We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central to Banff Tourist Shopping”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Mount Royal Hotel is very central to all the main tourist shops in Banff so in that respect it saves time and is good safety wise as little distance to travel. There was no fridge in our room and the bathroom looked tired but the main living area was fine. You can hear people walking on the floor above. The hotel is clean and fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Healtht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Healtht

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel.

First of all we would like to apologize for any noise issues you may have experienced and that we were not able to provide you with a fridge on the occasion of your visit, as the electrical infrastructure of the building is older, our power grid is unable to handle fridges for all our rooms, if you choose to stay with us in the future, please put it as a request and we will do our utmost to provide a room with a fridge.

We also thank you for pointing out our fantastic location in the heart of Banff, which does make it very convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

590 - 596 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

It has very long corridor with many people passing by laughing, fighting, screaming.
The false fire alarm went off for more than half an hour.
Our room clock was set for 12 am by who we do not know which waken up us after finally falling sleep with all the noises.
It was very clean but I do not think it is worth the money as there is too much noise mainly to too many rooms around the very long corridor in each level.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Suzan Y

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

Please accept our sincere apologies for issues you had with noise during your stay with us.
We have passed your comments to the relevant department heads and our security team to ensure these kinds of incidents do not occur in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have been booked into this hotel by Audley travel uk for 3nights in a superior room . The room was the very furthest from the lifts . The carpet is looking tired. The bathroom small and very plastic..the room has no wardrobe space. The staff were helpful when asked about a room change but could offer no alternative.They did however give us some complimentary tickets for a lake cruise

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank janecranshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear janecranshaw

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

Please accept our sincere apologies for issues you may have had with your room, as you mentioned we are always willing to offer alternatives when possible and we are sorry we were not able to do so on this occasion.

We hope you consider us going into the future should you return to the area

David Crossland
Front Office Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here as part of our road trip in june, we arrived very early and our room wasn't ready but the reception staff gave us our car park pass straight away so we could leave our car and have a wander around Banff, note there is extra parking reserved for MR guests in the lot across the alley from the hotel. Check in was easy and our room was a good size and large comfy beds. The bathroom set up was odd though, as the sink unit is too large and the toilet is tucked right behind it, large or tall people will have a heck of a job to use the loo!!!

Sure, the wallpaper needs replacing and the carpets have seen better days, but this hotel had friendly and welcoming staff, a Tony Roma's on site and the central location was just perfect. My only issue was the wifi was terrible, we were trying to email home to keep family informed of our road trip and I wanted to check in online for our flights home on the last day but it proved impossible - went to Mc Donalds and used theirs instead!!

Apart from those minor issues I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeannette504216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Jeannette504216

Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments about your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel.

We do sincerely apologize for issues you may have had with our Wi-Fi network, we are currently in the process of upgrading our Wi-Fi infrastructure to avoid these issues in the future and we do thank you for your kind words about our Staff and other aspects of our property.

All comments, be they positive or negative help us to know which aspects of our property need improving to better serve our guests in the future.

We would love to welcome you back when you return to the area

David Crossland
Front Office Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

This is in a good location but... Banff is a very noisy town so you have to balance that against the easy walk to shops, hiking etc. The rooms are comfortable but agree some sprucing up is needed. A very popular choice for large groups, which has its pros and cons.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gardeninggirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear gardeninggirl

We thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel as it allows us to know which of our facilities and services we should improve going into the future to better serve our guests.

I would also like to take this opportunity to apologise for any issues with noise you may have had during your stay.

We hope you would consider staying with us again when you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Office Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were recently in Banff and stayed one night at the Mount Royal Hotel. While the staff could not have been more accommodating, the hotel is in definite need of sprucing up. I understand that a great number of guests are skiers...however, the carpeting, paint, decor, etc. need to be replaced! ..especially the carpeting! I will say that,the hotel is very convenient for shopping and restaurants in Banff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Lil B,

Thank you very much for your review, it's great to hear that you noticed our team's dedication to creating great experiences for all of our guests. I will be sure to let them know, and also to pass on your comments about needing some sprucing up to our senior management team.

It is true that our location is pretty much unbeatable for experiencing Banff's great shopping and dining, I hope you managed to take advantage of both!

Best Regards,
Carl Rickards
Front Office Manager
Mount Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We really liked this hotel right in the centre of Banff. Very comfortable beds with lovely crisp linen. Very good customer service from Don and Megan who were super helpful. Would we go back?.... yes!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tulipstoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear tulipstoby,

Thank you for your lovely comments, I have passed them on to our Housekeeping team as well as Don and Meaghan. It's fantastic to hear that they left such an impression on your visit. I hope we will be seeing you in the Rockies again soon!

Best Regards,
Carl Rickards
Front Office Manager
Mount Royal Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#23 of 33 in Banff
586 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,425 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 33 in Banff
1,146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Banff Inn
Banff Inn
#17 of 33 in Banff
847 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £299 - £305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. Inspired by heritage. Re-imagined for today. For generations, locals and visitors built a community around the Mount Royal Hotel. That spirit is captured in our brand new start: a surprising, exciting take on classic Banff accommodation. While we honour our heritage through design and decor, all-new contemporary amenities provide the very best in modern hotel experiences. Re-opening July 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing