We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little family spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Took the kids on a week long trip through Alberta and started with Banff.

Douglas Fir offers a nice locale, comfortable room / suite for our family and the water slides were a huge hit, as was the outside hot tub. Nothing excessive but good value for money. Think the kids would love to go back and waterside again.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

326 - 332 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

Procrastinated making reservations for our one night stay in Banff and found this as one of the few places to accommodate our 5 person family in one room/suite. The rooms were fairly dated, but clean and we slept comfortably. I was a bit concerned about noise while observing some of the younger local crowd arriving with cases of beer, but really didn't hear anything. The second bathroom and loft for the kids were nice. The kids had a lot of fun in the indoor water park. The hotel is on a bus route to town and passes are provided, but we ended up walking into town, which is a bit of a hike, but not too bad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank nkrpctl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We've stayed at the Douglas Fir before, and what we remembered was the same - comfortable, relatively spacious room w/ the best-stocked kitchen anywhere, and away from the insanity that is known as the Banff townsite (we didn't come here to eat out or shop! We came here to hike & explore). Whether or not the furnishings are "dated" is of little importance to us. We just want a quiet place to stay & to be able to do our own meal prep. The kitchen was awesome. Here are some issues:
* We had a mouse.
* Never could figure out a/c
* Employees smoking on ground floor under our window (we like to keep the windows open, especially w/ weird a/c)

Staff did place a mousetrap, but I would have preferred a no-kill option. Mouse never came back; trap never triggered (thankfully).
When asked if there was another room, staff advised us that this was a really good room (it was at the end of the hall!). No offer to help move us to the other room (after unpacking 2 coolers & 3 grocery bags).
When asked how everything was at check-out, I told them about the mouse, & was advised that this is a national park & we're in the forest. No compensation offered. Honestly, we've stayed in nat'l park concessions for over 10 years and have never had a mouse problem. It's not a nat'l park issue, it's a hotel issue. And, isn't killing wildlife in a nat'l park illegal? (upon which I was advised that mice aren't wildlife. I'm sorry, but if they were outside, they would be)
I would like to say that I would stay here again, but unless they resolve the mouse issue, I'm just not sure... Overall, it was a good enough stay, but enough to prompt me to write my first Trip Advisor review.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed there for 3 nights. The facilities are old and somewhat dirty. Housekeeping service was poor. At 5 p.m. both days, the chalet was still not cleaned up and we have to call the reception to request for the housekeeping service. The quality of the service and the chalet condition don't worth for the price paid for.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chess K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Though I've been to Banff many times, this is the first time we've stayed at the Douglas Fir. We had a one bedroom condo with loft suite with the 'make your own breakfast' package (included bacon, eggs, bread, milk, butter - all waiting for us in the fridge at our suite upon our arrival.) The hotel staff were very friendly and polite upon check in and check out; the suite was very spacious (the kids loved the loft with their own tv!) and very clean. Highlight of the hotel was the waterslides and pool! Fantastic facilities and again, very well operated and clean.
The hotel is situated on beautiful Tunnel Mountain surrounded by lush trees and walking paths. I liked the fact that it was not on the main drag - the location of this hotel is so quiet and tranquil. We are already planning our next stay in Banff and it will definately be at the Douglas Fir Resort!

Room Tip: If you have kids old enough that would appreciate their own space, the rooms with the lofts are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Leah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My family has stayed here numerous times since the early 80s. It's a great location, with tons to do if you have kids. We stayed in one of the cabin units, with the loft. They are dated, but clean, except the carpet - our socks were dirty after walking on it. The kitchen was well stocked. The waterslide area has been nicely updated, with the added outdoor hot tub area. The hot tub was nice, but the water wasn't hot and the jets were terrible, with barely any pressure. The indoor pool area could use an reno, especially the hot tub. Overall, still a very nice place to stay if you have kids. For adults, I'd pick somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank olsenne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We've been here a few times. We try to come here every winter with the family. We always rent a cabin and love it. The cabins are a short walk to the pool with slides. They have plenty of complimentary firewood so you're never need to worry about running out or paying.

They are located basically in walking distance to downtown. Slight uphill walk back but the scenery is worth it. Deer and moose are natural sighting, even up to the front door of the cabin. Parking is free. The cabin is well equipped and our family never complains while there.

It truly is a relaxing and wonderful place to stay. Prices are ok. Reserve ahead of time and see if there are deals for renting a cabin because they are more expensive than the usual rooms.

We have absolutely no issues or complaints at all. We love it here and wouldn't consider any other place while staying in Banff. Great staff, good rates, amazing accommodations, makes us loyal travelers.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank CJDFNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £93 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing