We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location Location!”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location Location Location!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed at the Mount Royal for two nights. Great location, the beds were comfy the staff was wonderful and the rooms were clean. Not sure how I feel about the other reviews complaining about the "thin walls" but to each their own. Definatley stay here, its affordable, clean, friendly and in a unbelievable location!

Room Tip: Rooms on the actual avenue will be noiser of course, request differently if that will cause an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelsi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    406
    253
    118
    59
See reviews for
208
515
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed one night at Mount Royal Hotel this weekend, using an online coupon. The staff was friendly and the room nicely appointed. I was impressed with the cleanliness. This is not a new hotel, but the beds felt new and the bedding was crisp and clean. The bathroom hadn't been renovated in a while, but was roomy enough.

The only thing that I didn't like was the bathroom lighting - the only light was over the sink which made the shower area quite dark.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andre F, Director Of Operations at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Dear Donna L.

Thank you so much for the very kind comments about our hotel, we strive to meet and exceed our valued guest's expectations!
You will be pleased to know we have begun renovations in March 2013 of all our bathrooms and inproved lighting, low flush toilets, new sinks, faucets and countertops are part of the Refreshing!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Great location in center of town with neat and clean decent size rooms. Ski Bus Shuttle stop right behind hotel. Service not great...front desk staff seems like they feel like they are doing you a favor when you ask a question. Hot tub not working one day during my stay and the key continued to demagnetize. For the price and because of the location would stay here again...just don't come expecting more than the basics in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Executive Coordinator at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Dave961:

Greetings from the Mount Royal Hotel!

While we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our central location and our reasonably priced, clean, decent sized rooms, it is upsetting to hear that you were less than satisfied with other areas of our hotel. I have passed on your comments to the respective departments and, rest assured, they will not be ignored. We aim to constantly improve our service standards and it is with insight such as your own that we achieve this.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Alexandra George
Executive Coordinator
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed 4 nights as part of an Expedia ski package (CAD $950 pp which included hotel, Hertz car rental and Westjet flights from Toronto). Likes: great location in centre of town, convenient parking, comfortable/spacious room and bed. Dislikes: slow/intermittent WiFi, limited dining options, street and corridor noise. Problem with shower was fixed promptly. Hot tub in basement good place to soak. Suggestions: bring earplugs, try to book a room on parking lot side. Nearby dining options include Chaya noodle bar (excellent quality/great value) and Coyote Grill (for a pricier, special night out). Best nearby pub: Elk & Oarsmen. Buy your lift tickets online at Costco.ca (3-days/3-resort pass: $180 + taxes).

Room Tip: Parking lot side, away from elevators is quietest
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel a number of times over the years. Our first visit was actually complete coincidence and now it is the only place we stay in Banff. Our first visit and everyone after has always been great. Our first visit happened because we went to our old usual hotel the Banff Springs and the power happened to be out in Banff. They couldn't help us because they didn't know if they had rooms or not but the Mount Royal Hotel had lights on, a generator powering them and a room for us. We haven't looked back. This most recent visit was with our two grand daughters (8 and 4), they had a room when we walked in, it was clean, freshly renovated and as always very comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful. Ample parking at the back and we always ask for a room on the back - away from the main drag. The hotel is well located right in town so in walking distance to everything. It might be 3 star but it is definitely more than that in our books.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank DAB_LMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The location of the Mount Royal can't really be topped! Right on Banff Avenue, and as one of the stops for the ski bus it means that you don't have to walk anywhere with your skis! Room was very spacious and the bed was comfortable. Didn't have a chance to use the whirlpool, which was down in the basement - but looked ok. There is a Tony Roma's within the hotel and a separate bar/lounge. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for one night over the weekend. The reviews that mention the thin walls are right, but having said that we didn't hear anyone at night or in the morning so we weren't bothered. Very clean and modern room, lovely design. Comfortable beds and the people at the desk were very pleasant and helpful. Free parking and wifi is a bonus. Amazing location, will absolutely stay here next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing