We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First trip to Banff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rimrock Resort Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First trip to Banff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

A fantastic place to stay. Staff and facilities were absolutely perfect and very helpful. Gave us great recommendations for local restaurants and activities. Staff were quite knowledgeable and clearly high trained. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank bmax2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your most recent experience here at The Rimrock.

We are pleased to hear that your interactions with our team members was top notch.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,746
    1,091
    395
    170
    110
See reviews for
1,151
2,163
97
486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Location - 5
Rimrock hotel is situated at a great location for the Sulphur Mountain hike, gondola rides, and hot springs. The day we went had been full of people, being peak season summer and a long weekend, but we had no trouble with parking and fighting traffic to get back to town where most of the hotels were since ours was just a walk away.

Amenities - 3.5
The gym was clean, machines relatively new, and had a variety of weight and cardio. I preferred the whirlpool at Rimrock over the upper banff hot springs -less ppl and pretty much the same experience indoor. Pool is shallow enough to stand throughout. No real deep end. Showers were clean. One drawback is that the dry sauna was coed.

Service - 3.5
I think the concierge we asked forgot about our microwave oven request. We had to call in again to ask after a few hours. Our lock wasn't working properly and the head security came in right away to fix it. I did really appreciate letting us check in early, as soon as the room was ready a little after noon.

Room 4
The room was clean. The view of the mountains was great and I liked the ottoman. Great selection of teas.

Value 3
I definitely think it was way overpriced. Given, we did go on a long weekend Sunday, I still didn't see this place costing $400 for the night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michella D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of your recent experience with us. We appreciate your feedback and have brought it forward to the appropriate department heads for further follow-up.

We look forward to your next visit ~ Remember to book direct with us to take advantage of our Experience Rimrock Service and Save promotion!

In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skokie, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was there Jul 24-28th, 2014. They do everything top notch. They use your last name when you eat in the restaurant. special orders and fussy people are not at all a problem. we had a standard and a Grandview king. the Grandview king if booked thru the hotel comes with 15% of all food and beverage service also free valet parking. its a walk to the gondola, amazing views from the main lobby, all rooms are large. I would definably do a car in Banff that way you can go to all the different locations. Also there is great hiking walking distance. also the food and beverage discount is done right away by the front desk so its not a hassle. beds are great. Breakfast is great value. also the staff gives their honest opinion about things in the area. (ie go here instead of here because..) I WILL be back to this hotel.
also I sell travel for a living and I tend to be fussy.

Room Tip: do the Grandview rooms, even though its more. also if you have a aaa card, they will give you a disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan-travelpriories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock
Our service team has great pride in delivering WOW experiences to our guests and it is a pleasure to share your feedback with them.

We are pleased to here you were able to take advantage of valet parking and the 15% discount on food and beverage when booking a Grandview Room.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kearney, Nebraska
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

The Rimrock hotel was beautiful, set in the Canadian Rockies with wonderful views in all directions. We were a little disappointed in our room though, we sprung for a room upgrade while booking only to find out on check in that our room was on a lower level with only a view of a few trees. Be careful if trying to "upgrade" a room as in our case it did no good. The conference center was nice and the spa was very good. The masseuse was maybe the best we've ever had. Banff is one of our favorite places that we have visited and we will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share with us your most recent stay here at The Rimrock.

We are pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of our Spa facilities.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Excellent hotel, great location close to town but out of the crowds. Food and service was great. At the high end but worth the price. Our only criticism of Banff, not the hotel, is that the shuttle system is inadequate.



  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to your next arrival. We are pleased to share that the Banff Transit team has heard your feedback and has actively worked to put in new systems to ensure that all of our guests are able to benefit from the great form of transportation into the townsite of Banff.

Remember to book directly with us to take advantage of our Experience Rimrock Service and Save promotion!

In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

very nice clean hotel
good location
breakfast was very good
overall its worth the money compare to other hotel in banff
the only thing i did not like about the hotel is parking.
i will be back for sure


  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are delighted that you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

If you want to stay at the Fairmont but are, like me, shocked by the prices there, you can't go wrong with the Rimrock. It was absolutely fabulous. Our room (a "Superior" mountain view room) had a great view of the mountains as well as the courtyard of the hotel. The restaurants are really good and if you choose the "casual" restaurant on the seventh floor (the one with the balcony overlooking the mountains) it's actually not too expensive. We had the breakfast package (well worth it) and the breakfast was as good as the Fairmont. It also has a very nice indoor pool and hot tub and a courtyard with a small grassy area (with lounge chairs) with a terrific view of the mountain. Oh and the hotel is located about a five-minute walk from the gondola and hot springs. It is a short drive into town which I didn't mind as I don't think the actual town of Banff is that interesting (you go for the outdoors and the view,etc) but you don't want to drive or don't have a car there is a free bus that runs fairly frequently. Really for a bit more than the places in town (but still far cheaper than the Fairmont) I'd say the Rimrock is well worth it.

Room Tip: Before you book with a third-party call the hotel and see what packages they have available. The adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnnycanuck72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rimrock_Mgmnt, Manager at Rimrock Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your most recent experience with us at The Rimrock.

We are pleased to hear you were able to enjoy the Banff Gondola and the Upper Hot Springs which are located within walking distance from the hotel. We do provide complimentary bus passes to all of our guests for the Roam Public Transit System. With the bus stop being right by the hotel it offers our guests a comfortable and easy commute into the town of Banff without having to worry about finding parking downtown.

Remember to book direct to take advantage of our Best Rate Guarantee Program and best in class service!

In Hospitality,

Rimrock Resort Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
2.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
2.2 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,061 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
2.8 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rimrock Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rimrock Resort Hotel

Property: Rimrock Resort Hotel
Address: 300 Mountain Avenue | Box 1110, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1J2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#1 Business Hotel in Banff
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Banff
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#3 Luxury Hotel in Banff
#3 Spa Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rimrock Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 346
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rimrock Resort Hotel is a AAA/CAA Four Diamond Hotel located in the heart of the Canadian Rockies and Banff National Park. The Rimrock Resort Hotel offers exceptional views of the Canadian Rockies, fine dining, a luxury spa, along with special accommodation packages to suit your vacation needs. With unmatched style, decor and superb hospitality, the Rimrock Resort Hotel is a very special place to visit for a truly remarkable experience. Enjoy the Canadian Rockies in Rimrock style. You will see the difference! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Rimrock Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rimrock Hotel Banff
Rimrock Resort Banff
Banff Rimrock Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing