We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heath Hazard”
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Heath Hazard”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

As far as cleanliness goes it's great... Until you realize that there's no bags in the garbage cans. I'm a woman, so I was throwing my used feminine products in cans with no bag. This is unsanitary. Yes, I could have asked for bags, but 3 out of 3 cans had no bag, if it was practice for them to use them, they would. Protect your staff better - HIV, AIDS, hepatitis A,B, and C to name a few. Blood is a biohazards material, how dirty are those cans? Won't be back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Katrina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear Katrina;

I hope overall you had a great stay at Charlton's and a great visit to Banff. I believe you have made a valid point for all who read our reviews. I have worked at a number of hotels that do not line their garbage cans with a bag and some that do, so there is not one absolute way to deal with this situation in our industry. Our choice to not have the plastic bags is in an effort to reduce the waste that is created at our hotel. I appreciate your concern for our employees and I assure you they are trained to make health and safety a number one priority in doing their job. They are provided with gloves to perform their work. They are trained in how to deal with "biohazard" such as blood and used needles and are empowered to refuse any task if they feel we are asking them to compromise their safety.

Thank-you for your concern.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    316
    167
    62
    47
See reviews for
224
397
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
April 22 2014
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Have experienced on more then one ocation staff members arguing with guessed. Also for the price you should be treated better and as a returning guessed I tried to make a reservation one time and rooms where booked for one year in advance this I find hard to believe I think next time my family and I go to Banff we will stay at a camp ground site. Rates are better and parking for Handi Cap people always available and also if you have bikes, Ski"s,, Snow Boards ECT ...... There is NO place to store this equipment at this Hotel. Thanks very much for your time we Love very much but still over priced!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cher12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a 2 week skiing trip and I was delighted with our choice. Adam, on the front desk was excellent at providing us with valuable information about sightseeing and was very happy to help make reservations at restaurants etc. He also had a lovely way with our small children who adored him. Gloria, who assisted with breakfast was so gentle and kind. This hotel is not plush or chic and does not have a restaurant or bar, but it makes up in its warmth and friendliness and is ideal for families who want to relax. The location is excellent for the shuttle service to the ski resorts and downtown Banff centre. The two room suite we requested had plenty of room and the kitchen/ diner was sufficient to allow us to cook, when required. The pool, hot tub and steam were great for relaxing after a hard days skiing and provided a good opportunity to meet other children/ families. We will think of the staff at this hotel as friends and be sure to return. Thank you for your excellent service, you deserve to be rated a 5 for customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DivineFood2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I was a little weary of booking this hotel, but Easter weekend didn't leave me with many options.
Our room was better than i expected. It was a fireplace loft with a cute spiral staircase.
In the photos there weren't any pictures of TV's, so we brought our laptop just in case.
There were TV's thank goodness, they even had an HDMI cable that we hooked the laptop up and watched some movies because there was noting on the selected channels. Everything seemed very clean, we didn't get a chance to go to the pool/hot tub/sauna, they looked a bit busy.
Front desk staff were very helpful and efficient, only one negative, we had asked for a late checkout the night before and i guess that it wasn't relayed to the morning staff and we had a bit of a rude awakening with the very loud phone. Other than that one thing everything was nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Savana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We arrived here on our third day of our Rockies tour and my wife's suitcase still hasn't arrived. The staff chased up the missing luggage with the airline and kept us up to date with what was happening. Amazing service! The pool and jacuzzi are a great facility and the loft suite was a nice touch. 10 minute walk to centre of Banff but free parking is widely available if you have to drive. Breakfast was continental in style with self service but was sufficient. Good wifi and free hotel parking are a nice bonus. We would definitely recommend Charltons Cedar Court to friends.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OliverS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We had the best experience at this hotel. Their reservation manager was wonderful and could not have been more patient and helpful.
The rooms are clean and the amanities are nice.
The pool area is attractive
I would highly recommended this venue and we will be back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Cedar Court was the only hotel we could find along Banff Ave that is self-catering. And what a choice. The hotel was quiet, well equipped and convenient for the ski bus. We found the staff more than helpful and friendly. They are superb. The complimentary breakfast was continental style but varied and eat as much as you like. There is coffee on all day in the foyer but there is a coffee machine in the room as well. Cedar Court is moderately priced but worth every penny. The kitchenette suited our self-catering needs perfectly.

Room Tip: Try the third floor kitchenettes at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 33 in Banff
796 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#13 of 33 in Banff
1,214 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing