We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chalets in the Rockies”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Yorkton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Chalets in the Rockies”
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Recently spent a weekend with our son, daughter-in-law and our two granddaughters at the Douglas Fir Resort.
Location: -situated right in the midst of the Canadian Rockies in Banff, Alberta.Scenery was absolutely beautiful.
Condo: -We stayed in a one bedroom (one king bed) condo with a loft (two queen beds) on a "Bed and Cook Your Own Breakfast" promotion.
-The condo waswell equipped for self-catering and came with ingredients for one morning's complimentary breakfast (eggs, bacon,bread,milk,coffee, juice).
-there was a full bathroom on the main floor and a half bath in the loft.
-wood burning fireplace in the living room and fire wood was provided.
-sofa bed capable of sleeping two in living room.
-flat screen tv/dvd player and internet available (no charge).
- we required a playpen and highchair; both provided at no charge.
Cleaning: towels were changed daily and trash was removed. We made the beds.
Resort: -large indoor pool, seperate pool for little children, two waterslides, hot tub, sauna
- play area in a seperate area restricted to children under the age of twelve.
-no on site resraurant which was fine for our family as we purchased groceries with which to make our own lunches and ate dinners in downtown Banff.
-the resort provides a shuttle service that makes frequent trips to downtown but we had our own vehicles so did not use.

Summation: This resort is family oriented and consequently very child friendly.We all had a wonderful weekend there. Also, I have to stress that the entire place is VERY CLEAN.We highly recommend.
Total cost (with taxes) for two nights was $448.81. Good value for price paid.
One final tip: Our GPS was unable to locate the Dougla Fir Resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovinlifecanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, General Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 27 January 2011
It is always memorable when you have three generations travelling together, we are very glad that we were able to accommodate you on this special family vacation. The Douglas Fir Resort takes delight in being able to provide family friendly accommodation– everything from our waterslides to the fully equipped and stocked kitchen is to ensure that you enjoy a relaxing, hassle free holiday. We very much appreciate your comments and hope that we can accommodate you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    409
    162
    69
    39
See reviews for
640
140
7
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2011

4th year in a row, a family tradition. Great fun for the whole family! Recommend it to everyone with kids!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alliejack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, General Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
That is fantastic news – it is so wonderful to hear that we are part of your family’s tradition. I’m sure Banff’s recent snowfall would have only added to your family fun. Thank you for your feed-back, we very much look forward to having you all stay with us again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We treated ourselves and family to 4 days at the Douglas Fir resort as an after Christmas gift.
We were very happy with the cleanliness, as well as the hospitality. We we in the Mt. Rundle suite For the six of us, there was plenty of room, privacy, and the jacuzzi tub is huge.
We will be back.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leahdbarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, General Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 24 January 2011
What a wonderful post-Christmas treat! We are very happy that you were able to stay in our Mt Rundle suite, it’s perfect for larger groups and the Jacuzzi is huge (and a great way to warm up during winter). Here at the Douglas Fir Resort we take great pride in providing a quality housekeeping service and enjoy hearing that it makes a difference to our guests stay. We will pass on your comments to our attentive staff and we very much hope to have you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MT LAWLEY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

This is a terrific place to stay for a winter chalet experience. We paid extra to have our own free standing A frame chalet, fully self contained (number 118). Other rooms appear to be in buildings with common walls and may be smaller, I don't know. The view from our deck was beautiful, looking directly over the woods and not another building in sight. We had deer visit us on our first morning much to our daughters delight.

The kitchen is quite small but well equipped, including a dishwasher. The living area was very comfortable, and we enjoyed having an open fire. The bathroom was quite roomy and very clean (as was the whole chalet).

The real bonus for families with children is having the fabulous indoor water slides and associated heated pools. Free for guests but also used by the paying public. There's also an additional indoor swimmming pool area with spa that we didn't use because we couldn't drag our daughter away from the water slides. For younger children there's also an indoor climbing/play centre. Plus there's an electronic games zone and gymnasium. So lots to do for families once back at the resort after a day of fun outside.

If you don't have a car (we didn't) then the location can seem a bit 'away from the action' but it is actually no problem so don't let this be a deterrent - there's a shuttle bus that stops right outside the resort regularly (every 20 minutes?) and it's free for Douglas Fir Resort guests. It only takes a few minutes to get right into the main street of Banff.

This is a well run establishment and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeckoMtLawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, General Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
We are so happy to hear that you and your family had a pleasurable stay with us. The chalets are very popular and a great way to enjoy a cozy, log cabin atmosphere, while being close to our family-friendly amenities. Our property is also well known for its scenic views and being close to wildlife – it is not uncommon to see a deer or two roaming around The Douglas Fir Resort – which only adds to the Banff experience!

Thank you very much for your feed-back and we hope that we can host you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2011

We've stayed at the Douglas Fir every New Year's for the past seven years, and we know we'll have a good time. The kids love the waterslides, pool and playroom, and the adults love the cozy rooms, fireplaces, stocked kitchenettes, city transit into the heart of Banff, and the relaxed environment.

Thanks, Douglas Fir!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calgary_Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, General Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 17 January 2011
Thank you for your repeat business! It is fantastic to hear such great feed-back and know that we can provide a great New Years vacation for you and your family each year. The Douglas Fir Resort takes pride in being able to offer Banff’s finest family accommodation – including fun activities for the kids and a relaxing, hassle free get away for parents to enjoy.

We look forward to seeing you again this New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Without being too excessive our stay was one of the best we have ever experienced. The price was kind of high but the quality was worth the price. They did not have a restaurant in the building which would have made this stay even better. They do have take-out menus that can have the food delivered to your room. Again, this was quite pricey. But in all fairness one of the best places we have ever stayed. We do take a lot of overnight trips so staying in hotels seems to be a part of life.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbie91956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, General Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 12 January 2011
Debbie, thank you so much for your wonderful feedback; we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Our goal is to always provide our guests with a quality stay and I’m glad we’ve succeeded! As you mentioned it can be pricey to ‘eat-out’ or ‘order-in’ in Banff, which is why our fully equipped kitchens and range of packages, including the ‘Bed and cook your own breakfast’ package are so popular. They help save you money. Thank you again, and we hope that we can have you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Our stay in a one bedroom condo for two nights was a pleasant experience except for the fact that we could not use the fireplace. The instructions were followed to the letter only to have ashes and smoke fill our room. Concerned we called the front desk and maintenance responded promptly. He informed us that the instructions to start a fire were incorrect. He made adjustments and left. Shortly after more smoke and ashes. Called front desk and a different person responded. Make further adjustments to the fireplace and left. Our problem continued with the room filling with smoke and ash and called for maintenance once again. By this time, our grand children were upset and frightened so we asked that the fire be put out. This brought our evening activities to a halt.
Your reservation staff were most helpful in watching for the Mount Rundle suite to open up so that we could move. They responded quickly when the suite became available for December 28 and 29. We thoroughly enjoyed these accommodations. We would like to make one suggestion and that is that the pots and pans be upgraded to non-stick.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pop60eye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffFamilyHotel, General Manager at Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets, responded to this review, 5 January 2011
Thank you so much for your feed-back. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay and are very glad that you were able to move into our Mount Rundle Suite – this is one of our most popular rooms. Our wood-burning fireplaces are often a highlight of our rooms here at the Douglas Fir Resort; we genuinely apologize for your unpleasant experience. Please be assured that we will discuss this matter with our Management Team and Staff so this issue does not occur again. Our Management Team is always looking for ways to improve the utensils in the rooms, we appreciate your suggestion. Thank you again for taking the time to give us your feed-back, we hope that we see you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 33 in Banff
2,029 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,118 reviews
0.5 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 33 in Banff
787 reviews
1.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets

Property: Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets
Address: 525 Tunnel Mountain Drive, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B2, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff’s Finest Family Accommodation, located on peaceful Tunnel Mountain. All units have full kitchen, air-conditioning, fireplace (most are wood-burning) and flat-screen TVs, DVD players and Plug n’Play panels (families can now bring their electronic gaming systems). Amenities include 2 Giant indoor waterslides, swimming pool, kiddie pool,outdoor hot tub, games room, multilevel indoor playzone, saunas, whirlpools, steam room, fitness room, barbecue stations and FREE/UNLIMITED use of the Town of Banff shuttle bus. Freeinternet kiosk, free local calls and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets Hotel Banff
Douglas Fir Resort And Chalets
Douglas Fir Hotel Chalets
Douglas Fir Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing