We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RimRockin!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Northbrook, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“RimRockin!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Great hotel - beautiful facilities; beautiful rooms; stunning views! Excellent food but the staff is not afraid to send you into Banff for dinner.

Great service - the staff genuinely cares about your stay!


  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Williamsburg67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

On your next stay we invite you to indulge in our Eden Restaurant. Eden is renowned for its delicately crafted French cuisine, influenced by fresh local ingredients. Eden has been honored for the tenth straight year with AAA / CAA 5-Diamond and "Best of Award of Excellence" Wine Spectator awards.

If you are travelling with your family you might want to try our Primrose Restaurant. It is a casual yet elegant Italian Dining Room. The Primrose offers a wide range of flavorful Italian dishes. Our children's menu will suit the younger family members. Our menu has a wide array of fresh Italian fare. Enjoy a delicious a la carte breakfast or our extensive buffet to start your day off.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Rimrock in the future.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,954
    1,191
    438
    185
    121
See reviews for
1,269
2,326
105
537
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (948)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Make no mistake; the Rimrock in Banff is one of only two large, upscale hotels with fabulous views in town. (The other is the Fairmont Banff Springs.) Both have their challenges and advantages. We've stayed at the Rimrock many, many times. They never remember us and never upgrade us, but we do always get the room type we reserved. This time the room was in good working order, well furnished and well laid-out. At this hotel, even if you don't get a valley view (a.k.a. the Million Dollar View), you still get something pretty to look at. There really isn't a bad view I don't think. On our most recent stay, service was just fine and room was in working order. Maintenance around the property was another thing altogether. With nearly 100% occupancy rates in the summer and brisk business much of the rest of the year, they have no incentive to keep the place up, but what a shame. It could be such a beautiful hotel. The outdoor area on the fitness center level has a lawn that desperately needs care and a good gardner, and decking that needs replacing or stripping and repainting; the wood rail outside of the lobby level loung on the balcony has dry rot and needs repair; hallways and especially service doors have horrendous scuffs, dings, marks and scratches that have been neglected; carpets are old and showing wear; fitness center has rattletrap, noisy equipment that is not Precor brand (as any hotel that charges these rates should have) and the room is kept far too hot for a safe and healthy workout (they claim that the air conditioning works but nonetheless keep a door to the outside open that does not promote air movement - during my two workouts there the temperature actually rose rather than fell even though I closed the door, and set the A/C to a low temperature and high fan speed); valets were prompt with the car but never opened a car door, offered directions, an umbrella or a bottle of water - just tossed us the keys and sent us on our way (our reward for paying $30/night for the service). Would so love to see management bring the surroundings up to good working order, sparkling and fresh, and keep it that way. Staff were all very friendly and nice if not well-versed on 5-star service (see above about valets; front desk staff did not inquire on check-out as to the quality of our stay) but there is such room for improvement. As noted above, there is no need for keeping up on maintenance when a hotel is running at nearly 100% occupancy but if they did, they could charge more and bring up the average room quality in Banff overall. How nice would that be?

Room Tip: Valley view is the "Million Dollar View"; mountain view is the less desirable view but sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChickadeeX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to share your experience after your recent stay at The Rimrock.

We appreciate your feedback and a member of our service team will be in contact to discuss your experience further.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This hotel is in an excellent location, close to the hot springs and Sulphur Mountain Gondola, yet very quiet and well situated in a beautiful natural setting. The staff are very knowledgable and friendly, and provide a high quality of service. The food is excellent and reasonably priced. In my view, this is the best hotel in Banff. Had a great 2 night stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Steven John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

We are pleased to hear your were able to enjoy the Banff Gondola and the Upper Hotsprings which located within walking distance from the hotel.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Spectacular hotel away from the hub bub of downtown Banff. Sitting outside at Larkspur restaurant was a memorable experience. Prices were reasonable and atmosphere was unbeatable. Service was exceptional. Hiking up Sulpher Mountain (across from hotel) was delightful.
I want to be there now.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Karen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

We are pleased to hear you took advantage of the close by hiking trail to Sulphur Mountain. For those who do not like to hike, the Banff Gondola will also allow you access to the Top of the mountain from where you can enjoy some spectacular views of the surrounding area.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer County
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We have stayed in many hotels over the years in Banff and The Rimrock Resort is our favorite. We have children ages 9 & 11, so a pool is mandatory. The Rimrock Resorts indoor pool is always a hit. The cleanliness is very important to us and again the Rimrock delivers. What I like the most is the beauty and ambience of the hotel. The location is not close to downtown Banff but they do offer a transportation service, though we have never used it. We always bring our car and self parking is $16.00/night.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Denell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

It is great to hear that your kids enjoy our indoor pool. Our Spa and Fitness Area also offers a fully equipped gym as well as a squash court, hot tub, sauna and steam room.

We do provide complimentary bus passes to all of our guests to the Roam Public Transit System. With the bus stop being right by the hotel it offers our guests a comfortable and easy commute into the town of Banff without having to worry about finding parking downtown.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Rimrock Hotel and Resort was the most amazing experience I have had when staying in a hotel. The amenities and service (and of course the view and location) make the Hilton look like a Holiday Inn.
Wonderful experience...can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kammyandmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock! We are happy to hear that our facilities and amenities exceeded your expectations.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back to the Rimrock in the future.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I was very impressed with all aspects of my stay. From the moment I pulled up to the front door, the staff, rooms, location and food exceeded all my expectations. I have no hesitation in recommending this resort.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

Yours In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banff
2.0 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,160 reviews
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,050 reviews
10.6 mi away
Stoneridge Mountain Resort by CLIQUE
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#2 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing