We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mount Royal Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Banff Aspen Lodge(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$226
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fox Hotel & Suites(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hidden Ridge Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Banff Springs(Banff)
US$487
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$431
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Tunnel Mountain Resort(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elk + Avenue Hotel(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$244
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Douglas Fir Resort & Chalets(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Banff Inn(Banff)(Great Value!)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$433
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,104)
Filter reviews
1,104 results
Traveller rating
267
406
253
119
59
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
406
253
119
59
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstony romasgreat locationcentral locationthe main streetmiddle of townbanff avenuean older hotelthird floorhistoric hotelstandard roomhot tubfridgeskicanadasunshinesnowgondola
Filter
Updating list...
593 - 598 of 1,104 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here as part of our road trip in june, we arrived very early and our room wasn't ready but the reception staff gave us our car park pass straight away so we could leave our car and have a wander around Banff, note there is extra parking reserved for MR guests in the lot across the alley from the hotel. Check in was easy and our room was a good size and large comfy beds. The bathroom set up was odd though, as the sink unit is too large and the toilet is tucked right behind it, large or tall people will have a heck of a job to use the loo!!!

Sure, the wallpaper needs replacing and the carpets have seen better days, but this hotel had friendly and welcoming staff, a Tony Roma's on site and the central location was just perfect. My only issue was the wifi was terrible, we were trying to email home to keep family informed of our road trip and I wanted to check in online for our flights home on the last day but it proved impossible - went to Mc Donalds and used theirs instead!!

Apart from those minor issues I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette504216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Jeannette504216

Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments about your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel.

We do sincerely apologize for issues you may have had with our Wi-Fi network, we are currently in the process of upgrading our Wi-Fi infrastructure to avoid these issues in the future and we do thank you for your kind words about our Staff and other aspects of our property.

All comments, be they positive or negative help us to know which aspects of our property need improving to better serve our guests in the future.

We would love to welcome you back when you return to the area

David Crossland
Front Office Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is in a good location but... Banff is a very noisy town so you have to balance that against the easy walk to shops, hiking etc. The rooms are comfortable but agree some sprucing up is needed. A very popular choice for large groups, which has its pros and cons.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gardeninggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear gardeninggirl

We thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel as it allows us to know which of our facilities and services we should improve going into the future to better serve our guests.

I would also like to take this opportunity to apologise for any issues with noise you may have had during your stay.

We hope you would consider staying with us again when you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Office Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were recently in Banff and stayed one night at the Mount Royal Hotel. While the staff could not have been more accommodating, the hotel is in definite need of sprucing up. I understand that a great number of guests are skiers...however, the carpeting, paint, decor, etc. need to be replaced! ..especially the carpeting! I will say that,the hotel is very convenient for shopping and restaurants in Banff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Lil B,

Thank you very much for your review, it's great to hear that you noticed our team's dedication to creating great experiences for all of our guests. I will be sure to let them know, and also to pass on your comments about needing some sprucing up to our senior management team.

It is true that our location is pretty much unbeatable for experiencing Banff's great shopping and dining, I hope you managed to take advantage of both!

Best Regards,
Carl Rickards
Front Office Manager
Mount Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We really liked this hotel right in the centre of Banff. Very comfortable beds with lovely crisp linen. Very good customer service from Don and Megan who were super helpful. Would we go back?.... yes!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tulipstoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear tulipstoby,

Thank you for your lovely comments, I have passed them on to our Housekeeping team as well as Don and Meaghan. It's fantastic to hear that they left such an impression on your visit. I hope we will be seeing you in the Rockies again soon!

Best Regards,
Carl Rickards
Front Office Manager
Mount Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed here with our tour group and found the hotel very clean and pleasant. Our room was brightly decorated and cheerful, with a well equipped bathroom. We had a room facing the street but it was nonetheless quiet. The only let down is the breakfast place located in the hotel - we went into Tony Romas for a breakfast but at 8.15 it seemed the food was nearly finished. The scrambled eggs were very dry and there was little choice. The coffee was so weak I could have sworn it was tea. To his credit the host (Tony?) saw how little I ate and only charged me $4. That was a nice gesture, but the buffet needs attention.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank agrippina1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear agrippina1952,

Thank-you so much for your great review. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your renovated room. I'm sorry to hear about breakfast, I will be sure to pass your comments on to the management team of Tony Roma's.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your tour as much as your stay with us!

Best Regards,
Carl Rickards
Front Office Manager
Mount Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews