. Check in and check out was great, staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller_vicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Valley, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We booked this hotel because of the price and requested the slight upgrade to a river view room. What we found upon arrival was a generous size room with a balcony and a quiet, pleasant view of the river. The staff was helpful and welcoming. Room was clean and very comfortable. And the price was great. And only a 1-3 block walk to great restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
414 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

All in all a good place. Great location, close to everything. This place was surprisingly quiet! The property and rooms are perhaps a bit outdated, but it's clean and cozy. Our room had 2 double beds, mini fridge, coffee maker w/ local coffee packet from Evelyn's (local coffee joint). Clean hot shower. This place has everything you need. Free Surface parking and you have access to heated underground parking at the adjacent sister property. Also, the front desk staff are all very nice.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank fancytravelreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Beautifully located by the river, room was on the ground floor - small with no balcony - but compensated by the view of the river. Though i would have felt the need for more space/fresh air if i had stayed much longer. The staff are great - responsive and remember previous communications/arrangements which I've noticed never goes smoothly at most other places. Just a couple of minutes from restaurants and stores.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mys_terry78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Booked this online and did not disappoint . Was offered the upgrade at no charge and was blown away by the room and the view with it. Very helpful staff, lots of restaurants, within minutes, and what can you say about the scenery. Just ...WOW!.. I would not hesitate to come back here again.

Room Tip: Take the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fredrick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

The Bow View Lodge is situated in a corner of Banff, next to the river. It’s location is the major plus as it’s quiet at night but still close enough to Banff Avenue to join the crowd in just a couple of minutes. The hotel is easily reachable from the highway and parking is free of charge which is also a big advantage.
Compared with the outside look of the hotel, the inside is a bit disappointing. It could use a make-over. Rooms are spacious and equipped with everything you would need. There’s a balcony to sit on but as said, the overall look of the room is a little bit outdated.
And during such a renovation, I would move the reception to a more central place in the hotel. It’s now a bit ‘of the beaten track’, just next to the entrance. Nevertheless, staff is very helpful and friendly.
It’s a pity you cannot have breakfast in the hotel. Many places in Banff do fill in that gap however.
In summary, this hotel is a very good choice when staying in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christof V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,218 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#21 of 33 in Banff
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,118 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#18 of 33 in Banff
409 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow View Lodge

Property: Bow View Lodge
Address: 228 Bow Avenue | Box 339, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A5, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bow View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow View Hotel Banff
Bow View Banff
Bow View Lodge Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing