We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome time cant wait to go back next year”
Review of Mount Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mount Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome time cant wait to go back next year”
Reviewed 3 March 2011

We were a party of 7 staying in 3 rooms at the Mount Royal for 7 nights. We had read some of the negative reviews on here but needn't of worried. The hotel staff were great very helpful in getting us rooms together and booking taxi's or restaurants for us. The rooms were very clean and bright with 2 large comfy beds and plenty of wardrobe space. We had rooms on both front and back of hotel but were never woken by the buses and any street noise was over by 10pm. There was a group of noisy guests but the hotel staff were very good at getting them to be quiet. There were free tea and coffee facilities in the room. The bathroom was small but clean and with loads of hot water for a nice soak in the bath. We used the jacuzzi every night and it was always hot with plenty of clean towels. The free internet did get to be a bit slow at busy times but was available in all of our rooms.
This hotel is in a great central location for shops and ski bus right outside. We had some fantastic meals in the hotel restaurant Tony Romas and also across the road at The Keg and the Elk & Oarsman.
We would definitely go back to The Mount Royal and cant wait to book next year

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank minione21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 5 March 2011
Good day to you,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Mount-Royal hotel. I’m trilled to see that you had such a positive experience during your stay, we do take pride in providing outstanding customer service trough out the entire hotel. I’m also glad to see that you’ve enjoyed all of the amenities that the hotel has to offer. I will pass on to our staff your positive remarks. The next time you visit our hotel, you will find that the internet will be faster and more reliable. We are currently in the process of updating our system.

Once again, thank-you for your kind words and we hope to see you next year.


Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    266
    406
    253
    119
    59
See reviews for
209
515
63
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2011

I definitely think that for a quick stay in Banff, this is a nice, affordable, and perfectly located hotel.

We had two complaints,

1. The hot tub was barely luke warm, you might as well take a shower if you're looking for hot water. It was disappointing.

2. The staff did not seem too eager to cater to their customers, we called down to front desk to find out if they could send us a bottle opener. The girl on the phone seemed annoyed and said she "didn't think they had any of those", not only is it a very common place small appliance but she didn't even offer to actually find out. Too bad, left us with a bit of a sour taste in our mouths...

Either way, if you're looking for affordability and location, this is a good choice.

Ps, there are no warnings about this - But they're check-in isn't until 4:00 pm, so make sure you're not too early as that can be a very dissapointing surprise!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mknight9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2011
Good afternoon and thank-you for taking the time to right a review regarding your last stay at the Mount-Royal hotel. I’m happy to see that you think our hotel is affordable and very well located, I do agree with you on both count. I will personally make some inquiries to see what happened in regards the your request for a bottle opener. As for our check in time, it is standard and quit common in Banff, however we will be more diligent in the future in informing our guest at the time of reservation. We do strive to be better day in day out and with comments like yours it gives us tools to do just that.

Once again, thank-you for your comments and we hope to see you soon.

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorhead, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2011

I stayed at the Mount Royal for a ski weekend. The location is incredible, as you are right in the heart of Banff Ave. It's a bit dated, but it was clean and the staff was friendly. The only complaint I have is that the hot pool was not hot. If you are looking for upscale lodging, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for decent value for a convenient place to stay in Banff, this is perfect. I will certainly stay there on my next trip to Banff.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siouxspuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback regarding your last stay at the hotel. I agree with you that our location is unbeatable. Right in the heart of Banff and seconds away from all the ski bus pick up. Here at the hotel, we always try to improve our product. You will be happy to hear that the temperature of the Jacuzzi is now warmer, this issue has been resolved thanks in part to comment like yours. On your next visit, make sure to ask our guest service agents for a list of our new add on.

We hope to see you soon.

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

The Mount Royal is a good quality hotel. No, it doesn't have huge rooms, but they are plenty big enough for a snowboarding trip to Banff!

The good:
- Really, really central location, right in the heart of Banff
- Free parking - limited directly behind the hotel, but they have secured more in the area next door.
- Adequate sized rooms with two comfy queen sized beds
- The front desk staff are friendly and efficient
- The bathroom was limited, but good showers with lots of hot water
- Good ski/snowboard locker

The bad:
- The walls are a bit thin, so if you have noisy neighbours then it can be annoying.
- The WIFI internet is free, but from my room on the third floor the signal was all but non-existent, so rather useless.
- The hot tub / jacuzzi is too cool.

All in all, if you can get a good deal on this hotel, go for it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CazLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 15 February 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay at the Mount-royal hotel. I’m happy to see that you had a good experience at the hotel. Our location and well trained staff are some of our biggest assets, central location in Banff is for sure convenient. We are in the process of upgrading our internet service. Hopefully the next time you choose to visit us, you will find that that specific service is more reliable.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon

Hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

If you enjoy loud drunk people shouting outside your window each night until 4 so that you cannot sleep, this hotel is for you. If you like not having hot water in winter, you will feel right at home. If you expect the "hot pool" to be under maintenance, book now.
Smelly carpets. The dining room downstair's food is inedible.
Left some items behind in a drawer, contacted them immediately via email. Took a week tor them respond after repeated calls and emails. Still not resolved, not even an apology.
There are really very nice other places at same or better prices also right in Banff.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomad1966A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Banff hotels

australia
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2011

we stayed here for one night and were very disapointed, we paid over $300 aust . The room was tired, small and the furniture was not matching. The view out of our window was on all the hotel/shop roofs from the main street. We could'nt even watch tv from one of the beds because the cabinet had doors on it and would'nt open far enough. we requested a cot for our baby and it took about an hour to come- when it did arrive we got no linen to go with it. the bathroom is small and very average. no breakfast inc. in general we were very disppointed and felt we paid way too much.....

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 21 January 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your most recent stay with the Mount Royal Hotel.

As a Historic Hotel our hotel is one of the oldest buildings in Banff, which restricts us from being as modern as some of the newer hotels in the town. We do offer a variety of different packages for our guests to choose from one of which is a bed and breakfast package available at the time of booking. I appreciate the comment regarding the crib for your baby and will speak with my concierge desk regarding the speed at which your request was executed at. We strive to provide a high level of customer service each and every day. As we are one of the only hotels located right in the heart of Banff Avenue most guests choose our property due to our service and location.

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canadian rockies
Level Contributor
99 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

This historic Hotel has a great location for shopping and dining in Banff. The staff was good and check in/out quick. We had two rooms. The first was a basic room, small but efficient. The second a suite with king bedroom. Separate living area was nice and spacious. Two TVs but a small bathroom. Older, historic property but maintained and clean. Convenient having a restaurant and lounge on site. quiet at night, but could be noisier in the summertime with street traffic. Individual heat controls was a bonus.
Reasonable prices considering it is Banff. Does have hot tub.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharealoha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRHGuestServices, Manager at Mount Royal Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2011
Good day to you,

Thank-you for taking the time to wright a review we do appreciate it. I'm happy to see that you had a godd experience at the hotel, I do agree with you, we do have a great location, close to shops and all restaurants it is an asset of ours.
You are correct in saying that our property is historic, it's the second oldest hotel in Banff, 101 years old. It is part of the charm of the hotel I beleive.
Individual heat control in all of our rooms makes it a more confortable stay, I do agree iwth you.
So once again, thank-you for taking the time to wright a review, it does help us.
Hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Hotel management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.3 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#11 of 32 in Banff
1,172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
Banff Ptarmigan Inn
#26 of 32 in Banff
1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#6 of 32 in Banff
1,393 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#22 of 32 in Banff
722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Royal Hotel

Property: Mount Royal Hotel
Address: 138 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mount Royal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Due to the December 2016 fire, the hotel is now closed and under renovation. In the heart of Banff, the Mount Royal Hotel offers 135, comfortably appointed and recently renovated guest rooms. All rooms offer a window view and come with 37" LCD TV's, coffee maker, digital clock radio, telephone with voicemail, electronic in-room safe and iron/board & board, hair dryer, climate control (heat and air conditioning)and bathroom amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mount Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mount Royal Banff
Hotel Mount Royal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing