We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel (don't believe the bad reviews)”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Yeovil
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel (don't believe the bad reviews)”
Reviewed 11 February 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a week at the end of January and thought it was a very nice hotel. Our room was really spacious and clean and the bed was very comfy. It is really convenient for skiing as you can catch the buses in the car park at the back of the hotel and collect your skis from the storage room on the way. The location is brilliant, close to all the shops and restaurants. The jacuzzi in the hotel is nice and a nice warm temperature.

I cannot understand some of the negative reviews I have read on here as we had a really good holiday and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Don't be put off staying here as we had nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yeovilwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    406
    253
    119
    59
See reviews for
212
516
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

We stayed at the Mount Royal Hotel for a week while skiing and it was ideal - the rooms were spacious and clean, and the staff were really friendly. The coaches that go to each ski resort pick you up right outside the back of the hotel, and there's good storage for skis and snowboards. It's right in the centre of Banff so perfect for getting to all the restaurants and bars.

The jacuzzi was great, nice and hot. I thought the bathroom in our room was a little dark at first but the shower was really powerful and there was a big mirror so it was good. We asked for a room at the back and were really glad as the view of the Rockies was amazing. It is an old hotel but the rooms looked recently refurbished.

We went to see why people complained about the stairs to the fourth floor... there were four of them (the horror) so the following rooms were on a slightly lower level (which is why they're labelled as on a different floor). There is a lift from the side entrance of the hotel to these rooms as well. Looking at the negative reviews for this hotel - it seems to be the people who stay on this floor, so maybe ask for a different floor if you're worried (we were on the third).

The majority of other people seemed to be there for skiing too, so you can expect tours etc to be staying - the hotel has a quiet policy after 11pm and security so if you experience any noise, reception will sort it out.

We booked the hotel and flights through Inghams so I'm not sure how much the rooms are normally, but it was great value for money for us. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bethmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2010

My husband and I have just spent 11 nights as guests at the Mount Royal and had a wonderful time. Hotel was clean, comfortable, friendly and ideally situated. This is our 7th visit to Banff and would not hesitate to stay at the Mount Royal in the future. Thank you to the Management and staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeisanDudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We stayed in a standard room as part of a package deal . The room was absolutely fine , neither bad nor fantastic , just what we expected . There were two adults and one 12 year old sharing and found it to be a little cramped but not the end of the world . Staff were very helpful . Tony Roma's food was typical Canadian as was the Paddock Grill . Bar area was comfortable and the desserts were to die for . Can't really fault it and the location was brilliant , especially as the coaches pick up for the 3 ski areas out in the carpark .

Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank SoosieH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2010

What a great place for a break. The staff were more than helpfull. Nothing seemed to be to much trouble. The food was very good, and i thought it was a good price for what we had. If there is one fault with this place, it is the rude and incosiderate guests. But if you ignore that, i could not have asked for more. If Nick the barman reads this the statue made it in one piece.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryanfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2010

Stayed here on a skiing trip over Xmas 2007.

When we arrived after a 12 hour journey we were greeted by a friendly australian lady and made to feel at home.

The room was a little shabby (they've probably refurb'd since) and the noise from the upstairs room was quite annoying. There was a Japanese family with 2 young children - the parents allowed them to wear ski boots in the room. The hotel (I think) is timber framed so the noise from the boots became unbearable.

I called the manager (after complaining at the front desk) who came to check on the noise. The manager then moved us to another room for one night but promised us the Presedential Suite for the last 2 nights of our stay. He came up with the goods and moved us in the suite which really made the holiday a truly great experience.

Banff is the kind of place with one road in and one road out. I didnt want to leave. Everywhere we went, from the slopes at Sunshine to the pubs on Banff avenue, the Canadian's really know how to treat their tourists well! Friendly, polite and generally happy happy people.

I want to live in Banff and if I could afford it, I'd live in the Presidential Suite of the Mount Royal!

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank logmeinsucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

The beds couldn't be more confortable! You can have a nice hot bath after skiing or even better a good hot tub. Views from the room were great. The best spot for new year as everyone gathers just outside at 12oclock. All resturants are very close which is good because the price of food and drinks can be a bit eye watering for those trying to watch the pennies. Staff were very helpful. Pick up for skiing is on the doorstep. GREAT HOTEL! :)

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 33 in Banff
1,247 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 33 in Banff
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,431 reviews
0.7 mi away
Charlton's Banff
Charlton's Banff
#24 of 33 in Banff
795 reviews
0.6 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing