We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel, Right in the Center of the National Park”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
N Wales PA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, Right in the Center of the National Park”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Wonderful hotel. Convenient to everything, large comfortable, well-appointed rooms, great scenery and shopping right down the street. The hotel is actually on the main drag of the town, which is in the National Park. Fabulous restaurants in and outside the building. Don't forget to take a gondola up the mountain. The views are amazing, but, beware, the restaurant at the top has dismal food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yogagal313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear yogagal313

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very happy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for your kind words about our property and that you found our location so convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We thank you once again for your five star review of our property and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royal Hotel when your travels return you to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    406
    253
    119
    59
See reviews for
209
516
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Stayed at the Mount Royal in July, found the Staff very friendly unfortunately the Room we were allocated was past its sell by date. Tried to tune in the radio and the bedside shelf fell on my foot.Not a good start.The plus side of the Hotel is the location right in the centre of Town.

Room Tip: Avoid end of corridor rooms, ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Arthur S

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and that you enjoyed our location in the Heart of Banff, which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We regret to hear that you did not enjoy the room assigned to you during your stay, some of our rooms do feature slightly older decor and we are very sorry that we were not able to offer you a different room.

We are also very concerned about your comments regarding the bedside shelf, please accept our sincerest apologies and we have passed your comments onto our maintenance department in order to avoid these kinds of issues in the future.

Many of our rooms do feature an updated decor and feel and we hope you will give us another chance to improve upon this experience and we’d be happy to accommodate you in one of the aforementioned room types should your journeys bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location, freindly staff, especially the guy on the tours/info , he was ver good, Dan I think they called him.
Beds are so comfy, could have slept in them for hours, but too much to do !
Slap bang in the middle of the town, can't get any more central, didn't go for the breakfast option, as it was a little on the expensive side, but there are plenty of other options, and McDonalds 50m away is a fail safe option if all else fails!

The Hotel is obviously old, but it is has pretty tidy rooms, that look ike they have had half a make over, the Beds/Bathroom ect have all new decor, but the carpets leave a lot to be desired, ours was full of stains, that hadnt been cleaned very well, one obviously looked like someone had been sick over the side of the bed, which is not a nice sight, and let the hotel down for me, when the receptionist asked if my stay was good, I said everything was great but you need new carpets in the room, she agreed, so the hotel know about the problem.

Apart from that its a great base, at the end of the day, you only sleep there most of the time , and its central location and free parking are its main plus points. It does have free wifi , albeit a little slow at times .
If you are in one of the end rooms like we were, be aware of the ice making machine at the end , this is noisy for the rooms are the very end I would think, also you an use the lift at that side of the hotel which takes you straight down to the main street, so you dont have to walk all the way down the hallway to get out of the hotel, something a lot of people who stayed didn't know about

Room Tip: Dont get one near the end of the corridors near the ice making machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Paul C

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay, this is not at all consistent with our standards and your troubling comments have been passed on to our housekeeping department in order to ensure these kinds of shortfalls are avoided in the future.

But we do thank you for your kind words about our staff and we are very happy to hear you so thoroughly enjoyed our beds and our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We hope you will choose to stay at the Mount Royal Hotel again when your travels bring you back to the area.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckingham
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

After a long flight to Calgary and arriving in awful weather, the Mount Royal was a good place to recover and acclimatise. Although the decor is rather dark and a bit tired, everything was spotlessly clean, the room well equipped and the bed extremely comfortable. The location is excellent and it takes seconds to reach a wide range of shops and restaurants, mere minutes to reach the lovely riverside walks. We had both dinner and breakfast in the attached restaurant. There was a comprehensive, if a bit expensive, buffet breakfast, which was very welcome. The staff were very helpful when we arrived tired and disorientated and readily facilitated a change of room for one of our party.
A couple of tips if you are heading into the Rockies: the local Safeway store will make you sandwiches to order. Also, the Bow Valley Parkway route to Lake Louise was beautiful. We took a pleasant detour into Kootenay NP and were rewarded with our first Grizzly Bear sighting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear wendy h

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very happy to hear you had such a thoroughly positive experience with us and that you enjoyed the location and comfort of our beds and we also thank you for your kind words about our staff, being on the front desk myself it is always good to hear we are achieving that which we set out to do.

We also thank you for the wonderful tips you have left your fellow travellers about the area.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel when your travels bring you to Banff again.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This very large hotel is very well located in Banff downtown but this must be their best benefit..
All coach tours overnight here and independent travellers seem not very welcome.
We complained about A/C and Wifi not working in our room but these problems have never been solved.
Parking spaces were not sufficient and we had to park in another lot.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rimage2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear rimage2000

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for the issues you experienced during your stay, for our Wi-Fi we have recently upgraded our entire network which we believe has resolved the problem. For the A/C we are very sorry that we failed to resolve this issue, your comments have been passed on to the relevant department heads to better address these issues in the future as it should have been dealt with during your stay.

As you also mentioned parking was an issue during your stay and we once again apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused, due to land restrictions within national park boundaries and particularly in downtown Banff on occasion we do struggle with capacity as we are not allowed to construct anymore parking spaces.

But primarily we would like to assure you that we welcome all guests, group and individual alike and we apologize for anything that gave a different impression as all our guests are important to us.

We hope despite your difficulties during this stay you would allow us the chance to improve upon this experience in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We love the location of this hotel.. Its right in downtown Banff with everything in walking distance.. However, the hotel itself is just ok. It isn't anything fancy but has all the amenities and good service. We asked for a King room, which was tucked away in a corner with no view. Plenty if parking is available and its free.. Its one of the oldest hotel in Banff, and I would recommend it overall as long as you are not expecting 5 star standards.. They often have great deals on their website so I recommend booking directly with them..

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Aarij B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Aarij B

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to apologize for anything that did not meet your expectations, as you pointed out we may not be a 5 star hotel but we always strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and it wouldn’t appear we did so on this occasion.

However we are glad to hear that you find great value in the deals we offer and that our service level could be one of the highpoints of your visit.

We hope you will stay with us again and that we can improve upon this experience going into the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary,canada
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

An average hotel,but clean and close to all downtown activities,if your a skier the ski buses arrive at the back of this hotel each morning,so convenience is key here,friendly staff,on site restaurant,nice indoor Jacuzzi area as well,

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jack123156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear jack123156

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very happy to hear you had an overall positive experience during your stay with us and we thank you for pointing some of the facilities we offer our guests and for your kind words about our staff who always strive to create positive experiences for our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal very soon

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 33 in Banff
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 33 in Banff
1,415 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 33 in Banff
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing