We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“5 stars”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Great service at the main lobby restaurant.
Room kept very clean and tidy each of our stay.
Hotel location near to Gondola lift, hot spring pool, downtown shopping & eating places. Best mountain views.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jason K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience after your recent stay at The Rimrock. We are happy to see that you got to take advantage of our close proximity to the Banff Gondola and Upper Hot Springs, both only a five minute walk from the hotel, as well as enjoy the town centre and Larkspur Lounge in the hotel lobby.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,793
    1,107
    400
    173
    113
See reviews for
1,181
2,181
98
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carstairs
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Rimrock is our go to for special occasions. We were greeted with chocolate dipped strawberries on our arrival to our room. It was our anniversary and we appreciated the thoughtful touch.
The room was spotlessly clean,and very quiet. We had a corner suite and view of the mountain side. I find it more private than the other mountain front facing rooms. From those windows you can see into the next room.
We saw some deer and a few birds.
The lounge area has beautiful views and great service. Drinks are more $ but thats what we expect at these type of high end hotels. Hubby loved the watermelon mojito! We ate the one evening in the lounge and food was excellent.
We had wanted to dine at the Eden restaurant but it was totally booked out for a function so we went to the Primrose restaurant instead and had an excellent meal there.
The Spa service is lovely, great staff and very relaxing.
They have bus passes to go into Banff and the bus came every 40 minutes.
You pay for parking which I still find irksome when you are staying in the hotel. If you book through Rimrock direct then cost is $16.00 per night. Otherwise $21.00.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

It's unfortunate that you were unable to dine with us at the Eden during your most recent stay, but truly hope you get to enjoy our the five-diamond dining room on your next visit.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Loved the hotel, the view of the mountains, the resort location, the food and the attentive staff. It was our anniversary and the staff up-graded the room and left a sweet treat for our arrival. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Travel2223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us and thank you for sharing your special day with us here at the Rimrock!

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service! We look forward to your next visit.

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The Rimrock is a quiet and friendly hotel set a small distance out of the main part of Banff. At first we thought this might have been a disadvantage but the hotel provides free passes for the local bus which runs into town and back about twice an hour. We had a superior room which had two queen size beds and was very comfortable. Our window view was of the forest and mountain which when we were there were quite often shrouded in cloud. The staff are knowledgeable and helpful and looked after us very well. The foyer is imposing in an understated way and lends an elegance to the place. Our three night stay was most enjoyable and we would recommend it. The only minor drawback was we were on the "wrong" wing of the hotel with a fair walk to the spa and hotel shops.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock! We're happy to see that you took advantage of our complimentary bus passes to shuttle you back and forth from town.

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff and the property, it is a pleasure for us to share your feedback with the rest of our team.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

From check in until check out, everything was perfect. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was quite good. Every room has a view of the mountains. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Gail V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock, and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the view from your room and food in our dining outlets.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed for one night at the Rimrock in June 2014 - our 8th floor King bed room was fairly spacious and also had two comfortable chairs by the large picture windows to take in the view of the valley. We enjoyed drinks in the Larkspur Lounge in front of the large two-storey windows - drinks aren't cheap but they have some unique selections available. We also enjoyed dinner in the Primrose dining room. The Primrose has an Italian theme and the food we ordered was excellent. I had a seafood egg noodle dish with a marscapone reduction that was very rich but very tasty. My wife had the rotini (substituted angel hair) with arugula pesto which was good but lacked significant flavours (she added salt to add a bit to it). Otherwise, the view from the dining room was once again fantastic as it overlooked the valley below the hotel. It's not a cheap hotel and you are definitely paying a premium for the view but it's worth the indulgence sometimes.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigcanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience after your recent stay at The Rimrock. We are pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your room and dining on our property, and look forward to your next visit to the area. On your next visit, we invite you to enjoy our third restaurant in the hotel, Eden, which is our five-diamond, award winning, amazing dining experience (and the only five-diamond restaurant west of Toronto!)

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,
Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Rimrock staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Food is quite good. Rooms very comfortable and clean. One minor negative was the difficulty in getting service in the main lobby lounge on the night after our conference banquet. There didn't appear to be enough servers to handle the crowd although you would think the hotel would be able to guess how busy the lounge would be that night.
Overall it was a very pleasant stay and we would book this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Vic D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us and that you were able to join us for the Broadcaster's Conference of 2014. We look forward to welcoming you back many times!

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,070 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing