We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the best experience we have ever had staying in a hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Without being too excessive our stay was one of the best we have ever experienced. The price was kind of high but the quality was worth the price. They did not have a restaurant in the building which would have made this stay even better. They do have take-out menus that can have the food delivered to your room. Again, this was quite pricey. But in all fairness one of the best places we have ever stayed. We do take a lot of overnight trips so staying in hotels seems to be a part of life.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie91956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, General Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2011

Debbie, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback; we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our goal is to always provide our guests with a quality stay and I’m glad we’ve succeeded! As you mentioned it can be pricey to ‘eat-out’ or ‘order-in’ in Banff, which is why our fully equipped kitchens and range of packages, including the ‘Bed and cook your own breakfast’ package are so popular. They help save you money. Thank you again, and we hope that we can have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

786 - 792 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2011

Our stay in a one bedroom condo for two nights was a pleasant experience except for the fact that we could not use the fireplace. The instructions were followed to the letter only to have ashes and smoke fill our room. Concerned we called the front desk and maintenance responded promptly. He informed us that the instructions to start a fire were incorrect. He made adjustments and left. Shortly after more smoke and ashes. Called front desk and a different person responded. Make further adjustments to the fireplace and left. Our problem continued with the room filling with smoke and ash and called for maintenance once again. By this time, our grand children were upset and frightened so we asked that the fire be put out. This brought our evening activities to a halt.
Your reservation staff were most helpful in watching for the Mount Rundle suite to open up so that we could move. They responded quickly when the suite became available for December 28 and 29. We thoroughly enjoyed these accommodations. We would like to make one suggestion and that is that the pots and pans be upgraded to non-stick.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pop60eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, General Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2011

Thank you so much for your feed-back. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and are very glad that you were able to move into our Mount Rundle Suite – this is one of our most popular rooms. Our wood-burning fireplaces are often a highlight of our rooms here at the Douglas Fir Resort; we genuinely apologize for your unpleasant experience. Please be assured that we will discuss this matter with our Management Team and Staff so this issue does not occur again. Our Management Team is always looking for ways to improve the utensils in the rooms, we appreciate your suggestion. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feed-back, we hope that we see you and your family again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The service was great at reception & housekeeping. All staff extremely knowledgeable, friendly & helpful. Rooms were well equipped, comfy, quiet, immaculate. Bathrooms are fresh & sparkling clean!! Grounds & scenery are spectacular. Will go back anytime and highly recommend this resort to first timers.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wfabing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2010

Thank you so much for your feedback - so glad to know you enjoyed your stay! We will pass along your comments to our staff. Our property is well known for its scenic views and cleanliness. We hope that you have a wonderful New Year and hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Stay here if you have young kids, lots of activities to keep them busy plus you don't have to eat out! All you need to bring is food and you are set. I would even consider staying here if I were not traveling with a family. It was very quiet, even with all the kids and excitement. Front Desk Staff were very welcoming and helpful. My bed was awesome, so comfortable, I slept like an angel. Flat screen TVs in every room with a fireplace makes it a the perfect, cozy hideaway!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nifer94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy that you and your family enjoyed your time with us at the Douglas Fir Resort. I’m glad that we were able to provide you with a cozy bed after an activity filled day. We will pass along your comments to our staff. We hope that you have a wonderful New Year and hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Excellent accomodations, great activities, secluded but close to all amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ademaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2010

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your accommodation and the activities here at the Douglas Fir Resort. We hope to see you all again in the New Year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2010

This was a wonderful place that had the feel of a mountain log cabin. Wood-burning fireplace was great. My wife and I got some food from Safeway, and a home-cooked meal while watching a DVD moive.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2010

We are delighted to hear that you and your wife enjoyed a relaxing vacation here at the Douglas Fir Resort. Our wood-burning fireplaces are great to warm up next to during the winter season. Have a fabulous New Years and we hope to see you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2010

Loved this hotel!!! not one complaint. Perfect for children of all ages. My children are 10, 8 and 2. The playzone was amazing, and the waterslides were great too!!! The staff was extremely kind and caring.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keltilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2010

It is wonderful to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us here at the Douglas Fir Resort. Our indoor waterslides are the largest in the Bow Valley area – definitely great fun for both kids and adults. We hope that you all have a wonderful New Years and that we are able accommodate you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,190 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,511 reviews
0.9 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
1.7 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £93 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing