We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This is a very nice hotel. The rooms are large, quiet, and clean. The wifi was good, and free! The rooms are clustered around the 2 hot tubs, but even with our window facing that area, we did not have any complaints of noise. The hot tubs were OK, the jets could be stronger, and the water a little warmer, but we used it every night. My husband enjoyed the sauna and steam room, but again commented that both could be warmer. We had free breakfast every day. No hot food; only cereals, breads, yogurt, granola, sliced ham and cheese, and boiled eggs. It was OK, enough to get something in your belly before you head out. The hotel is only several blocks from the start of the downtown area. Close enough to walk, but there is plenty of street parking closer to the center of town. A nice thing I noticed, was a bookshelf on each floor, with a note to "take one and leave one". A great idea for travelers! Front staff was very nice, we didn't have any problem with parking- always found a space. We were here during the slow season, so I assume parking could be more challenging during the tourist season. They have a narrow lane of parking out back, and about 20 spaces underground.
Rates were a bit pricey in general, but good for the area. We will definitely stay here again, and have already recommended it to friends!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for your review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with the Banff Aspen Lodge! Starting next month we will be expanding our breakfast to include bacon, sausage, and eggs every other day. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,469)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,469 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here during American Columbus Day weekend / Canadian Thanksgiving weekend. Due to the holiday, the hotel was packed with visitors and I believe was full one of the nights we were there (including bus loads of tourists from abroad).

Overall, it was a good stay. Front desk service was nice and helpful. There's a house phone in the lobby (as we didn't want to rack up international calling minutes on our cell phones) to make dinner reservations. We had a superior room with 1 queen bed. The room was average size -- smaller than the rooms with 2 beds (which we saw as we walked by when housekeeping was cleaning them). Our room was clean. There was a strong effort to be environmentally conscious, so we did not have our towels replaced daily (I believe they can be if you request it). Good free wifi in the room.

We did not bring our swim suits, but we saw many guests taking advantage of the heated pool and hot tub during our rather chilly stay.

The hotel parking lot was quite full during our stay, and even still, it's a very narrow lot (both the indoor and outdoor options). We chose instead to park on the street adjacent to the hotel during our stay -- there was ample street parking and we're city-dwellers so used to parallel parking. This could however be an issue for others.

The included continental breakfast was nice -- great selection of breads, cakes, local Valbella ham, cheese, hardboiled eggs, cereals, granola, and oatmeal. There was one home made cake/muffin option each day -- the chocolate chip banana bread was amazing, as were the hot-out-of-the-oven blueberry muffins. Breakfast is from 7-10am, but if you're staying on a weekend when the hotel is relatively full, try to get there by 9am as there was a line for a table at breakfast by around 9:30am. The breakfast servers were really friendly.

The location was great - we walked into town for dinner all 3 nights we stayed there. It was a short 5-10 minute walk to the heart of restaurants downtown, though a bit chilly to walk back in the dark. I highly recommend The Bison; we sat at the bar for dinner as we did not have a reservation but made friends with the very friendly/helpful bartender.

We had a room on the second floor towards the back of the hotel -- we liked this location as we did not face the interior atrium where the hot tubs were and thus did not have to deal with noise from guests in the hot tub in the evenings.

I'd stay here again!

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor towards the back of the hotel -- we liked this location as we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluepig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review! I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and in Banff National Park. I too recommend the Bison Restaurant; it is a fabulous dining option in Banff!
Sincerely
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

This hotel is awesome!
Recently went to Banff on the Thanksgiving weekend .
The staff were nice, the rooms were comfortable, even the wifi connection is good.
Over-all this place is great. The location from the springs is a good one too.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chiechiemae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

we wanted to try a different hotel this time in banff and the online pictures made this hotel look gorgeous. when we were here in the summer they were doing renos on this hotel so we thought it would be really good. we wanted to make sure that we got a large room with one king bed so we called to request a one bed room. on the phone they told us we didnt need to and that we could just request it online. So we did that. When we got to the hotel we were put on the first floor... with two beds and no air conditioning. Yes it is October however it was really stuffy and hot in there. We asked if we could switch rooms and they told us they could give us a fan or a room with a balcony so we could open the door. When we asked if we could just get some or all of our money back they said no. We had to pay the full $175 for a room we spent about 15 minutes in. The staff was not helpful at all and they were very rude to us. I'm sure if we were older than 18/19 they would have treated us with more respect and that isn't acceptable.

Room Tip: anything on the 2nd floor or higher. or the outside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emzz650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that you feel that the hotel did not take your comments seriously due to your age; please know that this is not the case. As our Front Office Manager explained to you the next day, our policies and procedures are in place for all guests, regardless of their age.
Guestroom requests are noted and we do our best to accommodate them; unfortunately they are never guaranteed. The hotel only has three rooms with king beds and as they were not available, we did give you a room with two queen beds. As well, the hotel has a 48 hour cancellation policy and you did agree to this policy when reserving your room. This is a strict policy that cannot be waived and is in-place for all guests.
I am happy that you were able to speak with our Front Office Manager and she was able to explain the above points to you. Hope you enjoyed your time in Banff~
Sincerely.
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Overall a decent choice, cannot beat the location if you want to walk to just about anywhere in town. Was in Banff for a wedding, and was even able to walk back to hotel from the Banff Springs Hotel in less than 30 minutes. Stayed two different times with a short break away from the area. The first room was huge , but even with the heat turned off, the room was very warm - to the point where you had to leave the patio door open a bit which also allowed street noise to be heard. Our second room was on the back side of the hotel, overlooking the parking lot, and we heard no vehicle traffic whatsoever.
Front desk staff was always polite, and the breakfast area was clean and the breakfast itself was basic but good.
Wi Fi connection was excellent in the rooms.
The only complaint was the first night there was absolutely no parking available in their lot, and we had to park on a side street one block away, but had no problems doing so.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms fronting Moose Street if possible - lots of buses seem to use this street early in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blindbumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time at the hotel. I’m glad you were able to take advantage of the hotel’s central location; the walk to the Banff Springs is amazing if you choose to walk along the Bow River!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

staff were very nice, friendly and very accommodating!. nice and clean hotel! i could not ask for more :) Walking distance to downtown. Great location and easy access to restaurants and stores. Rooms are nice and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleck_amy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

I’m happy that you enjoyed your time at the Banff Aspen Lodge! Look forward to seeing you on your next Banff holiday!
Sincerely,
Christy – Business Development Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Excellent services by the staff. We had a good sleep as place is comfortable and clean. We had our breakfast here and the food is just good. The location is just near the main street so you can walk around the town if you want.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xXxHoNeYxXx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#11 of 33 in Banff
2,195 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#12 of 33 in Banff
1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brewster's Mountain Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £87 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing