We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Rocky Mountain House, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We had a very enjoyable stay in Banff last week. We booked chalet #116 and it was awesome! Very small, but cozy, warm and fun with the deer coming right up to the door. It's not a 4 Star resort and I guess it's all a result of your expectations. The cleanliness of the chalet depends on your level of cleanliness. To me, it was fine (and I am a germ-a-phobe). The corners of the rooms could be a little cleaner, but it didn't bother me. Very small rooms but lots of places to put your things. It is an A-frame so that limits the amount of space. Two twin beds each in separate bedrooms upstairs and a main bedroom downstairs. I won't call it a master-bedroom because you had very little room to walk in there. However small it was, it was tidy, cute and cozy. I could have stayed longer, but that's just me. The rest of our family of 4 agreed. The only downfall is that they open the water-park to the public and even for the guests of the resort, not until 4PM. It was VERY crowded. I would hope that for the amount of money spent to stay, they could give the guests of the resort an earlier time to enjoy it without all of the people. Our kids spent about half an hour and then wanted to leave because of the crowd. All-in-all it was a good stay though. Just don't set your standards too high and you will love it!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sooner1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    409
    162
    69
    39
See reviews for
640
140
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

My family and I have been coming here for a couple of years. When we went in the beginning of December the temperature was -45*C . That didn't matter much. We had all kinds of activities to keep our 4 and 6 year old happy and burning energy all day long. Indoors was the place to be and that is where we stayed but were able to do so very easily here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Kids had fun at the water slides and indoor playground. Free bus passes were convenient. Front staff was friendly
However, does not make up for how dirty and run down the place is. Outlets were loose, thought the lamp was unplugged and when I went to plug it in behind the bed was met by a large amount of nasty filth on the carpet.
Beds are old and uncomfortable. Bedding is also old and tattered and questioned whether the extra blanket had ever been washed.
Pretty sure the mouthwash was diluted soap, so gross.
Carpets are in need of an update.
Dried urine between toilet seat and tank.
Kitchen floor was sticky.
Pool area and change rooms were dirty.
Won't stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RAAT33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Have stayed here previously, however this particular time, the room was outdated.
Mattress and sofa was very old.
Am a fit, healthy 30 something and left with a sore back.
Would NOT recommend or consider going back unless it was remodelled and refurnished top to bottom.
Kitchen was also outdated. No decent cooking utensils.
Dish soap was watered down.
Mouthwash appeared to be a refilled bottle with chunks floating in it...disgusting! Casts further doubt over the cleanliness of this place.
Management insisted on a 3 night minimum over the long weekend with no exceptions. Just horrible!
Much nicer places to stay in banff.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gmawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed November 2013 in a 2 bedroom chalet. Lovely view of Mount Rundle, free parking, quiet chalet. Fireplace was a nice touch. Only one water slide was working and they need to enforce that parents needs to take their shoes off on deck. We ended up trying to avoid the dirt and mud people were tracking.
Overall we would stay again. The staff were quite nice. BUT the hotel NEEDS to update the suites - the wear & tear shows.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mommy_of_Boo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Honestly the front manager was so rude when we asked to speak to her, Almost like she was angry because she had to deal with us. Every other staff member was amazing and tried to do anything you ask.
My child came home the next day with bed bugs. tired to contact the manager again and she wouldn't talk to us.
rooms are extremely dated and way over priced.
water slide staff are a bit lazy, housekeepers and maintenance were nice.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Clair_bear6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

The good news is that Douglas Fir have pet friendly rooms. The bad news the rooms are tired. Main bedroom mattress is terribly uncomfortable tried the fold away wall bed the following night turned out as uncomfortable, the kitchen doesn't have any oven proof glass dishes or salad bowls it has the bare essentials. Also don't count on the free Wi fi we weren't able to connect the entire weekend. For the money you pay I am pretty sure they can afford to upgrade the units.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,027 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 33 in Banff
787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing