We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay, Slightly Dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Nice Stay, Slightly Dated”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed at the Rimrock first part of July 2013...The hotel provided us with a slightly obstructed view of the forest/mountain range which was very pretty. Try and request a room that does not view the parking area. The concierge was helpful and pleasant, the bellhops were very helpful and friendly as well.

The room did not have a balcony but it did have one window that would open for fresh air if one desires. Central heat and air was available in the room with a safe along with a small coffee maker, and a refrigerator. There was snacks available for an additional charge if needed.The room seemed to have newer carpet and was very clean in all regards. The hotel is slightly dated with some stained carpets in the main hallways leading to the rooms.

There is a small area that provided coffee service and pastries on the main level for purchase if needing a quick breakfast. There was also self parking available for 16.00 per day or 30.00 for valet.

The hotel is a very short drive to Banff town or they have a complimentary shuttle that is provided thru the towns public transportation service for Rimrock guests. Also, the hotel is literally in walking distance to the gondola ride up Sulphur Mtn.and also to the mineral baths.

I personally am glad to have stayed at the Rimrock rather than in town and on two diferent occassions we saw elk just prior to entering the hotel...once in the early morning (8:00 am) and once in the evening.The hotel was clean, peaceful, and provided a nice view, although it was slightly dated. I would not hesitate to stay there again though.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Rimrock Resort Hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us, and were even able to enjoy a treat from our Coffee Shop. We appreciate your feedback in regards to the carpet in our guest hallways and are happy to share that we are constantly in transition mode to make our hotel appear that best it can.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,868
    1,146
    416
    178
    116
See reviews for
1,214
2,245
101
528
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (916)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in Banff at the end of June/early July and thought it was overrated for the price. The rooms were nice, clean and air conditioned, but there was nothing really special about this hotel. The elevators in the hotel were really annoying and confusing. Certain elevators went to certain floors/parts of the hotel, so the first day we walked around in circles a lot. We probably would have been happy in a lower priced hotel closer to Banff Avenue. The one good thing about this hotel is that it is walking distance to Sulphur Mountain and the Banff Hot Springs. But if you want to get to the main strip you'll need a car, a taxi or you'll need to catch the bus, as it's quite far away. We also were disturbed by how expensive and terrible the food was at the little grab and go cafe. We suggest grabbing food at the local grocery store off of Banff Avenue or going to one of the many great restaurants off of the main strip. All in all, when I return to Banff I probably won't be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelle_r64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
I was surprised and dissapointed to read that you did not enjoy your time with us, as much as we aim to have you do. I appreciate your feedback and can assure you that we take your comments into account when making duture business decisions. One of the unique features of our buidling, is that we are situated on the side of Sulpher Mountain, it allows us to maximize the amazing views that we can offer, but can also lead to some special directional needs. I hope that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary ROAM transit system that we offer at the hotel, to travel from town and back. I have passed on your comments in regards to the coffee shop, and encourage you to visit and try our in-house made truffles on your next visit to the area.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antoine62
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

we stayed in a room with an amazing view. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The food in the primrose restaurant was disappointing the sauce for the Mussels was bland and the Halibut smelt fishy. We did not complain at the time but on reflection felt we should have.

Room Tip: ask for room with view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank antoine62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2013
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your view ~ each day looks different in the mountains, and we are proud that we are able to provide the best views in Banff. Thank you for your comments in regards to the menu items, I have passed on your feedback to our Executive Chef.

Please let me know if I can be of any additional assistance.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

So, when we checked in the only room they had had 2 queen beds and we preferred a king so they offered us an upgrade that included 15% off food and beverage and free valet parking which we accepted. The room was fantastic, huge, view fabulous, got free turndown service with chocolates and our every whim was catered for with a smile. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tpw226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

We just returned from a weekend away at the Rimrock. The staff were wonderful and so very helpful. The hotel itself is just lovely. It isn't in the heart of the village so a car is handy to get to the village/restaurants/shopping, etc. However, because it is off the beaten bath, you are surrounded by the mountains and tranquility.

Having coming from a few days at a hotel in downtown Calgary which was in a very busy and noisy location, the Rimrock was just what we needed to unwind. Our bed was so comfortable and the room itself was spacious. The only downfall was we were offered to upgrade our room for a mountain view which cost us $50/night. The view certainly wasn't worth the $50 considering we were hardly in the room anyway. In order to see the "mountain view" we had to stand in the corner of the room which obviously isn't what we were looking for.

All in all, a great stay!

Room Tip: If you are considering a mountain-view room, ask to see the room first. Many of the rooms do not ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzanneQ Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

After a long drive, the check in experience was quick and easy. the reception was a wonderful experience, they were fast to make you feel special and accommodate all of your needs. they definitely went the extra mile.
the hotel is very unassuming from the road then you walk to the view and it is breathe taking.
All of the staff was friendly and helpful.
The food was good and reasonable
Great experience all way round

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

One can pretty much stay anywhere in Banff, Alberta, the famous Canadian Rocky Mountain town, and have a really good time. The scenic setting has caused there to be so many hotels that competition is fierce especially in a recession.

Having selected the Rimrock with its fine mountain views, little did we know that the entire place was run by young people with no leadership or overseer available to assure that the hotel's 4 stars offered a consistent guest experience..

Our check in request for our 3 night stay was for a quiet room with no noise potential from public rooms nearby, from ice machines, or from guest rooms with adjoining interior doors to the next room. Since the hotel was running at a very high vacancy rate, we were 'assured' that this was able to be easily done.

We slept well the first night. However on the 2nd night after a very busy day out, we repeatedly heard for hours loud noises at the headboard end of our room. In investigating outside our room down a hallway, we discovered a door marked PRIVATE for STAFF which coincided with our room's exterior wall: surprisingly, it was a staff entrance to the hotel's restaurant which lead directly onto wooden floors where the constant footsteps of diners and staff, and chairs grating across wooden floors were clearly heard in our room until the late closing and after all staff had cleaned up and left. When we asked the front desk to send someone down to explain to us how in a nearly empty hotel with the request for quiet we had made, they had assigned us to a room with the certainty of late night repeated noise, they had nothing to say including an apology.

When we asked to speak to the manager or GM, we were told he wasn't on the property but in another city. The 2 staff with whom we were dealing had no interest in the problem their mistaken room assignment had caused us. It now appeared this hotel's appearance and setting were superior to its staff's interest and abilities.

Night 3 began after another busy day involved in outdoor activities. When we returned to the hotel at 7:40 pm, there was no power in our room. When we called the front desk, we were told the entire area of Banff was without power. Knowing that all areas sometime have power outages, we asked why there was light in the lobby and the bar, but not in individual guest rooms - not even a single light bulb to enable moving about safely in an unknown room with suitcases around the perimeter. As this was occurring, a loud check in began right next door on the other side of the interior joining door we had asked not to have. When we had inquired at check in about the door having been there, we were told there would be no noise since no one was in that room. But the front desk didn't bother to maintain that status in spite of the hotel's occupancy now being next to nil due to the inability of guests to reach Banff because of the Calgary floods.

Tired from the sleeplessness from the noise the night before, and which quite obviously was repeating itself with the loud voices of the newly arrived twenty something year old guests on the other side of our interior door, we went to the front desk to the employee who had assigned us this incorrect room. We asked him to follow our original request for a quiet room with no interior door, ( and the restaurant noise was nil since it was closed as so few guests were in the hotel) and to re assign to a different room these new guests who were still bringing in their belongings. He had zero interest in doing so by saying he "couldn't" and that he didn't "recall" our quiet requests. Still there was no management to talk to as we were told the GM was still in a different city.

Given that we were certainly not paying for another sleepless night in a hotel so absurdly unsafe that it didn't generate power into guest rooms, (which apparently went on for 8+ hours) and had disengaged employees who met none of the room request to which they had agreed on arrival, we packed, left and easily found accommodation with electricity generated in our room and total quiet for sleep. Fortunately Banff doesn't become dark until around 9:30 pm since it is so far west in its time zone and we were able to complete all this before darkness.

A follow up letter to the GM has brought defensiveness and arrogance in response - oh, what a surprise! Isn't that why the hotel is so mismanaged? And why employees don't have to do their jobs? In spite of him not having been physically on the premises for the 2 days we were, he replied that he "had a very good understanding of what transpired after talking with his colleagues who had interacted with us during our stay". Yes, I'm sure they emphasized to him how carefully they met the details of our 'quiet' requirement and their careful assigning of noisy guests to the room beside us in a nearly empty hotel. Often when there is a problem such as this, one can clearly see it is because there is no concern or respect from the top downwards.

In pursuing this Fawlty Towers of the West with the town of Banff administration who have been very helpful, it is most noteworthy that this hotel since it is built outside the jurisdiction of Banff, is free of the obligations it would have to fulfill if it were inside that boundary. That doesn't build a feeling of confidence for one's safety, does it?

So if you want to spend top dollar, have your original (room) requests repeatedly ignored, and be in a noisy, sleepless, unsafe environment without even a light bulb of generated light in your room during a power blackout - well then this would be your hotel of choice.

Imagine the disaster of a fire occurring here in a National Park full of trees when guest rooms didn't have light or sane hotel management or leadership? Isn't this what happened on the Costa Concordia? Absentee leadership and staff who were without proper instruction and training while the captain escaped to safety on the sidelines?

Why would this hotel lobby and bar be fully light all night long with hotel generated power, and not a tiny bit of power would have been engineered and designed to be in guest rooms? Were guests who came to the hotel to sleep supposed to stay up all night in the bar or lobby? Why pay for a room if to be safe you needed to be in a publicly light room?

The Rimrock's view and physical appearance hide what danger and incompetence lie within. How surprised and disappointed we were. Appearances are sometimes deceiving.

Consider asking at any hotel where you stay, " Do you have emergency generated light in each guest room?" "What commitment will you make to ensuring that we have quiet, restful nights without disturbance?"

Just don't ask at the Rimrock; they don't tell the truth.

Take your own personal steps in advance to stay safe wherever you travel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
It is disappointing to hear that we were unable to meet your requests during our local state of emergency. We hope our readership can understand the circumstances around which this review was completed. We attempted to assist each guest during this trying time, and the response we have received for our assistance and dedication to providing a safe and supportive environment has been amazing. We thank each guest for the understanding, empathy, and compassion showed throughout this time, and look forward to providing a truly unique Rimrock Experience moving forward.

Yours In Hospitality,

Cara Ullyot
Manager of Guest Services
403.762.1806
cara.ullyot@rimrockresort.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,102 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,104 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing