We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Nice hotel near the visitor's center and downtown. Restaurants, shops all within walking distance. Near the White Museum and the Buffalo Museum as well.

Nice, adquate room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Goavidtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    407
    253
    118
    59
See reviews for
208
515
64
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This hotel has a very good location and it's within walking distance of several trails, shops, restaurants and attractions. The rooms were clean and there's a restaurant on site.

I don't know why this bothered me, but almost all of the items in the rooms had chips or paint missing. The bathroom door has several chip spots and it looked like it could have used a re-painting. The desk, table and TV stand were all chipped. This wasn't a big deal but I do enjoy the site of a room that looks put together and not thrown together. I would certainly stay there again, though.

All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygalSTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I would have to agree with you, our location is very convenient indeed, seconds away from all that Banff has to offer. I do appreciate your comments regarding the state of the furniture in your room. You will be happy to know that we have rooms renovation schedule to start in the fall. I hope that you will come back and experience our rejuvenated product.

Once again, thank-you for your comments.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

This is a great hotel lovely rooms with all the usual amenities. What makes this so great is its location right on the main street ( don't worry about noise there isn't any or very little) You can park your hire car in their car park and go off for the day as everthing is within easy access. If you get a chance book it and stay you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: If you get a room onto the main street you can se the sun rise over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Some may remember the Mount Royal as the old Cascades Hotel. It's really an assemblage of several properties and I suspect that rooms throughout the hotel are not alike. The hotel is in the heart of Banff. Among other things it is a 10-15 minute walk to the Banff Centre conference facility so you can enjoy Banff and attend a meeting. The hotel appears to cater to bus tours so there are brief times when things are quire busy. The staff are very pleasant and accommodating. The hotel represents good value for Banff.

The rooms (including the beds) are very comfortable and have the usual amenities. There is a desk and free wireless service for those who must work. The decor could be considered "tired" and the hallways in particular are gloomy.

One of the unfortunate tendencies of current-day Banff is that it is overrun with chain restaurants and the Mount Royal contributes to this. There is a buffet breakfast for those in a hurry but no morning menu service. Food is not one of the hotels strengths.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaskatoonWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to read that you had a good experience while staying with us. You know what they say, location, location, location. We are indeed the best placed hotel in town, seconds away from all the shops and restaurants. You will be happy to know that our guest rooms will undergo renovations in the fall. I hope that you will come back and have a look at it.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback, we do take them to heart.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I will let you know out of the gate this "excellent'" is based truly and utterly on the front desk and their employee, Brian. My wife and I had just gotten off the Rocky Mountaineer BUS, I repeat, BUS--it was suppose to be a train, but alas, it wasn't--and still ticked from that experience we walk into the Mount Royal and conveyed our displeasure to Brian at the front desk, who took less than a second to upgrade us to their Presidential Suite. Less than a second! That is customer service and as far as I'm concerned, reason enough to rate almost anywhere or anything 5 stars. Well done Brian, you represent your company well. They are lucky to have you and so were we.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank b d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I’m sure that it was very disappointing for you to learn that you would have to go on the bus instead of the train as you were expecting. I will pass on your nice comments to all of our front-desk team. I know from personal experience that a little gesture like this goes a long way. I hope that the rest of your trip goes according to plan.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback and we hope to see you again.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel in Banff is a little bit of history! It dates back to 1908! It has different sections, rooms and suites, all very well maintained! The rooms are very clean, and the beds are comfortable! The suites in the hotel are very quaint and so nice! I would highly recommend them! Be sure to ask the staff at the front desk for anything you need. They will go out of their way to accommodate you. The hotel is on the main street and is great to walk around from. It has easy access to all the unique shops and eateries offered in Banff. It’s an excellent stay! All you have to do is: Relax! ☺

Room Tip: Book your room online for great pricing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ladywp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your comments regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very happy to read that you’ve had such a great experience while you were staying with us. I would have to agree with you, their sure is a lot of history here, we are in fact the second oldest hotel in Banff and proud of it. I’m glad to see that you’ve enjoy our new mattresses. We recently updated all of our beds for your comfort.

Once again, thank-you for your feedback.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

We turned up at the Mount Royal Hotel furious after having a terrible experience on the Rocky Mountaineer Train (we didn't get to take the train and were shoved on buses for the lovely sum of $1800 - still mad about it).
Thank God for this hotels front desk manager. We told Brian our sad story and he said that he would make our stay in Canada better by upgrading us. It was such a nice surprise and really did cheer us up. Thanks Brian!!! The hotel was fantastically located right in the center of town and our room was lovely.

Room Tip: We had the presidential suite which had a lovely fire place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tempdono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank-you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your most recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel.

I was very pleased to see that my front-desk staff went out of their way to ensure that you had a memorable stay under the circumstances. I will pass on your nice comments to Brain myself.
I do hope that the rest of your trip goes without a hitch.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we do hope to see you again.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#16 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#17 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing