We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Charlton's Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Charlton's Banff
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Campbellton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 29 November 2010

We were 4 travelers. We originaly had booked a 1 bedroom with a pull out sofa but realized it was very small. We went to the front desk and had it upgraded to a 2 bedroom with no problem and not for to much $. The 2 bedroom was SO MUCH bigger! The 2 rroms were at each end so we could not hear the noise in the other room. The room had only one tv in one room though. It had a little fridge, stove, any kitchen appliances you could need. Staff very friendly. Great location!!! We relaxed in the pool in the evening. Free parking. Great hotel, I recommend!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juju111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    310
    164
    60
    46
See reviews for
220
387
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

We had a room with a kitchenette. The dishes and cutlery were underneath the countertops. Unfortunately our 14 month old toddler had full access to breakable glassware and sharp knives, so this room is not suitable for a small child. We had to change rooms the night we arrived as there was no heat in the one bedroom area. Only one TV, which was awkwardly placed in the room, and did not allow everyone to watch TV comfortably. Two TVs would have been better with the bedroom layout. The breakfast was great. The beds were comfy. The walls were thin. I would stay again, but not with a small child.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeadStart4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

Our loft room was very cute and clean, but there had to have been a 20 degree difference between the main floor and the loft where the bed was. In order to make one level acceptable, the other was either too hot to sleep, or too cold to occupy.

The pool and hot tub were clean and nice, and the staff very pleasant and willing to please.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CinderCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, USA
1 review
Reviewed 9 November 2010

We booked the loft with the gondola package. The staff was wonderful, but we were disappointed in the room - small lower section to the suite, very bland decorating, but the biggest let down was that we had no view of the mountains from either level of the room. The location was RIGHT next door to another hotel. We would recommend, however, the gondola - that was wonderful! The hotel was nice, just not what we expected from the reviews and descriptions on a number of travel sites.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jazz927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

My husband & I reserved to stay at Charlton's Cedar Court from October 22-25. We reserved the 2 story loft suite, which looked just beautiful in the photo. We were looking forward to staying there - and were sorely disappointed by reality.
The lower level of the suite is minuscule and very shabby looking. The bedroom is on the upper level and looked fairly nice BUT the bathroom is downstairs and the stairway is steep and winding - something I wouldn't want to navigate in the middle of the night.
To top it all off the "view" was of the parking lot! We asked if we could move to a room with a mountain view only to be told that rooms are given out on a first come first serve basis.
In other words, the fact that we had a reservation for over 3 weeks was irrelevant; someone with no reservation who arrived earlier in the day would receive a better a room.
Finally - the location is not good unless you want to drive everywhere.

We moved to the Banff Park Lodge, which is centrally located in town - we could see the mountains from our room and the price was the same as at Charltons.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel, unless everything comparable was booked.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Imf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

My wife and I decided to celebrate our 20th anniversary in Banff. On previous trips we had stayed at other properties in Banff of similar quality and price, but had always been disappointed, but not this time. Charlton's Cedar Court did a nice job of making sure our stay was memorable, including a nice surprise of champagne and truffles in our room one afternoon after one of our day trips. Another nice surprise, was that they had begun to offer a free continental breakfast in the mornings--when we booked they weren't doing this.

The only challenges we had, was that we were told that we would have a king sized bed in our room, but when we got there, we found out that there are no king sized beds in their kitchenette suites. Also, you had to pay to use the computer at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRietkerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The only good thing about our stay was most of the staff tried their best to accommodate us.
The fireplace is our loft suite required repair before we could use it. The bathroom tiles were scummy. ALL movie channel services had been disconnected so NO MOVIES! Our housekeeper left a messy bed and a threadbare, raggy robe when we asked for replacements on the second day of our stay. She also only brought 1 replacement when 2 of us were in the room. We asked for replacement robes because the pool / hot tub / steam room shower wasn't working. (which we had to bring to the sstaff attention...? or how many times had they been told before us...?) The shower was "OUT OF ORDER" for our entire 3 night stay.
At checkin, we were given a few 'welcome' envelopes that were supposed to cover the package reservations we had made. 1 night to include the gondola, 1 night to include the hotsprings and 1 night at regular rate. Our bill reflects 3 gondola packages with 2 different charges? I spoke with Amber Oct. 14, 2010 late afternoon to address the billing issue, she said she would have to turn over to the accounting dept and I should hear back from someone on Friday...I HAVEN'T HEARD A WORD FROM THEM YET>
The envelope read:
"It is our pleasure to welcome you to the Charlton's Cedar Court and the beautiful Banff National Park.
Your Hotsprings Package includes Accommodation, Passes to the Banff Upper Hotsprings per registered adult, Accommodation and Passes to the Banff Gondola pre registered adult and A DAILY FULL CANADIAN BREAKFAST PER REGISTERED GUEST AT THE DELTA BANFF ROYAL CANADIAN LODGE.
If the is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable please let us know. We wish you a fun-filled and relaxing stay with us"
I spoke to Lizette regarding this promised Full Canadian Breakfast at the Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge and she said we only get the complimentary muffin & coffee at the Charlton. TOTAL MISREPRESENTAION at the time we reserved our room, from the website & from the staff who handed out the envelopes.
This was our 25th anniversary,
we have stayed at many Delta hotels over the years and this is by far the worst experience I have ever had.
I WILL be sharing my comments with the Delta head office to make sure changes are made!

Sincerely
Louise Johnson

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sqezwez47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,102 reviews
0.1 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,392 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 32 in Banff
1,168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#19 of 32 in Banff
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlton's Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlton's Banff

Property: Charlton's Banff
Address: 513 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B4, Canada (Formerly Charlton's Cedar Court)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Charlton's Banff 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charltons Banff is located 5 blocks from downtown Banff. This 3.5 star resort was created in the classic alpine style with natural cedar, combined with a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere, it makes the Charltons Banff the perfect Rocky Mountain Retreat. Start the day with a complimentary Continental Breakfast. After a busy day of mountain activities relax in the indoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Charlton's Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlton`s Cedar Court Hotel Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Banff
Charltons Cedar Court Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing