We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff. Clean, comfortable rooms”
Review of High Country Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
High Country Inn
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This place was very interesting, a bit of a hodge podge, and clearly very popular with the tour groups. But it was clean, comfortable and the air conditioning worked. What more could you ask? Additionally the front desk staff was friendly and helpful, and right on with their restaurant recommendations. It was centrally located within easy walking distance to shopping too. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank scubagirlkelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

291 - 297 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014

Banff is an expensive place to stay however this hotel was reasonably priced . The room was clean , fittings and fixtures look quite new. Beds very comfy.very central. Didn't make use of pool. Reception staff friendly. Breakfast came included and offered enough choice. Close to downtown. Would use it again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jenny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Clean, friendly, operable windows, balcanys and great location. It isn't exactly quiet but who expects quiet in a town that caters to people who love to play in the out of doors? Everything in Banff is expensive as is this hotel - but it is worth it.

Room Tip: More noisy on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank JiggsHelenaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

We booked two nights in this hotel. The room was updated and clean. The only problem was the air conditioner. It was loud and dripped water and didn't cool. We called the desk and the man on duty agreed that it didn't work but could do nothing since the hotel was booked. He agreed to move us for the next night and gave us a 10% discount which didn't seem very fair considering sleep was difficult. Window units need to be checked and cleaned, especially when charging $200+/nite. Our second night was better in the room next door and the hotel moved all our luggage.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank pjsharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

First off, if you want to stay in Banff, you're going to have to pay for it. I think a lot less people would be upset review-wise if they realized Banff is a spendy tourist locale. Anyways, the High Country Inn is an older but very well maintained Hotel. The rooms were modernized and nice, new air conditioner that we ran constantly, and a cute little balcony for people watching and late night drinks/morning coffee. The deluxe continental breakfast was very good- waffles, french toast, bagels, cereal, hard boiled eggs and fruit--- and included. I love places with free breakfast. The location is right on Banff Ave... Banff's 'Strip' to downtown, everywhere is walkable, which is great, because driving (or parking, rather) in Banff is terrible.
Although we only stayed the one night, I would for sure give the High Country Inn another go. Great stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Ashley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Hi Ashley

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay over the summer. We love taking care of our repeat guests so if you are coming to Banff over the winter please ask to speak to the Front Office Manager when making your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Although it is rather pricy, staff is helpfull, good continental breakfast included, location is an easy walk to downtown. Bed was comfortable, room was clean. Not much else you can ask for a hotel room in a resort town.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Charles Stewart W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Location is convenient. Air conditioners were filthy and plugged. Ended up leaving @ 4am because both my child and I were so stuffed up do to the horrible dirt, dust, and circulation in both the room and "hotel" not to mention the broken Murphy bed , they should be embarrassed they took our $239 for the night. After the 2 hour drive home we could breathe again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High_Country_Inn, Front Office Manager at High Country Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2014

Hi Jeff

I'm sorry to hear of the problems you had whilst staying with us. I can imagine it would be a very difficult decision to move you and your child at 4 AM in the morning. I would like the chance to provide you with a more enjoyable experience at our hotel. Please contact the front office manager directly and a good value stay can be arranged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
847 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Country Inn

Address: 419 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £67 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — High Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Found within the mountain town of Banff, sitting alongside the majestic Rocky Mountains is the High Country Inn, where leisure and comfort is of the utmost importance. From relaxing in our pool, hot tub, or traditional dry cedar sauna to dining at Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, guests staying at the High Country Inn will find an array of luxurious and family-friendly lodging amenities designed to help make their stay exceptional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your High Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Country Hotel Banff
High Country Banff
Country Inn Banff
Banff Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing