We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Cheshire
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Warm welcome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We liked it. Nice olde worlde charm, very central location with a great view of the mountains and free parking. Great bed, not a great bath. Very noisy in our corridor, not helped by a big gap under the door. The loveliest staff made a big difference to our experience. A good value breakfast was had at Tony Romas (attached) that tasted OK. I can’t comment on price as it was part of a package.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cheekychubbychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear cheekychubbychops

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First of all I would like to point out that your username is fantastic. Secondly we take great pride that our staff were able to affect your holiday in such a positive way, being on the front desk myself, it’s always good to hear that our efforts are appreciated and that we are achieving that which we set out to do.

But please accept our apologies for any issues you may have experienced with noise during your stay, we also do thank you for pointing out our location and free parking which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We very much hope we will welcome you back to the Mount Royal when you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    407
    253
    118
    59
See reviews for
208
515
64
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durhan (United Kingdom)
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We visited this hotel 3 years ago and were disappointed on this visit. We were booked into a second floor room on the main street but we did not expect to be kept awake between 01.30 and 02.30 by noisy revelers from 3 nearby pubs. we did change rooms for the rest of the stay and no problems with the front desk in doing this but i was a little surprised to be advised at my complaint that this after all was a party town!
The change in room was fine however taking the buffet breakfast was a mistake as the hot part of the breakfast was very cold neither did anyone ask me if the food was satisfactory. This put me off eating here at night. I would not stay at this centre town location again i would choose to stay further down the street towards the outskirts of town where the are plenty of comfortable hotels with restaurants attached. l

Room Tip: If you are not here to" party in party town" ask for a room at the rear of the hotel facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catnap50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Catnap50plus

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

Please accept our apologies for any issues you may have had with noise during your stay. Especially on weekends Banff does feature many lively Bars and nightclubs in downtown within close proximity to our property and on occasion this can lead to issues with noise, but we are glad our staff could accommodate a room change for the rest of your stay.

We would also like to apologize for any issues you may have had with food quality, we have shared your comments with the relevant department heads in order to improve quality going into the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

A great location but the hotel a real disappointment. The room was not available until 4pm, when we eventually got the room it was dirty, coffee splashes up the back of the bathroom door, stained carpets that looked like they had not seen a hoover for some time, the cleaner had left dirty rags in the room. Next day after a long day we return the the room late afternoon and the room still had not been made up. The decor was tired. Very noisy at night as there were guests on a stag night. Due to the hotel being popular for coach trips it did not feel the hotel had time for a personal service, it felt like a roll them in and roll the out approach. Wished I had done my homework and checked out other options, was drawn by its history.

Room Tip: Check reviews first
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goshawk200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Goshawk200

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your visit to Banff, your comments have been passed on to the housekeeping department in order to avoid these issues in the future, however we would like to clarify that while we at the front desk will do everything in our power to check people in early when possible, our check-in time is 4pm.

Our goal at Brewster Hospitality is to provide the best customer service and facilities possible and we again apologize we were not able to meet that standard on this occasion.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Mount Royal Hotel is very central to all the main tourist shops in Banff so in that respect it saves time and is good safety wise as little distance to travel. There was no fridge in our room and the bathroom looked tired but the main living area was fine. You can hear people walking on the floor above. The hotel is clean and fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Healtht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Healtht

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel.

First of all we would like to apologize for any noise issues you may have experienced and that we were not able to provide you with a fridge on the occasion of your visit, as the electrical infrastructure of the building is older, our power grid is unable to handle fridges for all our rooms, if you choose to stay with us in the future, please put it as a request and we will do our utmost to provide a room with a fridge.

We also thank you for pointing out our fantastic location in the heart of Banff, which does make it very convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

It has very long corridor with many people passing by laughing, fighting, screaming.
The false fire alarm went off for more than half an hour.
Our room clock was set for 12 am by who we do not know which waken up us after finally falling sleep with all the noises.
It was very clean but I do not think it is worth the money as there is too much noise mainly to too many rooms around the very long corridor in each level.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 29 June 2014
Dear Suzan Y

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

Please accept our sincere apologies for issues you had with noise during your stay with us.
We have passed your comments to the relevant department heads and our security team to ensure these kinds of incidents do not occur in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We have been booked into this hotel by Audley travel uk for 3nights in a superior room . The room was the very furthest from the lifts . The carpet is looking tired. The bathroom small and very plastic..the room has no wardrobe space. The staff were helpful when asked about a room change but could offer no alternative.They did however give us some complimentary tickets for a lake cruise

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank janecranshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear janecranshaw

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

Please accept our sincere apologies for issues you may have had with your room, as you mentioned we are always willing to offer alternatives when possible and we are sorry we were not able to do so on this occasion.

We hope you consider us going into the future should you return to the area

David Crossland
Front Office Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here as part of our road trip in june, we arrived very early and our room wasn't ready but the reception staff gave us our car park pass straight away so we could leave our car and have a wander around Banff, note there is extra parking reserved for MR guests in the lot across the alley from the hotel. Check in was easy and our room was a good size and large comfy beds. The bathroom set up was odd though, as the sink unit is too large and the toilet is tucked right behind it, large or tall people will have a heck of a job to use the loo!!!

Sure, the wallpaper needs replacing and the carpets have seen better days, but this hotel had friendly and welcoming staff, a Tony Roma's on site and the central location was just perfect. My only issue was the wifi was terrible, we were trying to email home to keep family informed of our road trip and I wanted to check in online for our flights home on the last day but it proved impossible - went to Mc Donalds and used theirs instead!!

Apart from those minor issues I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette504216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Dear Jeannette504216

Thank you for taking the time to leave us comments about your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel.

We do sincerely apologize for issues you may have had with our Wi-Fi network, we are currently in the process of upgrading our Wi-Fi infrastructure to avoid these issues in the future and we do thank you for your kind words about our Staff and other aspects of our property.

All comments, be they positive or negative help us to know which aspects of our property need improving to better serve our guests in the future.

We would love to welcome you back when you return to the area

David Crossland
Front Office Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#14 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#27 of 32 in Banff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#21 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing