We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain views limited”
Review of Banff Aspen Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banff Aspen Lodge
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We stayed with a tour group. we were told all rooms had mt. views. Well they do to some extent IF you step out on the balcony and lean way out.
The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast (complimentary continental) was ok. nothing to brag about. Hotel staff was very helpful. We were told we could do laundry but there is only 1 washer and dryer so we hiked it a few blocks to the mall where there was a laundromat. Very expensive($4.00 US to wash and $ .25/3 min to dry)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinsnpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

Like most hotels not every room gives the perfect view of the mountains. But our oversized balconies gives fantastic views as we are surrounded by beautiful landscapes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

663 - 669 of 1,481 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights with my husband. Hotel has free parking and a fantastic breakfast included. The hotel is well placed close to shops and local amenities. Staff are polite, friendly and willing to help. Our room was very big and clean. I could not fault the hotel. A number of reviews mention the rooms being warm at night we did not find this to be an issue for us. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Banff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Chloe,

Thanks for the Excellent review. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

June 21 to 23, 2014 - - Awesome experience. Staff friendly and helpful. Terrific at anticipating the next question. Offered options when possible. Complimentary breakfast was exceptional. Room was comfortable and clean. Location w/in four blocks of grocery store and retail center. Looking forward to our up coming stay on June 25, 2014.

Room Tip: Tell staff what your expectations are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hi Paul,

Thank you so much for the review!

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

This hotel was good value for money. It is a little older than some places we had stayed on our trip but the facilities and location was great. Nice hot tubs, underground free Parking, short walk to centre of town.. Breakfast was ok, not a deal breaker but not fantastic! Nice staff and a good price!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank broooke06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are what we are and we don't try to be what we aren't. We focus on our service levels while offering a great product to our guests.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for one night in a room facing Banff Street. It was nice having a balcony however, in the evening when the hotel lights come on, the two lights on our balcony caused an issue since it had been a fairly warm day and with no air conditioning in the room (which we knew), you had to open the sliding door and window for ventilation. If you like your room lit up while you are trying to get to sleep, then this is the room for you! My side of our queen bed made noise every time you rolled over so overall the sleep quality was not great! It also would have been nice to have a lighter quilt/blanket on the bed instead of a down duvet...perhaps the bedding changes once the season changes? The hot tub area was ok but we were disappointed that the sauna and steam shower did not seem to work after several attempts. We would have gone to the front desk but we were in our dripping bathing suits. Breakfast was in a very nice room and the selection was fairly good. Prompt service by the staff. Front desk staff were very friendly!! Overall, we would probably stay again if in Banff but would try a room not on Banff Street!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingyNovaScotia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

The sauna and steam room do require a few minutes to warm up and initiate. I had our maintenance department check and all seems to be in order.

Hopefully you will be able to experience them when you return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Free parking, free breakfast which was much more than the standard continental breakfast, great location, great staff. Standard room was very large. Would definitely stay here again. In hindsight stay an extra night here rather than at lake louise.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review.

Our breakfast is fantastic, a great way to start your day in the mountains.

We look forward to seeing you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I were very pleased with the hotel, its location, room and the wonderful breakfasts! Our view out onto the mountains was lovely. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. Would recommend to anyone who wants to be close to the action in downtown Banff but not in the centre of it. Great for anyone who don't want to spend a fortune but not willing to compromise on comfort and cleanliness and great service.

Room Tip: Top floor will give you best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaCanadiense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BanffAspen, General Manager at Banff Aspen Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your stay with us.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed all the aspects with your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.1 mi away
Moose Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 33 in Banff
2,205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elk + Avenue Hotel
Elk + Avenue Hotel
#10 of 33 in Banff
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#4 of 33 in Banff
1,003 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
Hidden Ridge Resort
#15 of 33 in Banff
2,098 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 33 in Banff
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banff Aspen Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Aspen Lodge

Address: 401 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#11 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range: £82 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Banff Aspen Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Full Canadian Rockies Breakfast with every stay! A friendly hotel of 89 spacious rooms and a three minute stroll to downtown Banff. Guestrooms have a fresh, modern feel and room rates include our delicious full breakfast, wireless internet and parking. Amenities include two outdoor hot tubs with a fireplace, sauna & steam room, in-room refrigerators, ski bus stop close-by, ski work bench, internet access terminal, laundry facilities($) and terrific staff that provide exceptional service for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Banff Aspen Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banff Aspen Hotel Banff
Banff Aspen Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing