We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay with warm and friendly staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay with warm and friendly staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Couldn't ask for a better place to stay for our first time in Banff. Great bunch of folks who welcomed us with gracious hospitality and helpfulness. Both Harley and Rosalie at the front desk were wonderful! However, the shining star is Ms. Gloria who greeted us every morning at breakfast with her sunshine smile, good coffee and food and all kinds of local information about visiting Banff. My husband and I miss her already! Breakfast is good with waffles, yogurt, juice and other goodies. Our room was really clean and quiet since the hotel is not directly downtown but only a beautiful ten minute walk to the center. My only complaint were the bed sheets need to have some softener added to them and this is a minor detail but could help anyone with sensitive skin.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the mountains if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rirun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    303
    163
    59
    46
See reviews for
216
382
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

The staff is friendly and accommodating and the room was clean and quiet. It was a perfect home base for our week long Mother-daughter hiking trip. We stayed here for the second time in two years.The only improvement I could suggest would be a little more variety in the included breakfast, The eggs are hard boiled and therefore cold but the pastries were great. We hope to return another year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainjudy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were very pleased to upgrade to Charlton's and had a wonderful stay in a gorgeous loft suite. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We have absolutely no complaints in regard to our stay. The king-bed was incredibly comfortable and the room was spotless. However, it wasn't until after we checked out that we ran into some complications.

Despite having paid in full upon check-in, we were not informed that the pre-authorisation for the ENTIRETY of our booking would not be "unfrozen" until check-out. Had we been advised of this we could have planned accordingly. Instead, we were left to assume that it had been removed upon check-in.

A tip for future travellers: Rather than the hotel having upwards of $1,000 on your credit card to play with, I would recommend that you wait until check-out to pay.

Despite this inconvenient hiccup, our stay was wonderful and I would still recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The loft suites are a great pick and prices are very reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tilly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay! Indeed we hold an authorization on your credit card at check in. This does not actually get released for 5-10 business days (depending on the country and the bank) after your departure. While this is usual hotel policy (every hotel I have worked at does this) it can be tough on those travelling to multiple locations. We will try harder to communicate this at check in to our guests. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

second year we stayed at Charlton Cedar Court. The front staff very helpful and adam provided names of fantastic restaurants which we ate at. Brad, trainee, very nice too.
The downside this year was we were given the room with the faulty air conditioner which would run during the day intermittent and stop in the evening which meant not so comfortable sleeping conditions.room 231.They were prompt in trying to help fix it but this air conditoner was a monster. An email to the management of delta re this was entirely ignored. The breakfast was fine.

Room Tip: avoid room 231 unless you ask about the air conditioner otherwise its a nice room with a kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank l0ra59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank-you for your comments and for staying at Charltons 2 years in a row. We are sorry for the AC problem that occurred in your room. I just wanted to add a quick note to assure you and future guests that we have fixed our A/C problem in that room. We have also discussed how to better communicate internally when maintenance issues arise to be sure that proper follow up is in place.

Charlton Resorts owns and operates 2 hotels in town, so the "Delta" card you were given was for the GM for both of our hotels. We recently had some major changes in that role. Sorry that it took a while to filter through all the e-mails that came in during the transition. We have since replied to it separately.

I do hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Fantastic front desk, very helpful and friendly. Great breakfast (anyone who complains about it is ridiculous). Clean rooms, nice shower, comfortable bedding. Good pool area, well-kept. Only issue is that if you have loud people next to you, you can hear them through the wall of the upper part of the 2-floor rooms, where your bed is. I had to call the front desk because there was a loud kid running around and yelling and I was trying to sleep and the parents clearly let the kid do anything. Front desk took care of it right away.
About a 12 minute walk to town center which is fine in the summer. In -20c in winter, I would find something closer.

Room Tip: 230 is good because it's a corner so only one room is attached to yours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank-you for your kind words. Our staff are always happy when guests are happy! Thank-you also for your patience with other guests. We are pretty fortunate to have very few issues for which the front desk cannot find a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This hotel was older, but well taken care of and clean. The staff were really great, upon check in they gave us an overview of the area with dining recommendations and things to do along with a map.

The room was very comfortable, a little older and could use an update, but very nice. We had a room that had two bedrooms with a kitchen and bath in between, had everything we needed. Our air conditioner had a problem and the maintenance man was quick to fix it, he wanted an air conditioner person to look at it as well but couldn't reach them so brought us fans in case we needed them. The air worked fine after he fixed it, but it was nice they were so concerned about making us comfortable.

The pool and hottub were very nice after a long day of hiking.

It was a little further from the restaurants than some of the hotels, but only by 5 minutes (walking) and was a nice walk to the shops and restaurants.

It was so nice to have breakfast included. I hate wasting time going to a restaurant, ordering from a menu, waiting for food, then check at breakfast time. I want to get going to see things, so it was nice to have a litte buffet included. It was a bit busy, but the breakfast ladies were very nice and did a great job taking care of the area. They had some muffins, pastries, frozen waffles, toast, fruit, cereal, juices, coffee and I know I'm forgetting a couple things, but plenty for most anyone to find something.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjinazPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Nothing really bad to say about it EXCEPT the breakfast sucked! But other than that it was very pleasant, clean and spacious. We stayed in a loft with the spiral staircase. My bf and I both found it charming.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Briseis2050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffManagement, Manager at Charlton's Banff, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thanks for letting us know about your stay. We are always looking for ways to improve...your feedback about the breakfast has been taken into our consideration for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
1.2 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotelopia, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing