We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security issue”
Review of Inns Of Banff

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Inns Of Banff
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Big security issue here! Our room was really warm and could not be controlled with the thermostat so we opened our balcony door slightly overnight. We were on the 4th floor. Someone from one of the rooms beside us easily climbed over the barrier between the rooms and stole items we had on our balcony. Huge personal security issue as the 4th floor balconies can easily be accessed. We were fortunate that they didn't try to get into our room while we we sleeping. We reported this to the front desk but were never contacted by the manager until we took the initiative to find him at the front desk. We suggested that this establishment put up a higher barrier between rooms and warn guests about this vulnerability at this location.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank vicharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

We believe the large balconies; many with spectacular mountain views are a great asset to the hotel and add to the guest experience. Although it is possible for guests to jump from one balcony to another in certain rooms, actual occurrences of this kind of horseplay are very remote. Banff in general and the Inns of Banff specifically are very safe environments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,201)
There are newer reviews for Inns Of Banff
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,201 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed in Banff Friday - Monday for a ladies fitness retreat with some friends. The rooms are older but maintained. The price was fairly average for this "condo" and was no exceptional deal in the off-season. It was described as three-bedroom condo but was in fact a two-bedroom, 3-bed condo. Two of the bedrooms were adjoined with no door in between so our purpose of have our own privacy and keeping the snorer to herself was left unaccomplished. That was disappointing.

We knew we were in a bit of trouble when we were hauling in our luggage and the condos on either side of us were filled with young guys who were hauling in their booze. We were the furthest away from the lobby so they were in the most ideal spot for partying! Friday
night involved us listening to our neighbors partying and fighting until 5am and us making a couple calls to attempt at shutting it down. We spoke with the manager the next morning and he was very hospitable and understanding and stated that the partiers would be evicted if this were to happen again. I was most impressed with how he handled the matter.
Unfortunately, we found out that it doesn't take much for one to be kept awake at this property. The partiers took themselves to the bar and acted appropriate Saturday but even their return at 2:15am was easily noted and them just chatting at their kitchen table could be heard along with the movement of their chairs. Clearly not their fault for that night...just poor sound-proofing.

We were later advised by others that this is typically a young guys hotel - not sure if that is accurate but it seemed to be for us that weekend.

The outdoor hot pool is a plus! The beds are comfortable. The two bathrooms are handy. We never did use the kitchen as we planned to help compensate for the cost of $350ish per night. The location isn't the most convenient being a bit farther from downtown however there is apparently a complimentary bus you can utilize. Climbing the hill to the back of the property added an element of fitness for us! :-) Upon leaving, we were checking under beds to ensure we had all of our belongings and were a bit disappointed to find the beer cans under the beds...eeek. (We never drank beer!)

It is not the worst place I've ever stayed and the staff were definitely great. I personally won't plan to return when I factor cost, location and the noise.

Room Tip: I think I would ask to be close to the lobby! Perhaps even ask to be on a top floor so no one is un...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adventure01_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in at this hotel on a Sunday night. It was very quiet in Banff in general because it is off season. The hotel is older but definitely good prices the bedding has been updated but there is no duvet cover it is just between 2 regular sheets. The rooms need to be cleaned better and also needed some updating. Like new paint and carpet. Our first room smelled like cigarettes but when I told the staff they were happy to move us.


We were in room 418 which was in the main building, or building A. The balcony faced the main road in to Banff, it was a nice view, but could have been more private for a couple if the room was higher up or in a different building. There was also a door with a loud fan noise behind it, maybe a service room. I didn't mind the noise because I like to sleep with a fan on. Another strange thing was the bathroom did not have a ceiling fan in it.

We has two queen beds in our room. The first beds sheets were stained. We simply switched the sheets and they were fine. The beds were relatively comfy good enough for a one or two night stay.

The outdoor hot tub is the best part of this hotel. It is in building be on the far end. Its have great views of the mountains and is good in size, and the water is hot. The outdoor hot tub is open from 10 a.m. To 10 p.m. They also have an indoor hot tub and pool but we did not go there.

All in all if you are not going to spend very much time in your room and are looking for the best hot tub for a awesome price, inns of Banff is a great choice.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Keltie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have stayed before at the Swiss village building at Inns of Banff (it is a long two-story building right of the Japanese restaurant, when one is facing the hotel form the street). Those rooms are tiny, with double beds.

This time we got a superior room and they are big, with comfortable beds. The room has 2 sinks, which is handy when one uses the bathroom. There is also a coffee machine, kettle, very small fridge (probably about a little bit above 1 cubic foot space, good for storage of food for 1, max 2 days), and a big TV.

What I like most about Inns of Banff is their huge outdoor pools. They have an indoor one too, which is close to the Lobby, but it smells a lot like chlorine and is small, without the beautiful views of the mountains around Banff, which the outdoor ones have. There is also a small pool in the room with the indoor hot pool. There are two saunas (male and female) in the respective locker rooms. One needs to turn them on, 10 minutes before they plan to use them.

Customer service is excellent, whenever we needed something, they would deliver it in a very short time. An elevator stopped working in the evening and it was fixed before we had to use it in the morning!

Probably the only relatively bad thing about this hotel is its location. It is further away from the center of the town. If it is minus 30 degrees C it would be impractical to go by foot to the centre of Banff for shopping, dining, etc.)

Room Tip: Superior rooms are spacious and comfortable.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank northern_prairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I booked this 3 bed apartment with all the snowboarding extras for my son and his friend with Inghams Holidays. I'm 55 they were 19 it's Christmas 2013. Spent £6000 and something, then read Trip Advisor reports. Panicked!!! This place is perfect. The hotel layout is quirkey but there is always staff to point in the right direction. I'm 55 wish I could have joined in to go to hot tub. D'on't know about the rest of the rooms but the staff were brillent at looking after our appt. Just think about you go out for ur first coffee or cig and the whole wildlife are there. This hotel has been screwed up by trip advisor reports I would like to say go to it and enjoy. hOTEL staff brillent. Thanks Inns of Banff for a great Christmas

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hargreave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inns_of_Banff_GM, General Manager at Inns Of Banff, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for the fantastic review. We agree, our staff are the best !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Even though this place seems to get mixed reviews we stayed here because a friend had recommended it. Based on the reviews we weren't sure what we were going to find. Once we arrived the service was great. We got the mountain view room and the room was fine. It was nice and clean with plenty of room for the kids. The kids liked the outdoor pool a lot. The food at the restaurants was good and priced right. We didn't hear any noise at night. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for good value for a family.

Room Tip: We got the mountain view room. It was only a little bit more money, the view is very nice, the room...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgdufour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

After reading mixed reviews I was uneasy about staying at this hotel. The boyfriend booked a ski and stay package through travelzoo.com which I absolutely recommend! The ski bus was included in price......great pirk - tri lift ticket for the hill - picked up in front of hotel - many choice of pick up times.The parking was stupid crazy at Sunshine and Lake Louise. Very happy to be dropped off and picked up at the front door.
Inns of Banff Hotel:
1. Reception was quick and had very friendly staff. Very large Hotel with many stairs. Covered and underground parking was nice.
2. Superior Room building B (limited view) was big - clean but a little warm. Had to open sliding door for air.
3, Beds and pillows were firm. Feather duvets and the large samsung t.v were a nice touch
4. Fridge came in handy for drinks.
5. Next door to us was a party room from mid afternoon till 3:00 am and we had NO problem sleeping. To our surprise......we couldn't hear a thing.....well very faintly!
6. Hallways were a bit noisy with creaking doors and the thumping of people walking but to be expected in an older hotel.
7. Roof top hot tub was clean and a nice touch after a day on the hill. Staff said NO drinks and I fully understand as there were many partiers in this Hotel. We brought in a drink in a plastic cup with no issues.
8. Restaurant ......Had buffet only once......don't recommend (very bland and was barely warm)
9. Basement Pub......drinks were reasonably priced. Nice staff and cozy. Children are allowed in room.
10. A bit of a walk to the downtown area as this hotel is on the outskirts of Banff but there are free roaming passes (bus) and schedules include with your stay shall you not want to drive.

Room Tip: Ask for a reno'd room in building "B" if you want to use the outdoor hot tub. "...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rylea1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,184 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 33 in Banff
2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.7 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 33 in Banff
1,128 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Carpet Inn
Red Carpet Inn
#28 of 33 in Banff
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inns Of Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inns Of Banff

Address: 600 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £57 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inns Of Banff 2.5*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Banff Avenue the Inns of Banff has some of the best views in all of Banff. With 244 rooms this 3.5 star hotel has it all - ski rentals, award winning Wildfire Grill, Bears Den Lounge, both an indoor pool and jetted hot tub, heated underground parking, Japanese restaurant Miki, Gift shop, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Inns Of Banff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inns Of Banff Hotel Banff
Inns Banff
Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing