We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great town to visit but not a great hotel.”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Leduc, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great town to visit but not a great hotel.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Mount Royal Hotel is in desperate need of an overhaul. It is very outdated. It would be in the ownership's best interest to gut one floor at a time and modernize it. It is also difficult to find the parking associated with hotel. The only thing it has going for it is central location.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel, preferably newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dwardio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Dwardio

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

We apologize we were not able to provide you with the kind of experience you were looking for on the occasion of your visit, the Mount Royal Hotel features a variety of rooms, some updated, some of an older décor which we recognize is not for everyone.

If inventory allows, our staff are always happy to facilitate a room change should one be considered unsatisfactory.

We once again apologize you did not appear to enjoy your stay.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    406
    253
    119
    59
See reviews for
212
516
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The note is situated right on the high street in Banff (the start of just about everyone's Rockies road trip) so everything in the town is in walking distance. There is ample parking out the back of the hotel for even the most grotesquely sized cars (as most appear to the humble British tourist). The hotel is much bigger than it initially appears and must take up most of the upper storey of all the buildings on the block, but this certainly didn't have a negative impact on our stay. Our room was great: a bedroom and a separate sitting room which meant that we had loads of space. The front desk staff were really helpful and stored our luggage for us when we arrived early (most hotels in Canada seem to have a check-in time of 4pm) whilst we explored the town. The on-site restaurant (Tony Romas) was somewhat incongruous with the rest of the hotel, but that could easily be avoided with the plethora of great cafes in town. Overall, this hotel gave us a very pleasant 2 nights in Banff, we could easily have stayed there for longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ocelotpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ocelotpie

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel.

On behalf of all of us at Brewster Hospitality we sincerely appreciate your glowing review of our property and our staff, reviews like yours shows us that our efforts are not in vein as our goal is always to provide the best guest experience possible and we are very happy to have done so on the occasion of your visit.

We are also glad to hear you enjoyed our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer.

It was a pleasure to have you with us at the Mount Royal Hotel, we thank you once again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The best I can say is that the location in Banff Avenue is great. Staff were indifferent to any complaints, room not ready at 5.00pm - not good enough. Room was ok but parts of the hotel are a little tired and must be due for an upgrade fairly soon. Repeat, location excellent.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanM827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear AlanM827

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost I would like to sincerely apologize for some of the issues you experienced during your stay with us, we have been experiencing delay issues with our laundry contractor resulting in delayed check-in times on a few occasions this summer, but we recognize that this is not the problem of the guest and we are doing everything possible to avoid these delays and check people in as early as possible.

I regret to hear that you felt our staff were indifferent, I am confident under the difficult circumstances they did everything possible to assist you and other guests within the realm of what was possible at that time.

We are however glad to hear that you enjoyed our location which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all that Banff has to offer and we once again apologize that were not able to check you in on time on the occasion of your visit.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First time at this hotel, have been other brewster properties in banff and they were ok. This experience by far is the worse I have had at any hotel.

We got there early so we asked if we could be notified if the room is available earlier, we were never notified even though they had told us that there was a good chance that the room could be available earlier (I would of just appreciated if it was not possible that we were just told that, nothing worse then over promise under deliver). We finally got in the room and wow I have never seen a room that was this dirty, there were marks all over the carpet.......a crack in the wall of the tub (right by the shower head), on top of that there was a wet spot on the carpet in front of the washroom door (about 1 feet by 1 feet). So I went downstairs to talk front desk, she looked at me like I was just complaining about something that wasnt that big of a deal. She then said that she would call maintenance to have a look at it, not sure if maintenance looked at it but the wet spot got worse when we got back in the room.....she also did not follow up and let us know what was going on.

I totally understand the price for this hotel was very good, and we should not be complaining. The fact is I have never wrote a review like this, but I strongly feel that this experience has to be shared as I would not like anyone else to go through this.

I would never go back to Mount Royal Hotel, because I truly believe as a customer I was not valued and that really angers. If there was a option to do 0 starts I would for this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CoVinhLuong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Office Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear CoVinhLuong,

Thank-you for your honest and detailed review, and I apologize unreservedly for the disappointing experience that you had while staying with us. I have passed on your concerns about the condition of the room to our Maintenance Manager and Executive Housekeeper, and we will be sure to address them.

I'm also sorry that we were not able to prepare the room earlier than our regular check-in time for you. As you no doubt noticed, Banff is extremely busy at this time of the year and although we are usually able to accommodate (hence our Front Desk team saying that there was a good chance), occasionally we just aren't able to prepare the room quickly enough. I apologize that you felt we over-promised and under-delivered, that is certainly the opposite of our service philosophy.

I hope that you would consider giving us another try to improve on this experience the next time that you visit Banff.

Best Regards,
Carl Rickards
Front Office Manager, Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

Diogo, Thies, Senegal
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here 2 nights when visiting Banff, we chose the hotel due to its location which is right in the heart of the main strip "Banff ave" we chose this so we didn't have to drive all the time to go out for a few drinks,
The Hotel itself was very clean and tidy, We stayed in the 2 rooms next to the penthouse suite which was very peaceful and quiet!
We had a issue with the toilet which was fixed straight away with a friendly service.
There is a tony romas just below where we had breakfast the one morning and it was a buffet style breakfast for $12, which done the job so to speak.
Parking around the rear of the hotel was a great feature too plenty of room for lots more vehicles.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 243DavidF243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear 243DavidF243

On behalf of all of us here at Brewster Hospitality we were like to sincerely thank you for your 5 star review of our property and we are very glad to hear that you had such a fantastic time in Banff and that our staff were prompt in fixing the issue with your toilet.

Our goal is always to provide the best guest experience possible and we are very happy that you felt we reached that goal on the occasion of your visit.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Mount Royal Hotel again in the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A very busy hotel though tired a d showing signs of wear, some carpets worn and grubby.A shame as it would take little to rectify.Bedroom small,portable aircon unit, comfortable small double bed and tiny bathroom.Safe was useful.Staff were young helpful and enthusiastic from many nations.Dinner taken in lounge as restaurant was busy.Good food well cooked & presented.Breakfast your average hot buffet.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globaltraveller55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Globaltraveller55

Thank you for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we would like to sincerely apologize for some of the issues you brought up in your review; we have currently embarked on a program through our maintenance department to clean every carpet in the hotel to address the concerns of our guests.

We are however happy that you found our staff so helpful and you are quite right, we are made up of many nations at the Front Desk including South Africa, Sweden, the UK, Australia, the Philippines, Canada and Germany.

We once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your thoughts so we can know our strengths and address our weaknesses to provide the best guest experience possible going into the future.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The hotel is in an amazing location with all the shops and restaurants right on your doorstop. However, the rooms themselves so very badly need some money spent on them! Although large rooms the carpets were badly stained and ripped and the furniture damaged. The front of house staff are very good and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Front Desk Supervisor at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Catherine H

Thank for your recent review of the Mount Royal Hotel

First and foremost we apologize for the various issues you brought up in your review in regards to the state of the room, this is not consistent with our standards and your comments have been passed on to both our housekeeping and maintenance department to address.

We are however happy to hear that you found our staff helpful and that you enjoyed our location in the Heart of Banff which does make it extremely convenient to enjoy all the Bow Valley has to offer.

We hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future to improve upon this experience.

David Crossland
Front Desk Supervisor
Brewster Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 33 in Banff
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 33 in Banff
1,434 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 33 in Banff
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing