We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genuine Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 34 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My recent stay at The Rimrock was for business purposes. The level of service from the moment I stepped out of my car was excellent. Everyone had a genuine smile on their face when they greeted me. The staff were quick to ensure I was taken care of.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dellisia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and we thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience.

We always strive to enhance every guest experience in any way we can, including a friendly smile from whomever you encounter. If you have the opportunity to join as again for a personal visit you may want to take some time to relax in our Spa and enjoy the true beauty of the Rocky Mountains.

Sincerely,
Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,791 - 3,797 of 5,151 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

This is a hotel organization that knows how to satisfy guests! Our room was super spacious, very clean and wonderfully comfortable in every way. The mountain views are unbeatable. We enjoyed our dinners at the Primrose restaurant and at the lobby bar. The cute coffee shop was an added convenience for a quick breakfast. We highly recommend the Rimrock and would love to stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience in many of our fine outlets, as well as the amazing view from your room.

Did you know that the Rimrock is located 5,550 ft. above sea level allowing us to have the most spectacular views in the Bow Valley? We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

stayed in the Rimrock twice in september 2013. The hotel is very well maintained, the staff is friendly and helpfull.

The location is close to the Banff Gondola and close to the Upper Banff Springs.
Yet its about 2-3 miles to downtown on a very steep road. A car is recommended though there is a bus-stop for the free Banff public transport at the hotel entrance.

Food was very good, yet the restaurant was a little expensive.

I enjoyed my stay in the Rimrock and will definitely come back

Room Tip: The lobby is on floor 7, while the rooms are below the lobby. The entrance to the self parking is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canyonlands2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Front Office Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review The Rimrock. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. It is great to hear that you were able to take advantage of the attractions nearby.
We hope you will be able to visit us again and perhaps be able to take advantage of numerous dining specials that we offer throughout the year.

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

It's a nice hotel and clean. The bed was especially comfortable.The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Great views from the room and lovely buffet breakfast. and very close to Gondola and Upper springs.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us ~ and were able to take advantage of the proximity of the Gondola and Hot Springs.

We look forward to your next stay! You should see the Hot Springs when the snow is surrounding them.

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Hotel is amazing, great value and the size of the room was very spacious. Live paino player on the Saturday night in the lounge which just added to the whole experience. Will certainly stay at the RimRock again

Room Tip: we stayed in a room with a king bed and a valley view. It was amazing value for the price. Will cer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of enjoying the live pianist in the Larkspur Lounge on Saturday night.

We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

This was our first time in Banff. We decided upon checking in, to upgrade our room to one with a better view. We are so glad we did. The upgraded views make a huge difference in the overall experience. Nothing like watching the sunrise/sunset from the comfort of your room. The bed was very comfortable and the location of the resort was far enough to feel like it was different from the rest, but close enough to the "downtown" area.

Staff were very nice. We spoke at length with the man who served us drinks in the main restaurant, and he gave us some great suggestions on what to do during our time in Banff. He was very helpful.

We rented a car and did the sulphur mountain tour, and a visit to Lake Louise. I would suggest to anyone going up for a visit, get a car as it's a bit difficult to get around without a car.

Finally, I would say although it was a great experience, it was generally overpriced. We would have loved to have a nice dinner at the hotel, however the price was just far too much so we decided to go elsewhere. We did have breakfast the following morning at the restaurant, and you are essentially paying for the stunning view. A memorable experience for. Sure (having breakfast mountainside), but the food itself was just ok.

Overall, it was a great experience and we would visit again for sure. This time around though, we will save more of our pennies before going ;)

Room Tip: Get a room with the view.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience after your recent trip to us. It is a delight to read that you had a great experience with us, and that you will be visiting again! Our staff's passion for providing our guests with WOW experiences is certainly what sets us apart.
We hope on your next trip you will be able to join us in Larkspur Lounge for some great food, at great prices.

We look forward to your next stay!

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights on a deal which was perhaps where we drew a short straw. Our room on the 5th floor was the worst in our Canadian trip. It was in desperate need of maintenance and a good clean as were other areas of the hotel such as the corridors and elevators. We asked for a different room when we arrived as we were also expecting just one double bed, not two in the same room, but were told we would have to pay 75 more a night! there were black marks all over the walls and skirting where it had been knocked by cleaning carts and bags. The mirror frame on the door was missing a large chunk so there was just stripped wood. The heating/air con rattled. There was sticky grime on the bottom of the bathroom mirror which looked like it had been there years, and is probably still there. Cleaning varied but was not great- the first night just the top sheet of the bed had been pulled over and the under sheets were still as we had left them. Pool area was nice but needed more cleaning, and only one hairdryer?! The bus pass was the best thing and the proximity to the gondola. If anyone had actually asked us how our stay was they would have found this out then, but they were more bothered to just take the money. I don't think anything would have been done. Not at all what we expected for a hotel of this supposed level. We would stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holly d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Guest Relations Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

We apologize for the disappointing stay you had with us at The Rimrock. Our goal is provide exceptional service, and create great experiences ~ and it is disheartening to read that we fell short on your experience.
We appreciate the feedback, and a hotel representative would be happy to discuss your experience further with you.

Sincerely,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
2 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 34 in Banff
2,213 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 34 in Banff
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 34 in Banff
1,487 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#14 of 34 in Banff
2,101 reviews
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £93 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing