We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had the best experience at this hotel. Their reservation manager was wonderful and could not have been more patient and helpful.
The rooms are clean and the amanities are nice.
The pool area is attractive
I would highly recommended this venue and we will be back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    305
    163
    60
    46
See reviews for
217
382
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Cedar Court was the only hotel we could find along Banff Ave that is self-catering. And what a choice. The hotel was quiet, well equipped and convenient for the ski bus. We found the staff more than helpful and friendly. They are superb. The complimentary breakfast was continental style but varied and eat as much as you like. There is coffee on all day in the foyer but there is a coffee machine in the room as well. Cedar Court is moderately priced but worth every penny. The kitchenette suited our self-catering needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Try the third floor kitchenettes at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We checked in at the Charlton around 6pm on Friday and we were greeted by a very nice concierge who checked us in quickly and told us all the info we needed to know about the hotel. The room (we stayed in a loft suite) was very nice, clean and spacious. The pool was clean as well and the hours were really good (7am-11pm). Everyone at the hotel was friendly and helpful and the hotel is located about a 10minute walk from downtown. Breakfast was decent every morning, not a huge variety but it included cereal and toast. The Parking lot is a bit tight but it's covered and wraps underneith all the rooms. Overall my stay was great and I would recommend the charlton to anyone!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlandraG19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank-you for posting your comments. We hope we will see you again when you return to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I decided to stay here on our way home from my mothers funeral so I could decompress. The location is nice and the check-in process we easy and friendly. That is where the good stopped.

We went out for dinner and returned to relax for the night and the couple in the room next to ours decided to have an all night fight with screaming and throwing things. We call the front desk but this did not seem to have any effect on the couple as they never stopped. We had planned on staying in Banff for the few hours the next day before returning to Vancouver but was so upset we just left.

When I checked out no one even bothered to ask me how my stay was.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

I decided to stay in a loft which was perfect for anyone who needs/wants to stay in Banff for any reason. It was quite cold on the bottom floor all night near the door to outside but heat rises and the loft was cozy. It reminded me of our old family cottage as kids. Everything was in walking distance and the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The pool/whirlpool/steam room were awesome after being outside in the cold all day, its was perfect. I can't wait for my next business trip!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank heajher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

pleasant staff, clean, nice amenities, would stay again. wouldn't stay in loft again as I didn't like the stairs to the room, or having the bathroom on the lower floor. took a bit to get the heater/cooler working and the light on it to stop flashing, all was good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonvrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I had read some bad reviews of this hotel but wanted to decide for myself - bad idea! The customer service was ridiculous. As we were trying to decifer why our full stay was charged to our visa night one with out permission (we were planning on paying debit), another lady was attempting to check-in to her room which she booked through expedia. She had her confirmation number as well as the expedia rep on the phone and the hotel still couldn't figure out what went wrong. After I explained that we wanted to pay for our hotel with debit and needed the charges reveresed on the Visa(minus the safety deposit of course), the attendant was extremely rude and called us liers, he wouldn't help us at all. To top it all off there was dead bugs in the lamps in the rooms and on the ceiling as well as a poorly cleaned carpet that had no floor mat for wet shoes. This was the one time we ventured away from our faithful hotel (Rundlestone - best ever) because there were no vacancies as we planned our vacation spur of the moment. What a dissapointment. Will never book nor recommend that hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Of course your comments are a cause of concern to us.

It is routine when you check in for us to require a "pre-authorization" on a credit card for the room charges and a incidental expenses that may occur. This is standard practice for most hotels. Often the credit card company will say that it is a "charge" on your card rather than seeing it as an authorization. At check out, we can accept a debit card for payment but the authorization on the credit card does not clear for several business days. I am sorry that this process was unclear as we could have secured a cash deposit at check in and refunded it to you upon your departure. We have worked with our Front Desk Agents to have them explain the procedure at check in.

I realize that this is not going to turn around the bad experience you had. I do hope it helps clarify what happens during the check in process for our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,088 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotelopia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing