We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel for coach tours”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hotel for coach tours”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This very large hotel is very well located in Banff downtown but this must be their best benefit..
All coach tours overnight here and independent travellers seem not very welcome.
We complained about A/C and Wifi not working in our room but these problems have never been solved.
Parking spaces were not sufficient and we had to park in another lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rimage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear rimage2000

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay, for our Wi-Fi we have recently upgraded our entire network which we believe has resolved the problem. For the A/C we are very sorry that we failed to resolve this issue, your comments have been passed on to the relevant department heads to better address these issues in the future as it should have been dealt with during your stay.

As you also mentioned parking was an issue during your stay and we once again apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused, due to land restrictions within national park boundaries and particularly in downtown Banff on occasion we do struggle with capacity as we are not allowed to construct anymore parking spaces.

But primarily we would like to assure you that we welcome all guests, group and individual alike and we apologize for anything that gave a different impression as all our guests are important to us.

We hope despite your difficulties during this stay you would allow us the chance to improve upon this experience in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    406
    253
    119
    59
See reviews for
209
516
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We love the location of this hotel.. Its right in downtown Banff with everything in walking distance.. However, the hotel itself is just ok. It isn't anything fancy but has all the amenities and good service. We asked for a King room, which was tucked away in a corner with no view. Plenty if parking is available and its free.. Its one of the oldest hotel in Banff, and I would recommend it overall as long as you are not expecting 5 star standards.. They often have great deals on their website so I recommend booking directly with them..

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aarij B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Aarij B

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for anything that did not meet your expectations, as you pointed out we may not be a 5 star hotel but we always strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and it wouldn’t appear we did so on this occasion.

However we are glad to hear that you find great value in the deals we offer and that our service level could be one of the highpoints of your visit.

We hope you will stay with us again and that we can improve upon this experience going into the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary,canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

An average hotel,but clean and close to all downtown activities,if your a skier the ski buses arrive at the back of this hotel each morning,so convenience is key here,friendly staff,on site restaurant,nice indoor Jacuzzi area as well,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack123156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear jack123156

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very happy to hear you had an overall positive experience during your stay with us and we thank you for pointing some of the facilities we offer our guests and for your kind words about our staff who always strive to create positive experiences for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Pretty much the only good thing about the hotel is the location (and the desk staff are great too)
We stayed here for 3 days and the location could not be beat, and the free parking was great too. The hotel was dated, carpet was ripped and the room was dark. The toilet did not flush, we had no soap in our room, and our towels were not changed once.

None of this would matter except you go to a hotel to sleep and this hotel is the noisiest I have ever experienced. We were put next to an ice making and the the laundry room which was going till well past midnight. The pipes in the hotel kept me up till after 3am and I sleep like a log and was exhausted by the time I went to bed. The doors were really thin and you can hear everyone in the hallways who are coming and going at 3-4am every night.

I went to a bar every night, and I am no stranger to having a good time, but I still need to sleep (particularly when every activity in Banff requires an 8am start) and I got maybe 4 hours sleep a night. The hotel has long hallways and narrow doors and poor pluming - a dangerous combination. Might want to look elsewhere if you want to actually enjoy your vacation.

Room Tip: 4th floor I heard were out of the way but I would take it in a heartbeat if you want to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murphers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear murphers,

Thank-you very much for your review. I apologize for the issues that affected your experience with us, and I would like to assure you that I will pass your concerns on to our Maintenance and Housekeeping departments to be addressed. Our guest laundry closes at 10pm for noise reasons, so it should not have disturbed you anywhere near midnight. I will personally check to ensure that access to this facility is being properly restricted after hours, and that the ice machine is functioning correctly.

I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our downtown location, and I hope that you might be willing to consider giving us a chance to improve on this experience on your next visit to Banff.

Best Regards,

Carl Rickards
Front Office Manager
Mount Royal Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Sussex
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We had 3 nights at this hotel. We found it a very pleasant stay, was clean and staff were very helpful. All toiletries provided, and there were even ear plugs in the room when we arrived (our room was at the front of the hotel.). We didn't need the ear plugs as didn't find it too noisy. Hotel is close to all restaurants, coffee shops, etc.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikerGal650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear BikerGal650

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments about your recent stay with us at the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very pleased to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your kind words about our staff and for pointing out our fantastic location, which does make it very convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope to welcome you again to the Mount Royal when you travels bring you back to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

overall good location stayed for one night , the front desk she was helpful , the room was good 3th floor at the back overlooking the car parking , the bathroom was small 1/2 renovated , when we took the room they told us that they have a small fridge , but when we got to the room it wasn't there so I call the front desk and ask where is the fridge she say oh this room have no fridge I said you told us there is a fridge she say sorry but there is no fridge the hotel is full and this was the last rooms for tonight , but if you want to put some stuff in the fridge get it down to the front desk and we will put it for you ? I said no thanks . clean room , we slept good but the condition was loud in the room old one , and the sounds off the music is loud till 1:30 or 2:00 Am they put earplugs for you in the rooms ?????

Room Tip: Rooms on the back overlooking the car parking and the buss ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear fredrek

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We apologize for any inconvenience in regards to the issues you had with the fridge, due to the older electrical infrastructure of our building we cannot guarantee fridges to any of our guests as we feature very few rooms that have them, we are very sorry if the incorrect information was relayed to you.

We would also like to apologize for any issues you may have had with noise during your stay, we have passed all comments on to the relevant department heads in order to address these issues.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your comments

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Stayed at the Mount Royal for 1 night reception was very friendly and efficient special mention for Ben came across in a very professional manner. Had a room on the third floor at the back overlooking the car park. Room was clean spacious and comfortable. The standout feature of this hotel is the location right in the centre of downtown which is perfect.
Hotel has a bar which is pleasant and used as an overflow for Tony Romas. Overall a good stay in a well run hotel. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Globalbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Globalbum

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for pointing out our fantastic location in the Heart of Banff which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We also thank you particularly for your kind words about our staff, we have passed on your comments to the staff member you cited and his manager, they will be very happy to hear they could have such a positive impact on your holiday.

We thank you again for taking the time to leave us your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 33 in Banff
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,416 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#25 of 33 in Banff
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing