We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay in Banff”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Pretoria
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay in Banff”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Upon arrival reception was friendly, made us feel welcome and made check-in a blast. Reception had everything at hand and had an answer for each question (i.e. which restaurant would you recommend for a budget dinner for 2 with a good setting whilst serving vegetables).
The room was clean and the hotel made a very valid active attempt to have us provide feedback (is there anything wrong in the room perhaps? ) during our stay. The washing basin did not seal properly and the water drained; the problem was rectified quickly. The facilities provided in the room was of good standard and we did not require anything else.
The hot-tubs were clean and a great experience (snowing while sitting in a hot-tub). Hotel towels are provided for the hot-tubs.
The ski lockers were clean, well ventilated and protected our equipment sufficiently.
The restaurant downstairs had great food and was something to look forward to each day. It had a decent variety of food served and service was good and friendly.
The wifi was always working and fast as well.
We will join the other visitors and come back time and time again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pieter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us! I am even more thrilled that you described your check-in as a "blast"...doesn't get better than that! We do have a great team here, that works really hard to provide a fantastic guest experience. We recently changed our breakfast menu, so it's good to hear that you enjoyed it. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    607
    158
    54
    26
See reviews for
285
726
47
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We couldn't have been happier with our stay in Banff Aspen Lodge! The staff were always super friendly and helpful, we loved the daily spiced ciders, and the breakfasts in the morning was simply perfect. The room was clean and spacious, the location was ideal- very close to the town center and the supermarket, and just next door to the shuttle pick up every morning. We made full use of the outdoor spa pool and the sauna. We simply do not have a single bad thing to say about the lodge- we would definitely be coming back here next time we visit Banff!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building (not out in the courtyard) is quieter and warmer during the winter as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SnowshoeRabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are so pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. We hope you are able to come visit us again in beautiful Banff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed in the Banff Aspen Lodge over the new year period. Room was a double with a wall separating the beds. Room cleaned daily, breakfast was excellent and hot tub in yard was welcome after a days activities. The price was a bit heavy but seems Banff likes to take advantage by hiking prices over busy periods.
Good location to town with friendly helpful staff.
Would stay again

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the hight street close to the town centre. It was ideal with indoor parking and comfortable bedroom and a super breakfast. There was no bar but there was a coffee shop. it had 2 outdoor spa/hot tubs with a hot fire . We enjoyed the hotel apart from being disturbed by a noisy fridge in the main bedroom - we could have turned it off, but it could have been placed near the door away from the main sleeping area . The reception team were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeOgilvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of our trip across Canada, nice clean rooms if a little quirky in there layout. Lovely breakfast everything fresh and plenty of it. Not a five star hotel but a very good value for a couple of days. Lovely jacuzzi in the open courtyard. At the end of the Main Street close to amenities and attractions in the middle of a beautiful wilderness, we even walked back to the hotel accompanied by a pair of Elk, luckily not a moose.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian-Karen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, we hope your visit to Banff (and across Canada!) was amazing. There's lots of wildlife around here, it's so good to hear that you had the opportunity to experience it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
501 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

For the price, location and amenities, this was perfect for our needs for a couple night stay in Banff. I've stayed at the Fairmont Springs which is in a different class in and of itself, but for the amount of time in the room overall, this was perfect. Now, while there may be certain things that make this less than perfect (no flat screen tvs, older furniture and soft beds, there are other wonderful things this "boutique" hotel has to offer and that's mainly the breakfast that's included which is in a lovely breakfast room with the MOST delicious homemade granola!! One day it was continental breakfast and the other we were surprised to see scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon on the buffet as well! Above all was the friendliest employees! We also enjoyed the hot tub with the cozy fireplace. Also, the underground parking was a nice added free feature. This hotel is close to walking distance to everything! We booked the ski and soak package which was nice to have the lift tickets and hot springs tickets upon check in! Thanks to the entire staff for their hospitality!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CzechMate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate hearing about all the details of a guests stay with the Banff Aspen Lodge. We are pleased we met your needs while visiting Banff! We have recently started a rotating breakfast, we are so glad you enjoyed it (and we do have amazing homemade granola!). There will be a few upgrades done in the future; such as flat screen
TVs, which will add to the comfort level of our rooms for guests. Our staff are a friendly group and we aim to provide great customer service, it's fantastic to hear that your experience with us was great! We hope that you will come visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed in a premium room a for a week over New Year, as we were skiing in Banff and Lake Louise.

The hotel is in a great location, on the main road in Banff, and just one short block from the shops and bars of the centre- close enough for convenience, but far enough away to be quiet. The room was good, had a balcony, fridge and coffee machine, and there's plenty of parking, mostly under cover.

We were able to use the heated basement car park, it was a real bonus not having to put the baby into a freezing car in the mornings. Free WiFi is available, and the guest laundry was useful. There is a ski locker available and reception will provide padlocks for extra security.

The pool/spa area is nice, and very popular, we used it almost everyday, and didn't see it empty. It closes at 9pm, which is probably just as well as there was quite a party atmosphere during our stay- we were traveling with a baby, but weren't the noisiest guests- phew!

The breakfast is included and was excellent, cereals and porridge (oatmeal), toast, hams and cheeses, yoghurt, delicious homemade granola, a choice of fresh baked goods daily such as muffins, croissant, bacon and maple scones, etc... Every other day we were also offered bacon, sausage and egg too. The breakfast room was nice and the staff were lovely. There's also a cafe in the lobby.

This isn't a luxury hotel, but it provided great value for money and we'd definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#14 of 32 in Banff
2,102 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 32 in Banff
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#13 of 32 in Banff
2,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 32 in Banff
898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Property: Banff Aspen Lodge
Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing