We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hot tub and excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hot tub and excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

More akin to some European hotels with the design details, excellent breakfast and service. Though the room was somewhat small, it was clean, adequate, the hotel was centrally located, and the reason we came to Banff was to be outside!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    529
    592
    154
    54
    26
See reviews for
277
706
45
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

So many things we want to highlight....The hotel location was perfect, so close to everything. The breakfast included was great with enough variety and the breakfast room was beautiful. We looked forward to the hot tub next to the fireplace at the end of our days after we had been out all day hiking, site seeing and shopping. We want to thank Barbara Kosterski who we met shortly after checking in. She asked us what we had planned to do and see while in Banff. We told her our to do list and she made suggestions on what part of the days we should do what. She also suggested a couple things that weren't on our "to do/see" list that we were so happy we were able to add on. We ended one evening at Moraine Lake for dinner......so beautiful and food was wonderful. We will never forget that tea house at the top of Plain of Six Glaciers hike in Lake Lousie. Again she recommended this hike over the others. Thank you Barbara and thanks to the rest of the staff that made our stay at Banff Aspen Lodge an unforgetable time as we celebrated our 10 year wedding anniversary. Cheers!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet_Mark_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

Ideally for a family as we got a suite type room with a double bed (for me and my wife) and 2 single beds (1 for each of the boys). The two parts of the suite are separated by a corridor with 2 washbasins outside the bathroom. Although the suite is not very big, this clever set-up makes it great to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arthurbolder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2011

Banff is a lovely place to visit and a hotel like this the ideal base. Facilities such as free secured parking and free wifi, great room which is two minute walk from town and very knowledgeable and friendly service make this a recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palinscamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Perfect stay. Comfortable and quiet room (we had one at the back of the building), very friendly and helpful staff, good healthy food for breakfast, at walking distance from restaurants, free parking, free wifi. Really nothing negative to say about this hotel. We didn't have the time to try the hot tub, even if it looked inviting! Would go back anytime.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

Service was friendly, rooms were clean, location was not too far away from downtown Banff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrantMassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

We stayed in a a premier room that was great for the family. Two sleeping areas separated by a bathroom, one with a queen, the other with two twins. The hot tub in the center of the courtyard was great. This was in easy walking distance of downtown and very convenient. There was a loud gathering in the courtyard one evening. We called the front desk and they took care of it immediately. I was concerned about hot tub noise from the courtyard, but they shut it down promptly at 10pm, so it wasn't an issue. The one draw back with the room was that it faced Banff Ave, which seemed to be loud at all hours of the day, both from cars and noisy pedestrians. I suspect a room on the opposite side of the hotel would have been quieter. Overall, we really enjoyed the stay. It was a very comfortable arrangement, and the price was really reasonable. The breakfast wasn't extravagant, but it sure was handy! Front desk was very friendly, too and the WiFi was the speediest we found in the park.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElsieLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#13 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#8 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#12 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing