We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good experience. We'll be back.”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Friendly staff. Nice rooms. Good price. Free parking. GREAT location (on Banff Ave. in the middle of downtown). Room was clean and spacious. Front desk staff made very helpful recommendations on local restaurants and attractions. One hiccup: when we arrived for check-in, the hotel was in the middle of a linen crisis and there was a 90-minute delay before we could get our room. However, the staff remained calm, friendly, and agreed to a late check out on our day of departure. We enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you like to open your room windows, ask for a room facing east. Windows open in rooms facing west...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gregglatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Gregglatz

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts about your recent stay at the Mount Royal Hotel.

First and foremost we sincerely apologize for the 90 minute delay in checking in and we thank you for your patience during your visit.

We are very happy to hear however that you found our staff so friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our rooms and location.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your review and look forward to welcoming you back to the Mount Royal Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014

The room had all we needed but it was just a little dated. Close to town centre and all shops and cafés. We got off the Rocky Mountaineer and it was only a 10 min walk. Parking was close and staff helpfull.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 22wendyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear 22wendyb

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts regarding your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel, we are glad you enjoyed our location and that you found our staff helpful.

We hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Based on our recent experience it is difficult to get reasonably priced accommodated in Banff. We picked this hotel because of its location but it was a disappointment. In particular, there was no fridge in the room and the room was not clean. For what we paid, we expected more.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Janet S

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we sincerely apologize that your room was not clean to your satisfaction, this is not at all consistent with our standards and your comments have been passed on to our housekeeping management in order to address any shortfalls that may have occurred.

We do also apologize we were not able to provide you with a fridge on the occasion of your visit, due to the older electrical infrastructure of the building, we are not able to provide fridges in all of our rooms.

We regret that we were not able to meet your expectations on the occasion of your visit and once again apologize for the issues that brought you to that conclusion.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our reservation was made in March of 2014 but, on our arrival, we were told that we had NO CHOICE WHAT SO EVER with the location of our room since it was the LAST ONE.
We were unable to reach our room on the 3rd or 4th floor using a baggage cart because there were stairways blocking our path ...

We will never repeat this bad experience at this Hotel...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarcelStGeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear MarcelStGeorges

Please accept our sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us, we pride ourselves on being as flexible as possible when it comes to assigning rooms to our guests to ensure the best possible outcome but we were simply not able to affect changes based on our occupancy on the occasion of your visit.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to improve upon this experience, where we may have greater flexibility to provide a room more suitable to you.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed on short notice here and we were really happy they found us a room with it being so busy. I have stayed here many times and the location is very good for a quick stay downtown. I was extremely disappointed in the cleanliness of the rooms at this time. The floors/carpets were disgusting and I did not want to walk on the floors without my shoes on. The walls are dirty and rooms disorganized. I did feel the bathrooms were nice and clean and up to date, but have more towels. The beds were really comfortable and new TV's. There was no one monitoring the halls or guests and the noise was awful. The people all around us had been a bus tour and yelled and screamed in the halls until 1:30 am. To be fair though, as soon as we called the front desk they took care of the problem. This hotel is in a great location but is really tired and needs to be cleaned up. ESPECIALLY THE CARPETS!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joannevc2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear joannevc2007

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We regret to hear that you were disappointed with your room and the various issues that lead you to that conclusion; we take all of our feedback extremely seriously to revisit the experience we are handing to guests and improve it going into the future.

Your comments have been passed out to the relevant department heads to address the issues brought up in your review.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to improve upon this experience and we hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel very soon.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My room was tiny, and I believe it was a step up from the cheapest room. It was a little disappointing. Outlets were nowhere near where I required them, and the room was lit with those awful cold fluorescent bulbs.

The service was friendly and helpful.

There was an elevator not far from my room where some of the buttons on the elevator didn't work.

The location can't be beat as it's right in the thick of the "shopping" part of downtown Banff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tristan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear TRISTANcubanBREATH

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We deeply regret to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at our property and we apologize for the various issues that brought you to that conclusion.

We are however happy to hear that you found our staff so friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed our location in the Heart of Banff which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us your thoughts and hope to welcome you back to a better experience should you choose to stay with us again.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Although this hotel has mixed reviews. We were more than happy with our room. Large, clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Would liked to have had a fridge in the room. Breakfast was adequate if not pricey. Location was second to none.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesleyhyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

Dear R&LHyatt

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We are very happy to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff so friendly and helpful; being among them it is always great to hear we are achieving that which we set out to do.

We do apologize we were not able to provide you with a fridge on this occasion, due to the older electrical infrastructure of the building, we have very few rooms that feature fridges, should you return please mark it down as a special request and we will do everything we can to accommodate it.

We thank you once again for taking the time to leave us comments about your stay at the Mount Royal Hotel and we hope to welcome you back when your travels bring you back to Banff.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,349 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#25 of 33 in Banff
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,469 reviews
0.4 mi away
High Country Inn
High Country Inn
#16 of 33 in Banff
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range: £305 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing