We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location overall!”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Overall service was good and it is in a prime location for anyone looking at resteraunts, night life, etc. The only thing that caught my attention was the water from the tab was very cloudy, almost white. Water seemed to be dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank devlinryan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear devlinryan7

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to assure you that the water from our taps is not dirty.

Sometimes air becomes trapped in the water mains. The air dissolves in the water when it’s under pressure but, once you turn your tap on and the pressure is released, tiny air bubbles are formed. This gives the water its white or cloudy appearance, so it is nothing to worry about.

However we are happy to hear you had an overall positive experience staying with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of the location in the thick of things. We were not disappointed in this respect. We were on our second leg of driving through the Rockies.
We parked our car out in the car park and went through to reception to be told our room was ready for us. Great so far.
Our room was on the 4th floor!!!!
We had to leave the lift on 2nd or 3rd floor, walk along the corridor, down some stairs and into the second lift that took us to the 4th floor. Such a palaver.
Saying that, the second lift will take you all the way down to Banff Avenue, just as far from the car park and reception as you can get.
We had a lovely view of the mountains and the room was very nice. The staff in the hotel were lovely, especially the very polite young man in the bar. We would not recommend the buffet breakfast, as when we had it, it was cold. On our last day we tried to have the menu breakfast
but this was unavailable due to some problem in the kitchen.
We did actually have a really special breakfast at the Fairmont Banff Spring Hotel.
We went to see The Rocky Mountaineer come into the station (2 hours late) and was surprised to find some of the passengers in the room next to ours.
Tommy's, next door was a great place to go for a pub meal and a drink.
Nice hotel and great location. Lovely area.

Room Tip: If you do not want to walk too far, ask for a room NOT on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzannejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Suzannejones

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

We thank you very much for your kind words about our property and our staff, we are committed to providing excellent customer service and facilities and are extremely happy to have met those expectations during your stay with us.

We would however like to apologize for any issues you may have had breakfast on both occasions, your comments have been passed on to the restaurant to address the issues you have brought up in your review.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments and hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal should you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Rained out for camping, we had to find a hotel. Not much was left so we paid $250 + tax + fees for a king room. Carpet is tattered and stained, the bathroom is half updated, tv is on a weird bench pulled out because you can't see it from the bed. Honestly, for the price we should have gone to a Fairmont or Rimrock.
Perks are good location and a Tony Romas restaurant is in the hotel. Staff was nice, and the bed was comfortable. Hotel is quite run down - poor value.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicaYEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear VicaYEG

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we deeply regret that you did not find our hotel satisfactory during your stay with us and we apologize we were not able to rectify the situation during your visit.

We are however pleased that our staff and beds

We are committed to providing the best customer service and facilities possible and we once again apologize for not meeting that standard on this occasion, we hope that you would consider us in the future as we would do everything we can to ensure a better outcome.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We liked it. Nice olde worlde charm, very central location with a great view of the mountains and free parking. Great bed, not a great bath. Very noisy in our corridor, not helped by a big gap under the door. The loveliest staff made a big difference to our experience. A good value breakfast was had at Tony Romas (attached) that tasted OK. I can’t comment on price as it was part of a package.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cheekychubbychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear cheekychubbychops

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First of all I would like to point out that your username is fantastic. Secondly we take great pride that our staff were able to affect your holiday in such a positive way, being on the front desk myself, it’s always good to hear that our efforts are appreciated and that we are achieving that which we set out to do.

But please accept our apologies for any issues you may have experienced with noise during your stay, we also do thank you for pointing out our location and free parking which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We very much hope we will welcome you back to the Mount Royal when you return to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We visited this hotel 3 years ago and were disappointed on this visit. We were booked into a second floor room on the main street but we did not expect to be kept awake between 01.30 and 02.30 by noisy revelers from 3 nearby pubs. we did change rooms for the rest of the stay and no problems with the front desk in doing this but i was a little surprised to be advised at my complaint that this after all was a party town!
The change in room was fine however taking the buffet breakfast was a mistake as the hot part of the breakfast was very cold neither did anyone ask me if the food was satisfactory. This put me off eating here at night. I would not stay at this centre town location again i would choose to stay further down the street towards the outskirts of town where the are plenty of comfortable hotels with restaurants attached. l

Room Tip: If you are not here to" party in party town" ask for a room at the rear of the hotel facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank catnap50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Catnap50plus

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

Please accept our apologies for any issues you may have had with noise during your stay. Especially on weekends Banff does feature many lively Bars and nightclubs in downtown within close proximity to our property and on occasion this can lead to issues with noise, but we are glad our staff could accommodate a room change for the rest of your stay.

We would also like to apologize for any issues you may have had with food quality, we have shared your comments with the relevant department heads in order to improve quality going into the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A great location but the hotel a real disappointment. The room was not available until 4pm, when we eventually got the room it was dirty, coffee splashes up the back of the bathroom door, stained carpets that looked like they had not seen a hoover for some time, the cleaner had left dirty rags in the room. Next day after a long day we return the the room late afternoon and the room still had not been made up. The decor was tired. Very noisy at night as there were guests on a stag night. Due to the hotel being popular for coach trips it did not feel the hotel had time for a personal service, it felt like a roll them in and roll the out approach. Wished I had done my homework and checked out other options, was drawn by its history.

Room Tip: Check reviews first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goshawk200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Goshawk200

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your visit to Banff, your comments have been passed on to the housekeeping department in order to avoid these issues in the future, however we would like to clarify that while we at the front desk will do everything in our power to check people in early when possible, our check-in time is 4pm.

Our goal at Brewster Hospitality is to provide the best customer service and facilities possible and we again apologize we were not able to meet that standard on this occasion.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Mount Royal Hotel is very central to all the main tourist shops in Banff so in that respect it saves time and is good safety wise as little distance to travel. There was no fridge in our room and the bathroom looked tired but the main living area was fine. You can hear people walking on the floor above. The hotel is clean and fine for a short stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Healtht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2014

Dear Healtht

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback about your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel.

First of all we would like to apologize for any noise issues you may have experienced and that we were not able to provide you with a fridge on the occasion of your visit, as the electrical infrastructure of the building is older, our power grid is unable to handle fridges for all our rooms, if you choose to stay with us in the future, please put it as a request and we will do our utmost to provide a room with a fridge.

We also thank you for pointing out our fantastic location in the heart of Banff, which does make it very convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 34 in Banff
1,465 reviews
0.5 mi away
Irwin's Mountain Inn
Irwin's Mountain Inn
#22 of 34 in Banff
588 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 34 in Banff
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#19 of 34 in Banff
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £277 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. Inspired by heritage. Re-imagined for today. For generations, locals and visitors built a community around the Mount Royal Hotel. That spirit is captured in our brand new start: a surprising, exciting take on classic Banff accommodation. While we honour our heritage through design and decor, all-new contemporary amenities provide the very best in modern hotel experiences. Re-opening July 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing