We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if there were a 3.5 rating that's what I'd give it”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
regina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“if there were a 3.5 rating that's what I'd give it”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 days prior and during Good Friday and were a little disappointed. The building is quite old and so the walls and floors are quite thin. We could easily hear the people above us as the floor squeaked, as well anytime anyone walked down the hall it was pretty noticeable. The thermostat didn't work at all so we just had to deal with whatever temperature they threw at us (which was probably 18C? rather cool). And for some reason they didn't use comforter cases, rather wrapped the comforter in two sheets which is kind of gross unless they wash the comforters too. And finally there wasn't hot water in the room until the second day. The staff was very friendly at all times, the jacuzzi and sauna were clean and accessible, the location was unbeatable, the parking - while outdoor - was no problem (this time of year), and the price was very affordable. We've stayed here before in the summer and had a better experience then, I think we'll try a different hotel next time around.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tickleberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    406
    253
    118
    59
See reviews for
208
515
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The room was fairly clean and modern, but as we stayed in the second floor, it was very noisy from the people walking upstairs. We could hear creeking and stumping noise from upstairs. Strongly recommend to pick a top floor room. The best of the hotel is the friendly staff and great location, it is right in downtown.

Room Tip: Must choose the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DKReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear DKReviews,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the loud noises you experienced from the guests staying above you. Should you experience any issues or discomforts please contact the front desk and we will be happy to assist you.

We are however very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our friendly staff and great location.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back should you return to Banff.

Sincerely,

Meaghan Young
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Had a great stay at Mount Royal. The beds were incredible - only criticism is that we found it hard to get out of them to explore banff! Fantastic value for money and in the perfect location right in the centre of town. Would definitely stay again in the future.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paula1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Paula1305

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

It is fantastic to hear that you found such great value in our property and please accept our apologies that you found our beds so comfortable; our intention was not to impede your exploration of the area.

We do also thank you for pointing out our fantastic location in the heart of Banff which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beautiful BC
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The staff here were all exceptionally welcoming and helpful. The room was very clean and the bed quite comfortable. Rate was very reasonable. It is very handy to great restaurants and shopping as well as local bus service. I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Request a room at the "back" off the main street (quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miraclesmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Miraclesmom

Thank you for your very kind words about your recent visit to the Mount Royal Hotel
It is fantastic to know that you found our staff so exceptional during your visit, being among them it is always good to know that we are achieving that which we set out to do and we thank you for these comments and it is also good to hear that you found such great value in our property and you enjoyed our rooms as well.

We hope to welcome you back very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were staying in Banff for one night before going to the Fairmont Lake Louise. This hotel was convenient for that purpose alone. The room was very outdated. And the bathroom was more or less horrible. I wouldn't even take a shower there because it was that bad. Tiles were coming off the floor, the toilet paper was at least 3 or 4 feet from the toilet, you really needed to have Go-go-gadget arms in order to reach it.

Our luggage didn't arrive on our flight and we were awoken at 1am by the bell stand to tell us it had arrived. Lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lksium19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Ikslum19:

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.

We always strive to anticipate our guest's expectations and I am very sorry that we did not meet yours. Most of our rooms have been renovated lately and have a sleek, modern look combined with the older character of the downtown building. We have also extensively refurbished our bathrooms. The issues that you experienced are not common and I apologize that you experienced them. We will certainly address the issues you found with great speed and thank you once more for your vaulable feedback.

Sincerely,

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We booked two rooms last year when visiting and showing some friends from overseas around. I've been to a lot of hotels in Banff around the same price range as this one and they all seem to be very outdated, however the Mount Royal hotel rooms are very modern, sleek, yet still very comfortable and nice. Staff was nice, rooms were clean, and the view was very nice (Banff Ave.) It is also an extremely convenient place to stay, as everything you need - restaurants, mall, shops - are very close by including the awesome ice cream shop and candy store! Great place to stay for the price you are paying.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Cynthia L,

We are delighted that you found our rooms simultaneously modern, clean and comfortable. We intend to provide great value in a great location with very nice staff and to receive your feedback that we hit the mark with you is gratifying to everyone in the venture.

We thank you for taking the time to post your comments, and should you be back in Banff, we hope to provide the same great value.

Daren Hill
Front Office Manager
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the Mount Royal with my wife in December. We loved it and were very happy with our choice. Value was excellent as we booked using the third night free deal. We had a fantastic room that had a great view out over the street and up to the mountains. Parking was free behind the hotel and we easily got a park every time we needed to which was great during the very busy Christmas-New Years period. Location in Banff is excellent, close walking distance to the whole centre of town. Staff at reception were friendly and willing to assist as much as possible.
We would definitely stay at the Mount Royal again and will be recommending to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graeme_Mitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear Labroy

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very glad to hear we were able to provide you with such a fantastic experience during the holiday season, we always strive to provide the best facilities and customer service possible and it’s always good to know we have met those expectations.

I have passed your comments on to our staff, who will be happy to know their efforts are appreciated.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal the next time you visit the area

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing